We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Show Prices
#77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,309: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked 2 rooms for a 2 night stay. Rooms were not clean, shower curtain missing from one of the rooms, hair in shower cubicle and the shower gel was unpleasant. Cups in my room had white scum at the bottom of both cups. No room service, except clean towels were given at 6pm, just after I used the towel from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Edinburgh Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Floors were dirty, only took off my shoes for a few minutes and after that my socks were filthy. Shower wasn't very nice. Wifi didn't work even after paying. Staff were very friendly, bar area is nice.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucy201586
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Edinburgh Central Travelodge. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are not cleaned well, during a 5 day stay the room was never vacuumedand breakfast did not have all the items( no sausages). Beds are made with quilt opening to the side which is unhygienic.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1234568
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Edinburgh Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Gosforth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

as it says in the title, the room was big, clean and airy, the reception staff brilliant but the idiot in the breakfast room needs to be fired for his manner of dealing with customers. WE paid for breakfast to find there were no sausages (our kids favourite things and the reason we ate there and not somewhere else). OK...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Family_Toole
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We wish for our customers to enjoy their hotel experience, so we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Edinburgh Central hotel. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A lovely hotel, cleaned and well maintained with friendly staff who were happy to help bewildering tourists to the area! Great value for money and within the heart of everything you need. Very close to Waverley station. Only downside was a noisy stag party, but I suppose you'd get them in any city!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

reception staff were not helpful at all and had a bad attitude when answering questions! not welcoming at all. asked about the parking and got a snotty reply then when got given room keys did not give directions towards room when asked they turned and walked off, rude!!!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N3124CPdavide
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Edinburgh Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this Travelodge over the others in Edinburgh due to the price, it was around £30 cheaper than the one on Princes Street. This hotel was very easy to find after hopping off the bus from the airport (which was £5) which drops you off outside of the main train station. We were lucky enough to get changed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be of great value and that the location of our hotel was ideal for your visit to Edinburgh. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and...

Alexandria, Dunbartonshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our overnight stay. Hotel is centrally located off the Royal Mile and close to the Railway Station. The hotel was clean and the staff helpfull, including getting my daughter milk at 10pm at night. Room was comfortable, shower was good. All you can eat breakfast was basic - scrambled eggs, sausages (pork and veggie) bacon, beans, hash browns (...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helenmU1512AD
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Affordable and central hotel. Everything was within walking distance and the bus from the airport drops off at Waverley Station which is a 10minute walk from hotel. Breakfast was great and kids eat free! Staff friendly and helpful. If you are looking for value for money and great location look no further.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rog C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in a family room in the Travelodge Edinburgh Central (St. Mary Street). Typical Travelodge standard, no frills and all perfectly acceptable. Only disappointment was that there was no fridge in the room and TV slightly on small side. Positives were that the hotel is just a few minutes walk (if that) off the royal mile and all it's tourist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vidhilan

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Price Range: $99 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Central staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Edinburgh Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book elsewhere”
948janew, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a family room even if there is just two of you.”
185megang, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room to the rear to avoid road noise”
deannec2015, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the second floor and were never disturbed by any kind of noise either from inside or outside the hotel.”
KatyCutprice, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
teresah623, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5