We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (570)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (26)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common areas”(83 reviews)
“movie room”(27 reviews)
“pub crawl”(33 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Air Conditioning
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveller rating
767
369
68
13
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
767
369
68
13
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasmovie roompub crawlhuge kitchenroyal milegreat locationinternet roomcommon roombed dormtea and hot chocolatefemale dormperson roomlaundry serviceluggage storageenjoyed my staybeds were comfortablequiet room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Obnoxious and very unprofessional staff. Excessive demands and threats of cancellation were made when attempting to book a small group golfing break in the area. Would recommend you to take your business elsewhere where it is appreciated. Second time dealing with this hostel. I wouldn't...More

Thank foregolfman
Response from Jamie P, Assistant Manager at Castle Rock HostelResponded yesterday

Hi there, The group policy isn't something we came up with overnight, and we believe that the request for the names and ID numbers of the guests in your party is a reasonable request, and is in line with the policies of most hostels worldwide....More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Great hostel near the castle and the royal mile right in the heart of Edinburgh. The rooms were really nice, spacious and clean however very noisy as we had girls checking in at ridiculous times during the night which was quite frustrating. They had lots...More

Thank wanderlustmelbs
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Last month, after conquering Ireland with friends, I continued throughout the UK alone. Next stop was Edinburgh. Ive been once before and thought I remembered it well. But this time, I was staying longer and at a different hostel than last time . Truly One...More

1  Thank AllisonBrooke93
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The best hostel I have been in my life, completely clean, the staffs are polite and friendly in special ANA a Portuguese girl, great location, nice environment, cheap breakfast, nice bedroom!! I’m very happy d to say good things about a hostel, but I have...More

Thank Bia R
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hostel is in the center of the city surrounded by castle. They offer to do your laudry and bring them to your room for 4pounds wich is nice , shower are okay, breakfast for 1.50pounds is good, very clean, bed confortable ! the only...More

Thank Julie F
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$15 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$15 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (570)
Room & Suite (206)
Dining (26)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (38)
Family and Play Areas (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mari0ela
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jamie P | Property representative |
No we don't use PayPal unfortunately.
0
Votes
edebrag
25 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Jamie P | Property representative |
No, unfortunately luggage storage is for guests only. We just don't have the space available!
0
Votes
hopewellmr
22 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Jamie P | Property representative |
Hi YA Yes, that is correct we do not have elevators. Our private rooms are on the top floor so you'd need to go up 3 flights of stairs. We would be able to help you with your bags as long as they're not to heavy for our... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If you want to be social, I would choose of of the larger dorms, but they have private rooms available as..."
Read review
"Front rooms have castle views!"
Read review
"Perfect for traveling on a budget"
Read review
"Some rooms have a view to the castle. Try to book those!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing