We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stay Central Hotel

Expedia.comUS$115
View Deal
#44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$145*
US$115*
Great Deal
US$123*
US$117*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stay Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While our room was nice, the location of this hotel is terrible. Right above the loudest bar in Edinburgh on one of the rowdiest streets in town. Staff were indifferent to complaints including a security issue that I thought deserved significant attention. Skip the overpriced breakfast option and enjoy variety at a nearby cafe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 967allis0n
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 967allis0n, Thank you for leaving such honest feedback on your stay with us at STAY. We really appreciate you giving us an insight into your experience, as its key to our improvement. I apologise that staff came across as indifferent when you flagged a security issue. These are always fed back and investigated immediately, and if you would like...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I, and his father and stepmother took a trip through Scotland and Ireland for a little over two weeks. This was our first three day two night stop and it was perfect. Fantastic location that we were able to walk to the castle, good eats, and good drinks. Great lively area. The rooms themselves were VERY nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloe86
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lloe86, It’s great to hear such fantastic feedback about our STAY hotel, and I am so pleased that you chose to write a review to share your experience with future guests! I must agree that our location is superb and so centrally located with easy access to all tourist attractions. Always a bonus! No need to wait for a...

Bishop Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay Central is a great hotel in terms of room look, facilities and friendly helpful staff BUT it is completely ruined by the level of noise from the neighbouring pub. The two share a courtyard and it was like running the gauntlet even getting to the hotel door avoiding large groups of drinkers. The loud music and over-indulged pub customers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sally D
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sally D, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. I'm sorry to read that you found the noise levels to be unacceptable from our bar next door. We are very lucky to have such an exciting venue on our doorstep however we do understand...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Edinburgh for transit before travelling to skye. The staff is just awesome as they help with everything. The rooms are not ultra luxurious but perfect for the price being charged. There is a famous bar called three sisters just below which shall be visited if you are staying there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nirbhay V
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nirbhay V, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your recent stay with! We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be so friendly and our rooms to be so reasonably priced for the quality that we offer. We love our neighbours The Three Sisters and definitely recommend paying them a...

Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great place to stay. The location is central, you can walk to all the main attractions. There was 1 queen and 1 double in our room. Downfalls; you have to walk trough a pub, the glass bathroom door doesn't close properly and the rooms are a maze.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicole K, Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us! It's great to hear that you loved our central location, just five minutes walk to the famous Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle! We would love to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh, remember to give...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can't recommend Stay Central enough! In such a good location, clean, modern and supply filled rooms - you would be mistaken for booking somewhere else! Hair straighteners, huge bar and heaps of friendly staff, these are just some of the positive attributes for this great place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney P
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Courtney P, Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent 5 star review of your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything we had to offer! It's fab to read that you liked our modern rooms with hair straighteners and our lively bar the Three...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights. The room was very nice and service was excellent. The one drawback is the attached bar and courtyard that were popular drinking spots for a young, noisy crowd. The location is near the Royal Mile but the street itself is a bit dodgy. Our lower cleanliness rating is for the public areas. Breakfast is served in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lsvotaw
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Isvotaw, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you would rate our service as excellent, our reception team will be delighted with this feedback. And it's great to read that you enjoyed our unique decor and found our rooms to be clean. We do hope to...

Aarau
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have been at Stay Central for the third time now. We always take an 'L' room, they're perfect for us (not really big though, mind you). One thing though: The bathroom doors don't actually close, so you should be really comfortable with the person you're there with, because you'll literally here everything that goes on in the bathroom. Also don't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aflu2017
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi aflu2017, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Edinburgh! We are so pleased to hear that you have retuned for your third stay with us! We really appreciate your honest review and hope to see you again in the future! Remember to give us a call directly on 0131 6226801 for our...

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and I spent 5 nights at Stay Central Hotel in Edinburgh. The location was great, room was modern and the hotel staff were approachable, friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. Thanks 😊

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aimee2399
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aimee2399! Thank you for this lovely 5 star review of your recent stay with us - we are so pleased that you and your friend had such wonderful time in Edinburgh! It's fab to hear that you found our reception team to be so welcoming and helpful during your stay - I will be sure to pass on your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This place is great. However it's not great for kids. You are right above the student union bar and the 3 sisters bar so the noise is constant till at least 1am. Also as you pass the student bar and toilets the smell of urine is disgusting. However on a positive note if you are here with a bunch of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura J
64manager, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Laura J! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of your recent stay with us! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would name it as a perfect place to visit with friends. I'm sorry to hear that you found it to be too loud during your visit. We love being part...

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Medium (Double or Twin) (62)
Viewed
Private Dorm (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 147 in Edinburgh
2,065 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,554 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
880 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $165 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room too small.”
aidac406, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“As far away from the courtyard as possible but that is no guarantee of quiet.”
7SallyD, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Best to choose a room as far as possible from the bar and courtyard if you want to avoid noise.”
lsvotaw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get an extra towel to hang on the bathroom door for privacy. ”
154sadieb, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great staff”
J6525TEdonnak, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$115* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$123
Hotels.comUS$117
TripAdvisorUS$115
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates