Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel

The views a few steps from Hotel Indigo on Princes Street
Traveller (636)
Queen Bed Premium rooms
Room & Suite (273)
Twenty - restaurant
Dining (97)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#57 of 162 hotels in Edinburgh
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled perfectly in between Edinburgh's Old and New town, Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street encapsulates the unrivalled historic attractions of Old Edinburgh, whilst being in the heart of the world famous Edinburgh New Town, renowned for its unique shops, champagne bars, designer shops and quirky independent retailers showcasing Scottish produce and innovative boutiques. The design of our hotel is influenced by Edinburgh's historic story. For centuries Edinburgh was a meeting place for the world's greatest thinkers, literacy pioneers, poets and authors. Until this very day Edinburgh continues to inspire and drive some of the world's most famous and successful authors, politicians, artists and creators. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street hopes to inspire you during your stay with thoughtfully designed rooms, created to encapsulate the inspiration of the city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Summer Sale

Location

20 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AN Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
10.6 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
56.7 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles665 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street delights guests with its clean, well-maintained rooms, and modern, sanitized bathrooms. The unique, cozy atmosphere, adorned with literary-inspired decor and a traditional Scottish aesthetic, earns rave reviews. While praised for its comfortable and well-decorated rooms, some travelers note occasional noise issues and varying room sizes. Its central location is popular for those looking to explore Edinburgh, and the friendly, efficient service is frequently commended. Opinions on value vary, with some guests finding the location and breakfast to heighten the hotel's worth.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
665Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 346
  • 203
  • 61
  • 30
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lindsay294 wrote a review Jun 2023
Austin, Texas
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, we really love the Indigo brands, each with its own style in really unique buildings. The Princes Street’s decor is based on the literary history of Edinburgh, and is in a great location just across the street from the train station and within east walking distance of both Old and New Town. We stayed 5 nights and the rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable, with modern renovations. The staff from the front desk, restaurant, bar, and housekeeping are all very nice and so helpful. Even with city view room overlooking busy Princes Street the blackout blinds kept it dark and it was very quiet. Our only complaint, and it’s not really a complaint but something to consider, is that the elevator services only part of the hotel, and so be prepared to take bags up some flights of stairs. For the location, price point, and staff you cannot do better than the Hotel Indigo Princes Street.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I would not consider this hotel to be easy for people with mobility difficulties. Please research...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Simpson, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2023
Dear Lindsay294, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Princes Street. We are delighted to see that you found the location of the hotel to be ideal and that our our staff were friendly and helpful. Your kind words have been shared amongst our team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Front of House Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul N wrote a review Mar 2020
Brussels, Belgium
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights and were upgraded to a deluxe room overlooking Waverley Mall/Station. The room itself was big enough and decorated with lots of pictures and quotations from Rabbie Burns, there was also a fridge and safe provided. We thought that noise from the street below might impact our sleep quality, but it didn't give us any issues, thankfully.

The staff were very friendly and the check in process very easy and I think we'd return again. Breakfast is available in the restaurant on the 1st floor, but we elected to stay room only and visit one of the many coffee houses in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Myles11 wrote a review Oct 2021
Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was efficient and courteous for our 3 night B&B stay. Our standard room was a bit cramped and despite overlooking Princes St, traffic noise etc was not an issue. The room decor was quaint and I would suggest that lighting appliances be more functional than decorative. Bathroom and shower were excellent. We experienced difficulties with our room keys every day of our stay which meant a trek back to reception each time to have them re-issued. Most annoying and it appeared we were not the only guests with this problem. We only used the bar on one occasion as there appeared to be a problem with their stock of drinks. On that visit a request for a popular brand of scotch was met with a "sorry out of stock" response. Possibly a supply issue. Breakfasts were as substantial as anybody would need. The dining area is very impressive although its effect was lessened when we were twice seated in a booth wit a ripped faux leather seat.
Hand sanitisers were evident throughout the building but I had my doubts if they were regularly checked as those at entry and exit from the lift were usually empty.
I found the staff efficient and courteous. Housekeeping staff always acknowledged guests as they passed by in the corridors and helped with guests difficulties (room keys in our case). I fully understand that the hospitality industry is operating in difficult circumstances presently and that is why I value the staff experience so highly above technical and admin issues.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
walkerd23 wrote a review Mar 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The C-19 pandemic has clearly passed the owners and management of this hotel by, the room I was allocated was absolutely filthy, the communal areas of the hotel are also not hygienic and the hotel management don't seem to care about the cleanliness or value its customers. I strongly recommend you do not use this hotel there are far nicer hotels in Edinburgh which are C-19 safe. The General Manager has an attitude problem and not helpful at all when dealing with complaints, he needs some re-training in the customer service department, if he's the front of house for this hotel then no wonder its standards are unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Nawrot, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2021
Hello walkerd23, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As I said privately I make no excuse for the issues you encountered and apologise unreservedly. I do however feel it is important regarding this matter to clarify; 1. We fully accept the room you initially were assigned when you booked had dust on top and under the wardrobe as was your complaint on the night and as I have said privately and now publicly, this is unacceptable. 2. In line with the IHG Clean Promise, we immediately relocated you to another room where you found the cleanliness acceptable and this was checked back with yourself on the evening and then by myself on check out. 3. You made no mention at all of the other areas, which I had cleaned during the previous day, initially and in fact were very complimentary about the hotel in comparison to other properties you stay at in the city. 4. Your version of events changed significantly when you found the amount of points issued to compensate you not to your satisfaction and requested I increase this 5 fold or you would escalate the issue and I believe this is where you have identified my attitude problem. I apologised privately and will do so again publicly that the compensation you sought was more than I felt appropriate and again thank you for your feedback. Many thanks, Michael Nawrot General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PerfectWanderer wrote a review Sept 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked on a 5pm.com voucher
This hotel will not disappoint. Our room was spotless clean, the bathroom too. Plenty of soaps etc, towels nice white and fluffy
The hospitality tray was well stocked including the fridge
Hotel bathrobe and slippers
The bed was a Hypnos mattress giving a fab nights sleep
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious only negative would be asking for some bread and being charged £4 for a tiny slice and I mean tiny
Breakfast was again delicious however we had to ask for orange juice and toast - felt the server could have offered
On the whole the stay was first class would def return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There is no parking at this hotel All the sights are within reasonable walking distance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hugh b wrote a review Mar 2020
Agoura, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed here 3 nights... nice room with a king bed, but no view of any kind. quiet and did the trick. some great eateries nearby... but the pizza place around the corner is da bomb !!! go out doors and make a right aroung the corner. the shower is a little trickey and make sure you put your room key in the slot by the door to turn on the lights..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AndyG wrote a review Aug 2020
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy check in with nice staff.
Went to the room and found it small n stuffy with a badly broken toilet seat.
We were moved to another room which was larger.
Views really good overlooking princess street, castle etc.
Comfy bed and clean room (2nd one)

