We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$31*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the location of the hostel was perfect, but the dorms can be much better, the wifi connection was very bad, couldnt connect to the internet from the dorm. the staff was very friendly, The dorm was a bit overpriced compared to other hostels I stayed in

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aya E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

me and my girlfriend booked a double bed room, and was just perfect. Really clean, room and Toiled to share with others ;-) The people working there are so so nice, we had everithing we needed:-) I really suggest this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dadolottolo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was here with my boyfriend a few days ago, we booked a private room with a shared bathroom and everything was really nice and clean. The staff is very nice and the position of the hostel is great, really close to the royal mile, in the heart of the old town in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

A great budget hostel in a great location. Pros: Many! 24hour reception, comfy beds, free earplugs, good social areas, most staff friendly, secure lockers, towel hire, beds comfy, organised events, clean toilets, affordable, great location. Carpets had just been replaced. Hairdryers in the women's bathrooms. Loads of information leaflets in the reception area. The Tuesday bar crawl was free, fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali340
edinburghbackpackers, Manager at Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We strive to provide the highest quality of service and facilities whilst keeping at an affordable backpacker friendly price, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Safe travels.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Good for travellers who only need a roof on top for a night. The quality is seen on the price. Not for longer staying, poor wifi, and small washrooms. The upper bed did not have anything to save from dropping down at night and if you're picky with mattress, this place might not be the one to go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noorahytoenen
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The hostel is in a great location, with nice rooms that are great for groups.. they offer laundry and towels and have lockers for your possessions.. lovely bathrooms and games room, everything you would expect is there. The staff were very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroline d
edinburghbackpackers, Manager at Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your friendly feedback! Safe travels :)

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We, as as group of 3, have visited here twice in the last two years to visit Edinburgh and it's beautiful surroundings and can safely say that if we were to visit again, this is where we would choose to stay. We stayed in the 3 bed private room, which at the time we visited was around £60 a night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis F
edinburghbackpackers, Manager at Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are going to make sure to get the cow painting out of storage and back into one of our common areas just for you. Safe travels :)

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed in this hostel with a group of teenage students. The location is great, right in the Old Town, a minute away from the Royal Mile.The facilities are good and there's a common room with games, a pool table, darts... where we had a great time. There's an equipped kitchen as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pdevc446
edinburghbackpackers, Manager at Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Located right in old town. Just a short walk to all major attractions. Beds were clean and the showers some of the best I've come across in a hostel. Hot and good pressure. Common room is a bit small but still good. Seems like lots of staff and long stay so hard to meet people as you do get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Management response:

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff and long term guests are a friendly bunch who are more than happy to lend advice or show guests about the city, just say hello! In addition we run regular activities including pub crawls and Monday quiz night to help get everyone associated and the conversation flowing. Happy travels :)

Canada
Reviewed 24 March 2017

My friend and I begun our Eurotrip in Scotland. From the UK, and now a Canadian citizen, I thought it would be a good place to start. This is a brilliant location, close to the train station and two steps away from the Mile. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was clean. We stayed in a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabrit_ca
Management response:

Thanks for your review. We hope you continue to enjoy your travels into the future!

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#39 of 202 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 202 in Edinburgh
417 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#13 of 202 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 202 in Edinburgh
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $25 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Cosham, null, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Excellent location”
noorahytoenen, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“staying in the rooms in the building down the street is much quieter being off the main road & being a smaller building.”
801elliep, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The private room for 2 was a good deal for us since we didn't want to deal with the security of our belongings.”
  • Private room for 2
  • Where the hostel is located on Cockburn Rd.
420irisl, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No accessibility for the disabled. Top floor on right side of the building (next to toilets) has excellent view of city”
lbtravels18, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private room options would be best”
roisin171, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$31* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates