We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Show Prices
#29 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,514: English reviews
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A favorite hotel of mine. Excellent facilities, including the pool and sauna. Conveniently located near Waverley Station. The breakfast is excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and perfectly clean. The bar is relaxing and comfortable.

Helpful?
2 Thank AR1881
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AR1881, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that we are a favourite hotel of yours. We will pass your comments with regards to breakfast being excellent onto our chefs and breakfast team and we are pleased to see that you found our... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our first visit to Edinburgh and we stayed for just one night at the beginning of June. Our room was on the 8th floor looking over the main road, it was very spacious and clean, the decor I thought was lovely, and very tasteful. The cost is a little higher than we would normally pay but it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DebiM107
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DebiM107, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others. We are pleased to see you liked the décor of the hotel and that you found our front desk staff to be friendly and helpful.... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

spent two nights at the Apex with my wife and found it very clean and comfortable with very friendly, helpful staff, The room was a good size, very comfy bed and the pool and sauna were good to use before breakfast to waken us up ! The location is perfect to stroll to most of the major attractions.......highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank davyj905
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davyj905, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as finding our staff friendly and helpful, beds comfortable and that you had time to enjoy our spa facilities. We will make sure your comments are passed... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
361 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Apex Hotel Waterloo for three nights. The hotel is in a decent location within a 15 minute walk of Edinburgh Castle. It is close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are not very large,and the bathroom is pretty basic...no place to hang a hand towel. The remote for the TV only worked if you were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank LibbyH1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for the first time and it was just fabulous. They allocated us a superb room with all the luxuries you could need. All the staff were very helpful and efficient, customer service was excellent and they gave us a drinks voucher as the room wasn't ready which was only about 10 mins late so this gesture was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank annie952
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annie952, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you found your allocated room to be superb and that you enjoyed the Elemis toiletries provided. Thank you also for your lovely feedback with regards to the staff and customer service you received. We look forward... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a terrific hotel with good rooms, service, decor and location. Our room was spacious, private, quiet and contained a nespresso machine, modern bathroom, comfortable bed and good wifi connection. The service at check in was excellent with the young lady helping us to our room with heavy bags in a cheerful manner. There are lifts but our room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ragamuffin999
NWDGM, Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

DearRagamuffin999, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback with regards to the staff at check in. We are also really pleased to see you found Elliots restaurant to be terrific and enjoyed your... More 

UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just spent one night here. The room was very clean and comfortable though the decoration was not to my taste - but does that really matter? The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent - lovely dinner and a great breakfast. It is in an ideal position - close to Waverley station and the escalators!! We would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandmartin2
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandmartin2 Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at Apex Waterloo Place. Sorry to hear that our décor was not to your liking and hope that this did not detract from you having a relaxing stay. Our location certainly is handy for local attractions and shopping. The recent upgrades at Waverley Station, including escalators have made... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Waterloo Place hotel is in a great location in central Edinburgh, just a short walk to the main train station, shopping, New Town and Old Town. The reception staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful. We opted for an online "if available" upgrade to a superior room and received one, but were disappointed by its small size, lack of drapes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan J
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dan J Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the 10th floor room was not to your liking due to the coombed ceiling which admittedly does make the room appear smaller. Many of these rooms do have spectacular views over the rooftops of Edinburgh and beyond. It's great that the 2nd room was better for you... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
454 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a weekend break here with a friend and we had taken a spa package. The rooms are pretty basic and the entire decor reminds you of an Ikea. That said there are a lot of things about this place that make it a 4 star - the service is spectacular from the desk to the spa to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ThatchersBiscuit
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ThatchersBiscuit Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Apex Waterloo. It's great to hear that you received spectacular service from individuals and teams within the hotel. I am sorry that the décor was not fully to your liking but hope that despite this, you found your room comfortable and relaxing. Hopefully we can... More 

Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here twice in the last month. Excellent location close to the Royal Mile, New Town and Calton Hill. For those that are traveling by train, it is also connected to the train station. Rooms were very comfortable with modern amenities, and staff were very helpful. When you check in, add the breakfast for 10 pounds - that entitles you... More 

Helpful?
Thank 10ACJed
AlanHarbisher, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 10ACJed Many thanks for adding your review following your recent stays here at Apex Waterloo. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that the staff were friendly and helpful. I'm sorry to learn that the Concierge Team were often busy with luggage and I hope that you managed to gain the information required without too... More 

900 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (873)
Viewed
Bathroom (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (333)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
633 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,392 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
730 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,530 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $152 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
3 months ago
Merseyside
4 months ago
Helsinki, Finland

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Duplex suite is superb”
 of 5 bubbles b3cpj, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room was at the back and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 10sJohn, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If arriving by train take the exit from Waverely Station next to platform 2 this takes you right to the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Maxxed74, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“comfortable and clean”
 of 5 bubbles kiki2047, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our rooms were on the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet and relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbR763, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay