We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Show Prices
#31 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,969 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,657: English reviews
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2014

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. The decoration is modern & high speck. The hotel is spotlessly clean (and I am very picky). The staff were very polite & always helpful, especially when our suitcase broke! I am very difficult to cater for food wise as I am dairy & gluten intolerant. The restaurant not only had a range...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb W
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb W, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We will pass you lovely comments on to our team. We do cater for guests with food intolerances and allergies and we...

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We stayed 5 nights for the Ryder Cup. We had a spacious suite, giving us lots of room for our luggage and belongings. More storage in the room would have been helpful. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful, everything was clean, and the breakfast service was delicious with prompt, helpful staff. The location is excellent at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GraceL, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have recovered from the very early starts you had during the Ryder Cup. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our...

Jonesboro, Georgia
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Wonderful large room. Very comfortable bed and large bathroom with a nice big tub and separate shower. Nice, quiet, excellent location, short walk to Waverly Station. The only complaint was the horrible, extremely slow service in the restaurant. I was with a large group of people...we were seated at 7 and were not served our food untill 8:30.....l left at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gbassdavis
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gbassdavis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are pleased to see you found the location of our hotel to be excellent and your room comfortable. We are sorry to see you experienced slow service in the restaurant. We will be sure to look...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014

upon arrival at this hotel we were pleasantly surprised it's location to everything was truly great, we were able to walk to most of the sights Edinburgh Castle was not far and The Royal Mile with all the shops, and also to Holyrood House...Our room was compact but clean, we did however have a problem on the second day we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy S
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WendyS, Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are pleased to see you found the location of our hotel to be great and within walking distance of Edinburgh’s main attractions. We are sorry to see your room was not serviced until late in the...

Edison, NJ
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Stayed here for three nights while we were in Edinburgh. It is very conveniently located near the Waverly train station, and is only a short 10-15 minute walk across the bridge to the royal mile. Prince Street is also just a short walk, and contains many stores. Rose Street is only a block away as well, and it contains many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonnyNJ
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DonnyNJ, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and that you would return when visiting Edinburgh again. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Natalie Watts Deputy General Manager

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Very nice and fresh room with good natural light and with comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, fresh fruits and cooked hot breakfasts. The hotel is centrally located to all the major activities in Edinburgh. We attended the Edinburgh Military tattoo and it was an easy walk up to the castle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby052014
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toby052014, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in August. We will be sure to pass your positive comments onto our team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Natalie Watts Deputy General...

Colorado
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We were so happy to have such a large, bright, clean room with nice bath and all the amenities after our dreary accommodations in London! The staff at the Apex were so helpful with orientation to their interesting city and with bus tickets/tours, maps, etc. They have a lovely pool for exercising and a good massage service that was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Footloose1222
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Footloose 1222, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It’s good to see you found our team helpful, pool lovely and that you had time to be pampered in our Yu Spa....

Reviewed 28 September 2014

This is a very nice hotel with lots to offer around the local areas. The breakfasts are outstanding and the value is reasonable. As far as the rooms go, they are spacious, but perhaps a little too spacious. There is a large open space that would nicely accommodate a chair/recliner and a small coffee table or smaller desk. As it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duck1963
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Duck1963, Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are pleased to see you found the hotel very nice, breakfast outstanding and our team members delightful, respectful and outstanding – we will be sure to pass your comments on to them. Thank you also for...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We stayed at the Apex Waterloo for three nights then returned for our final two nights in Scotland after our Highland tour. We were quite pleased. The location was great, close to man attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room/bed was quite comfortable, the bar/lounge was very pleasant and well stocked, and the hotel restaurant was quite good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ernieb14
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ernieb14, Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay. Sometimes our great central location does mean some rooms may suffer from late night revellers at the weekend - we do what we can to minimise any...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Very much enjoyed the Apex Waterloo Hotel. Great location in Edinburgh with great design of rooms and facilities. Modern and slick without a lot of fuss but still knowing that you're a valued guest. Had a nice in-room continental breakfast. Would definitely come and visit again - would have given 5 out of 5 were it not for the appalling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lwddr
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lwddr, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive with regards to your recent visit to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly take on board your comments with regards to the WEST beer. Next time you visit we highly recommend trying our Apex brewed IPA – brewed...

1,078 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (909)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (239)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (360)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
City Double Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
731 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,478 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,040 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $149 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room with tub and shower if you want both.”
 of 5 bubbles bobettemc, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“not suitable for smokers”
 of 5 bubbles KerryMaurice, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed on several occasions and never had problems of noise or comfort”
 of 5 bubbles dralexander1, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Views not good but rooms are very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 717jacquies, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The upper rooms have great views of the city's skyline”
 of 5 bubbles I7196LJdeborahb, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay