We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bonham

Agoda.comUS$155*
View Deal
#51 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$167*
US$155*
Great Deal
US$157*
US$157*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bonham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,260: English reviews
Start your review of The Bonham
 Click to rate
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to Edinburgh and again we chose The Bonham. We had a suite on the third floor and a wonderful view of the city. The room was clean and tidy, although the furniture is looking a bit tired and could do with a update but didn't in any way spoil our visit. The breakfast was as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leh123
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate at the Bonham for my husband's birthday, taking advantage of their boozy snooze menu deal - £23.50 per person for 3 courses and half a bottle of wine. I can honestly say this is one of the best dining experiences I've had in Edinburgh since moving here 3 years ago. The dining room itself is beautiful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_m_hurst
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear r_m_hurst, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your Boozy Snoozy meal with us, and I am thrilled to hear that you chose the setting of Restaurant at The Bonham to celebrate your husbands birthday. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell...

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I travelled to Edinburgh for the rugby and decided to make a long weekend of it. We arrived at the Bonham quite late on the Friday night and were given the key to our room, number 302. We had booked a superior room for the 3 nights and were disappointed at the size of the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Christine O, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I have checked with our maintenance team regarding your shower, as I was sorry to hear that this impacted on your stay with us. I can report that after much investigation this was down to an issue within our boiler room, and not within your bathroom, I...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

8 friends stayed over rugby weekend. Great location within walking distance of city and easy cab or tram from airport. Very attractive Victorian townhouse with huge rooms and tasteful decoration. Reception ok. We liked the free lemonade and shortbread. Rooms well appointed some with grand views. Comfy beds and pillows. Extensive cooked to order breakfast but cold buffet also there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Picpoul
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Picpoul, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope that you had a memorable trip. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Norfolk, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a total of 4 nights prior to and during a group tour. Loved the views out the back side overlooking the Water of Leith. Breakfast was included & was quite good. Great location for exploring the city, without being in the midst of it. Easy to walk a few blocks to great restaurants and pubs. Easy access from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 76Ann
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear 76Ann, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Spring Lake, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

location great......staff very happy and helpful......restaurant very good with off the beaten path menu.....Carl in the back bar is very helpful and interesting to talk to.....setting is not your normal hotel.......more like three adjacent Victorian apartments tied together....... hidden in the row of stoops with little fanfare.....almost hard to find......no sign on the street

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank albrightelec
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear albrightelec, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you singled out our food and beverage assistant Carl as being a standout member of staff. I will of course share all your wonderful comments with all our teams. We...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel building has an intresting history, rooms are spacious but bathroom toiletiers are rather poor. Breakfast is good, sitting facilities at the lobby are limited, furniture needs to be looked after better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayşegül D
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Ayşegül D, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. The Bonham has a rich and wonderful history dating back to the 1870's, so I am delighted to read that this was an aspect of your stay that you very much enjoyed. Apologies that you found our toiletries lacking in your bathroom, we always have more available...

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked in for one night in a deluxe room and was disappointed we were in the basement looking at a stone wall for a view. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy which was the main thing. The breakfast was nice and staff were friendly. The area was lovely and quiet a ten minute walk to princess...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james s
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear james s, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. Although there were certain aspects of your stay that you did not find to your liking, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff and our wonderful breakfasts that we offer. Please do let us know if you are planning on returning to Edinburgh...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After staying at the Bonham when in Edinburgh for more than five years it has lost its boutique feeling Tried to book direct but the site was busy so went to booking .com for 2 nights stay May holiday weekend premium price for junior suit £556.84 to find out breakfast was not included and at an additional cost of £16.50...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie2067
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Julie2067, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am saddened to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us on this occasion. Our duty manager and reception team are always on hand to help in any way during your stay with us should you need assistance. All our rooms come with tea...

London
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at The Bonham for 3 nights recently and would definitely recommend. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags at the hotel until our room was ready. Room was really nice - spacious and clean with fabulous high ceilings. The hotel is situated in a really quiet part of the town, but within easy walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E-K-Dolan
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear E-K-Dolan, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and in particular that our staff were on hand to assist in any way. We are very proud to be part of a very beautiful historical building, which showcases original features such...

631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Junior Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,254 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 147 in Edinburgh
2,055 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,784 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Bonham
Restaurant at The Bonham
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $221 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bonham staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Bonham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the back side have better views & are quieter. Corner suite was delightful!”
76Ann, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“great views out the back”
albrightelec, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have view”
686ay_eg_ld, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Ensure your not in the basement”
jamess918, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“308 is junior suit”
Julie2067, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$155* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$157
Booking.comUS$157
getaroom.comUS$167
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates