We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Agoda.comUS$173*
View Deal
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$223*
US$173*
Great Deal
US$213*
US$223*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 677: English reviews
Start your review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel
 Click to rate
Aberdeen
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night on a business trip. The hotel is just off York Place so pretty central. Building itself is nice if a bit old fashioned in terms of a couple of old buildings interconnected. Our room was fine, with a bathroom built into the room. We didn't have breakfast which is continental only so we thought best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aberdeentravellers
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Building from outside looks decent. Whole street looks decent. Not so far from main area. Hotel inside is very confusing. Seems like couple of separate houses are connected together forming one unit. Signs what room where are on walls but still it is a maze. Room is not big, its huge with big H. Specious with a four-poster bed, sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AleksanderBartkowiak
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially the size of your room and the hotel location. We are sorry that you did not like our choice of breakfast buffet. If you are to return in future, we always offer cheaper Room Only rates on our website. As we are based in the heart...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Albany is well situated in town and within easy walking distance from the centre. The staff at reception were helpful and friendly. The hotel is well presented and the room was very good. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend stay and intend to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie39
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will be returning to stay again. Next time, make sure to book through our website for the best possible rates and exclusive offers. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very hot room with windows that (by law apparently) don't open more than a crack. No fan to help cool down. I would have climbed into the fridge if I could fit. Large room but seems very skanky with1970s furniture. A nice giant bathroom but its all floor space with a tiny cubicle. Not recommended at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 685inky66
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Indeed it is the case like all UK hotels that windows do not open further that we are legally allowed to set them. We hope that you would return again in the future where we are sure you will have a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards, The Albany...

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a night at this hotel as part of a birthday present, and went with some trepidation having seen some negative reviews. We were therefore delighted to have an excellent stay, a quirky but very comfortable room, small but adequate bathroom, and good heavy curtains to keep out the early morning light. A proper continental breakfast with cheeses,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D_L740
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations, that you had an excellent stay and will be recommending the Albany to future guests. If you are to return in the future, be sure book on our website for best possible rates and great, exclusive offers.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a four star hotel with a bar and amazing rooms. The furniture in the room was old and dated and there was no air con or heating. When returning in the evening we asked where the bar was only to be told there was no bar. I pointed out that the website had said there was and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Please accept our apologies for the confusion with the bar - while the bar is not open all the time, residents can get served alcohol and soft drinks at any stage during their stay. Your comments have been noted and will be addressed. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Double room top of the building. Only a shower in the bathroom and a broken toilet. Room was very hot no AC or fan available. Lacked ambiance more of an apartment hotel rather than a hotel with a bar, restaurant and amenities. Good location right on the tram line and good restaurants near by. Would I go back no.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stewart h
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As a listed building, we cannot install AC into the rooms, but we do have fans available on request. We hope that you return again in the near future. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location, five minutes walk from the tram and less than ten minutes from the trainstation. Charming old but well renovated building. I had a lovely beautifully decorated singleroom on the groundfloor. There was a comfortable bed and an armchair. Nice little bathroom with a toweldryer, which I found very usefull. Clean everywhere. Good breakfast. Helpfull staff. Only complaint: you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2013Lene
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially the renovations that we have been working on. Thanks for recommending us - next time you book, make sure to check out the great offers and best possible rates on our website! Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed my weekend stay here. It's convenient to the city centre and shops, yet the street is quiet. I had the misfortune to share my stay with two tour groups, and as my room was just inside the entrance, just off the reception area, I was woken up early both mornings by these enthusiastic tourists! However, the bed was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie D
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the room, and found the location ideal for what you needed in the city centre. If you are to return again, make sure to check out the best possible rates and exclusive offers on our website. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Really nice boutique hotel. Friendly staff. Loved the bathroom. Big bath and great power shower.Comfy bed. Continental breakfast was good. Good location for all the sights of the city. Only down side was the heat in the room. No air conditioning and the window would only open half way. However I would recommend this as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila864
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are glad that everything was perfect for you, and you will be recommending us as a hotel to visit. We hope to see you back at the Albany in the near future - keep an eye on the offers on our website, where you will also find the best possible rates. Kind...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
23/06/2017 24/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 147 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#95 of 147 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 147 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
666 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $156 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just stay somewhere else”
685inky66, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 404 is at the back and suffers from little traffic noise.”
D_L740, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the front entrance and Reception.”
908jeannied, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Although it's central, there's no noise disturbance from the street. Our room was top floor front, and all that I could have wanted.”
V1577TQdonm, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if not disabled upstairs rooms are very good -disabled bottom floor is fine.”
garywooding, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$173* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$213
Booking.comUS$223
Hotels.comUS$215
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates