We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castle Rock Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Rock Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 954: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

I'm on a three month trip through Europe and I have stayed in some interesting places. Some nice places. Some not so nice places... This one was my favorite so far! For starters, they have a great security system at the door (you need a paper to get through) and a secured locker room. The hostel is literally right beside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berlyn L
Reviewed 9 May 2016

First of all the staff is great, kind and welcoming. It quickly feels like your cosy living room, with coffee or tea and couches to relax and use the great wifi. Location is outstanding, and the place itself is tidy and fun. Really good and clean facilities as well. Highly recommended for the budget-minded traveller, it is a looooot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

This was my 2nd time stay in this hostel. Last year i went here with my friends and got a very good experience here that i can't forget.. Since i really fell in love with Edinburgh, this time i came again with my parents and decided to stay at this hostel again and as always i feel very happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbymelania
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Where do I begin?? The location is absolutely perfect, as you are walking distance from the Castle and the Royal Mile... and not too far from the train station/ other public transit. The staff is super friendly and the amenities (including huge common rooms, free hot chocolate and tea) are great. We went on one of the organized events to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haley W
Management response:

Hi Haley It's great to hear you had a awesome stay. Until next time have fun. Adam

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at this hostel 2 nights either side of a tour we were taking in Scotland. The hostel was relatively easy to find and in a great location right by the castle ! And walk month distance to pubs and tours etc. The rooms were large, all contained a locker and a small safe for valuables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie Y
Cusco, Peru
Reviewed 5 May 2016

I have been spoiled for all others! Where to begin??? Great staff, incredibly clean and spacious. Huge kitchen, rows of fridges, free coffee tea hot chocolate, a music room, modern rooms, matching everything! Every detail thought of! Local ceileidhs ??? lots of events, they offer tours...what have I left out? They have thought of everything! I dont know how many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
Reviewed 5 May 2016

The hostel is located in historical building just below the Edinburgh Castle - I had a splendid view from the room on the Old Town roofs, Greyfriars Churchyard and George Heriot's School (yes, that one that inspired Hogwarths from Harry Potter series). The staff was very friendly and helpful and kept the hostel clean and tidy. There is a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarína I
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I will start off with my only complaints. The building is old, and as such is in mild disrepair. There is also no air conditioning so in the late spring, the rooms got stuffy. However, this place is in the most amazing location you can imagine. You can literally see Edinburgh castle from your window and it's in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
Management response:

We're glad you enjoyed the city. Yes you're right the building is over 300 yes old so it does get a wee but hard to keep up with repairs but our breakfast is only £1.50 with fresh bread,cereal, juice and fresh fruit every morning from 7:30. Thanks for the great review,until next time Adam

Reviewed 4 May 2016

Castle Rock was my first experience of Scotland. We were greeted by 2 very friendly guys at the front desk (one of them was South African which I'm sure helped me feel at home). We were helped with choosing where to go and eat and invited to go along with them and some of the other people staying at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Castle Rock Hostel was wonderful! Friendly staff (check in was super easy and they were really helpful), great amenities (welcoming and friendly travelers), comfy beds and rooms with lots of space, loved the common areas (great number of options for travelers to choose from), and an awesome location (easy walk from train station and to shopping, food, other scenes)! Totally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B

551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (451)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (199)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
10+ Person Dorm (13)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (8)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
777 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
734 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
238 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,939 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Price Range: $16 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Rock Hostel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Rock Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem to have views of The Old Town. Stairs may be an issue for some, but I am sure this can be resolved.”
 of 5 bubbles Gordyd43, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is not much difference if you pay for a smaller room or a shared one.”
 of 5 bubbles Saschannig, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“In the center of the old town!”
 of 5 bubbles marinosky87, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with more beds tend to be more spacious/”
 of 5 bubbles Keznarelle, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 807tessr, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay