We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Four Sisters Boatel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Four Sisters Boatel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Four of us stayed for a weekend for our friends birthday, the boat is in a great location, everything is within walking distance. We had no problems at all while we stayed and even though it was winter, the boat is heated throughout so always warm! Natalie was lovely and gave us some really good recommendations. Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We booked a short stay at the Boatel and having been on barges before fully understood what to expect in terms of the accommodation size and facilities. I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before but felt compelled to do so on this occasion. The standard of cleanliness was poor and the Boatel in desperate need of a deep...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 2016AvaT
Glasgow
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We stayed here with our kids for one night. The kids loved the boat with the bunk beds for my son and my daughter got her own double bed which she loved! The boat is well equipped if you want to cook but we got a takeaway pizza from Papa John's along the road which suited us. We had breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicthechick28
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Enjoyed a fantastic weekend on the boat with my family. Comfortable and clean with everything we could possibly need. Natalie was great and made us feel welcome. We requested a welcome hamper which was beautifully presented and full of lovely fresh produce. All bedding and towels are provided and it was a real adventure for the kids who loved sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Udam B
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

The location was good, but I would describe the experience more with staying in a travel trailer.Tight spaces.cant really move around in the shower.Lines were old and some of the pillow cases had holes and the bathroom,let's just say we tried to use the bathrooms outside the boat as much as possible,since you could not flush paper and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review

Hello, We are terribly sorry you never enjoyed your stay on board and sorry you chose not to speak about this until i noticed this review on-line. We do say to all our guests to please contact us should you have any problems and we leave our personal mobile numbers on which we are contactable 24/7. I know that upon...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Great alternative to a hotel everything you need is.provided great central place to visit town centre Edinburgh town centre just a a short stroll would only suit up to four adults they're are bunk beds for children but very small as is the shower but there are showers close by that you can use

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria571965
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We spent one night aboard and it was great. Lovely and warm , easy to use heating . Great wifi connection. The pictures on the sight might make you think it would be noisy but only zizzi is open, the bars are all closed so despite being on a busy walking route we had a very quiet and undisturbed night....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank magpie_travels
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Felt I needed to write this review after a 2 night stay as we were really disappointed with the stay,so much so we were out and hitting the pub 30 mins after check in.when we arrived there was a guy leaving with a dog which had obviously been on the boat as we could smell it(or so we thought at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ddonnamac4
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review

Madam, upon booking I could tell immediately you were going to be difficult to please. And when you arrived with your lack of communication and facial expression I was conscious you already had decided you were not going to enjoy your stay. You will notice another review posted in the same day as this one saying completely the opposite to...

Reviewed 27 March 2015 via mobile

Lovely barge, in a great location. Had a really nice weekend break at the 4 Sister's, its so different! So well equipped for a relaxing self catering break in the heart of Edinburgh. The owners are really accommodating and there is obviously so much to do within walking distance or a short taxi/drive. Beautiful, serene, peaceful :)

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Si M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Had a great night Excellent facilities Everything you need Met on arrival and the owners daughter was very helpful and friendly Would recommend this to anybody that wants a centre location Would like to revisit soon

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda O

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,895 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
996 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#99 of 150 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Sisters luxury 4 star Boatel has 2 double cabins a set of child sized bunk beds (5'4" x 2'6")and a double sofa bed in the lounge (for larger groups) for your sole use. She is moored in the city centre within walking distance to all major attractions. The tariff quoted is for the entire boatel with use of all on board facilities :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Four Sisters Boatel

Address: Lochrin Basin | Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9NY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $157 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Four Sisters Boatel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Four Sisters Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Four Sisters Boatel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Four Sisters Boatel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hampers and champagne can be there for when you arrive if you pre arrange”
 of 5 bubbles udamb, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Give this place a go. You'll not be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles MartinY710, 20 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Excellent Malaysian restaurant close by.”
 of 5 bubbles 995TimH, 26 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Go Anywhere but here !!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseN208, 12 Jun 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay