We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Start your review of Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Currently staying in room 5 and too cold to get out of bed as there is no radiator in the room #freezing. Friendly staff and great location only a few minutes walk from the bus and train station. Just so cold!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBarnes86
Management response:

Thanks for your review. All of our private rooms and dorms have heating systems fitted, dorm 5 that you mention has two heaters, one under the window and another beside the door which can be freely operated by guests as requiered. Enjoy your travels!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the building that was down an alleyway next to the main entrance and I must say it was filthy! The bathrooms were scary and disgusting and you shared with the other people in the building. Our bed sheets and towels had stains all over them, and the walls were paper thin so you could here everything going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WndrlustSearching
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. Since the time of your stay (March 2016) our hostel has undergone renovations and improvements along with a change of daily operations management, as a result we would hope to see you pleasantly surprised if you were to choose us as your backpacker’s friendly accommodation in the future. We are working tirelessly to freshen and improve...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel itself was a little, uhm, dingy. To say the least. It felt a bit odd that some of the rooms were in a totally separate building. BUT... the customer service was decent, the beds were comfortable and the bedding clean. And quiet frankly for the price that we paid that's all we could have hoped for. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingvar I
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. As noted on our Hostelworld bookings page Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has more than 18 Double/Twin/Single Rooms across four separate buildings, all buildings are located within a 20 second walk of our central premises where you are welcome to converge and use the common areas at any time. If there is any queries whilst booking we happily...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Too many beds squashed into tiny rooms which gives a very claustrophobic feeling. Toilets and rooms are smelly and too far away from the rooms. They ask for a £5 deposit for a PLASTIC key card, and also another £5 to use the lockers. And perhaps ridiculous, they charge £3 just to put your suitcase in a dirty room behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igra00
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Edinburgh Backpackers. Toilets are situated throughout each of our buildings, if there is any issues locating facilities then our staff would be more than happy directing you to your closest amenities. The £5 deposit taken for your door card and locker key are returned to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were lovely, the snacks available at reception are really fairly priced (60p can of juice) We only slept a few hours in hostel however the beds were comfortable and rooms clean. There was a large mirror in room which was great for getting ready for night out. Large bathroom located across the corridor. Room was warm, lockers available,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacy H
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback! Happy top hear you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to seeing you in the future.

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is probably one of the dingier hostels I've stayed in, but it was by no means terrible, and I had such a good time in the city that it didn't dim my enjoyment of the trip in the slightest. The location is fantastic - literally steps from the Royal Mile, and everything is a walkable distance. Castle is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbtravels18
Management response:

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify for other guests who might be considering booking at Edinburgh Backpackers. Towel hire - £1 Locker deposit - £5 (refunded with return of key) We are working tirelessly to freshen and improve our facilities whilst keeping our prices at the same competitive rate and welcome your feedback. Unfortunately due...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Great Hostel overall, close to Princes Street for shopping and central to everything. Also close to Edinburgh castle. Hostel facilities are good with enough space for travelers to leave luggage around, and lockers available. The staff however was extremely unreasonable when I booked an extra night and tried to get a refund or credit for it. They also jacked up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank np1247
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback! As stated upon our terms and conditions we do have a 48 hour cancellation policy and are unable to give refunds within this termination time allowance. During Edinburgh special event periods such as the Fringe festival and Hogmanay celebrations we do raise our prices slightly in order to provide additional staffing, this allows us to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Located on a side street just off the Royal mile, it is an ideal location in the heart of old town and very close to new town. The welcome shot of whiskey was a nice surprise 😅 I was with 4 friends in an 8 bed mixed dorm. Room is okay. Lockers available for hire. The room however had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne C
Management response:

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in december 2016 : - Very friendly staff - Cozy reception and common room - High building (6 or 7 levels) which is typical for Edinburgh. - Located in the middle of the city, which is nice if you need a small break of walking around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mr_Jaspero
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. Safe travels!

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I'm reluctant to share how great I found this place in case I can't get a booking in the future... I stayed two nights here, first night in a private 4 room dorm, second night in a private room. The hostel is spread over two buildings - the first night in the 4 bedroom dorm was standard hostel amenities. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rmc103
Management response:

Thanks for the great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. we look forward to seeing you again next time!

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#21 of 213 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#48 of 213 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 213 in Edinburgh
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 65 Cockburn St., Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $35 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No accessibility for the disabled. Top floor on right side of the building (next to toilets) has excellent view of city”
 of 5 bubbles lbtravels18, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private room options would be best”
 of 5 bubbles roisin171, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We usually try and stay in the main building, which has a lot of stairs but is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles AmandaJane1981, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This hostel is very close to all things about the city.”
 of 5 bubbles fernandomataram, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Private Room 4 - away from the street and on the top so not much noise buy other guests”
 of 5 bubbles 536DavidN, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5