We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Howard

Show Prices
#10 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Howard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Howard
See the most recent reviews
Showing 711: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 November 2014

The staff is really terrific, friendly, helpful, endless pots of tea are happily supplied. This was my first visit to Edinburgh, and the hotel is perfectly placed for New Town, a bit out of the way for Old Town. Princes Street attractions and beyond are long, steep, uphill walks. My room facing the back of the hotel was extremely quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 95Chris
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

I am glad to read that this guest enjoyed their comfortable stay at The Howard and I am pleased to announce that we are currently in the process of addressing the furniture issues raised in this review. All check ins are very detailed, covering all aspects of the hotel, so I am surprised that we did mention breakfast but will...

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2014

Beautiful Hotel, in a rather stunning building. It is small and personal with all the added touches you expect from a Five star Hotel. What truly sets it apart is the service, the staff truly cannot do enough for you. Which was especially wonderful. It is expensive as far as Hotels go, however you pay for what you get! Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avalon L
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

A charming review for The Howard - many thanks for the kind words regarding our service and levels of cleanliness. Leon Kiteley General Manager

Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Stayed many times in Edinburgh and this is the first hotel where we had complete quiet around the room. Service was excellent and the room was just perfect for us. Parking at the hotel was included in the room rate which swung the decision to book here. The hotel is well positioned for walking around the New Town and up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R C
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Many thanks for such kind words on The Howard - I am glad to read how much you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea offering - next time, try The Howard Blend Tea - you will love it! Leon Kiteley General Manager

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We've had a great time in Scotland, with 5-star accommodations and even better service. The afternoon tea was excellent (the perfect variety of cakes, scones and sandwiches - along with great choices for tea). We each had a house blend -my favorite was the Indian Assam / Sri Lankan Uva blend while my wife had "The Best Earl Grey Ever"....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Many thanks for such kind words on The Howard - I am glad to read how much you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea offering - next time, try The Howard Blend Tea - you will love it! Leon Kiteley General Manager

Dunnet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We went there at the end of the month. Check in was easy and we were ushered to our deluxe room. The rate included a butler, which was a surprise. We had a few cocktails in the bar, being served by the General Manager, who was both professional and charming. Our rate included breakfast, which was delicious. We intend to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajb0102
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time and writing a favourable feedback. We are pleased to hear that we have met your high expectations and we could contribute to your stay in Edinburgh. We hope that you enjoyed the butler service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager

London
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Arriving very late I received a great welcome by Stuart who kindly brought me a pot of tea and pressed my suit overnight. The service at The Howard is exceptional – I’ve stayed circa 15 times but not perhaps in the past ten years – at breakfast I was welcomed by one of the staff who recognised me – that’s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeriousTraveller01
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for taking your time and writing such a nice review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we have met your high expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We are working our way around the world having afternoon tea and the Howard was highly reccommended so we thought we would try it. We booked, as encouraged so to do, but did not need to as there were only three other people there. We have a nice table by the window, but which was far too small for two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Exilelass
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Another fabulous review for our Afternoon Tea offering - many thanks! Leon Kiteley General Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We stayed at the Howard on an unplanned trip to edinburgh. Delightful hotel, excellent service fin "the butlers" a tarting with a tray. Tea and shortbread brought to our room on arrival. Great Breakfasts! Very close to everything we walked mostly but bus stop was only a two minute walk. Would certainly stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sammy B
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Dear Sammy, Thank you for your positive review and high rating. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could meet your high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Just back from a two night stay at The Howard. Jamie the Butler was wonderful, room we were allocated was spacious and quiet and having drinks delivered to the room whenever required, was a real treat. Very close to all amenities, Castle approx. 15 mins. walk. Will definitely return when we next6 visit the lovely City of Edinburgh. If I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara1958
Scotland
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Have lived in Edinburgh for years now, and never knew this place even existed until we went for afternoon tea with family. The afternoon tea was like something out of another era, with delicious sandwiches, cakes and pastries being served over a lazy afternoon. An absolutely delightful experience would certainly recommend the afternoon tea to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Turtle84
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you are fond of our afternoon tea. Please be sure your comments will be shared with the rest of our team. We are looking forward to your future visits to Edinburgh! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Abercromby Junior Suite (80)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)
Viewed
Trinity Terrace Suite (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,746 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,543 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
240 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,076 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Atholl at The Howard
The Atholl at The Howard
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: $202 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Howard staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
5 months ago
over a year ago
Northumberland, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Howard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is on a quiet street - in 3 old Georgian townhouses. Each room is unique.”
 of 5 bubbles Cate190, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hanover, on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieL50LJJ, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All fantasic”
 of 5 bubbles 246howardw, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In a quiet area, all rooms fine.”
 of 5 bubbles mandy332, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a lovely suite - so if staying for a special occasion its worth asking for an upgrade, or at least mentioning the special occasion.”
 of 5 bubbles Philippa1969, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5