Breakfast was good the first day ( full Scottish) next day scrambled egg on toast same price for one slice attached pic.

Wasn’t worth the £100 per night we paid.

Disappointed overall.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Hello Spewy87, Thanks for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options. We also appreciate your candid remarks. We’re always committed to provide our guests with a place to relax and create festive moments, and I am happy that you found both our hotel colleagues friendly and the room clean. It is also great that you enjoyed the view. I also understand your disappointment in the first room’s condition, and I am sorry to hear about the breakfast experienced. We’ll reference your concerns with our hotel’s upper management for immediate action in making improvements in our services and amenities. I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul t wrote a review May 2021
Barnsley, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There's a lot to like about Hotel Indigo..location, friendly staff, Breakfasts and very reasonable bar prices. We stayed as a couple for 3 nights from the 26th of May. At reception we asked , if possible, for a quiet room and were given Room 608 at the back of the hotel which we were assured was quiet. The room itself was lovely, large and well decorated, all fine apart from the noise of a bank of aircon units outside the window. The constant loud hum penetrated the room. We asked to change and were shown other rooms, far smaller and one with a similar noise. On reflection we decided to give 608 a chance and bought some silicon ear plugs in the hope we could sleep. However at around 11 pm we realised that would be impossible. We called reception who acted very quickly and sent Jack, who agreed it was too noisy to sleep, with two more room options and we eventually settled for 501 on the fifth floor.(the lift only goes to the fourth !) Despite the offer of Porter assistance we packed and moved and enjoyed three good nights sleep. The moral is do not stay in room 608..and to the Hotel management please consider tackling this problem by adding another barrier of glazing, not necessarily removing the existing window but perhaps adding a third glazing barrier across the window recess?. ours cannot have been the only complaint about this room .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
john_paton5 wrote a review Aug 2021
Newmilns, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived early for booking in but wasn't a problem, given one room so we could leave baggage in the room and we went out. This hotel was spotless, we had rooms to the front of the hotel so we had a view across and down Princess Street, room was very comfortable and spotless, went for dinner and the 3 course meal menu is great and very tasty, service is excellent, staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough. Breakfast was amazing, great choices , but full Scottish takes a bit of beating, huge and tasty enough to last till dinner at night. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough, we had a one night dinner, bed &breakfast deal, at £69 per person, a fantastic deal well worth the money and more. We'll done Indigo Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only problem is with parking but there are carparks nearby.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki R wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With Covid putting a stop to a lot of life, booked a surprise shopping trip for my daughters 11 birthday. Hotel staff were lovely, the room was great and so cosy and quiet which was great as in centre of Edinburgh right next to station.
I had said it was a double birthday trip and was great surprise to arrive to birthday treats in each room and when trying to pay for dinner we were surprised with a full and fabulous chocolate cake with candles.
Dinner menu was a little limited for the kids and to be fair if we weren’t in restriction it wouldn’t have been our first choice for a family meal. But food was lovely and staff made it great.
With COVID-19 the hotel we’re talking loads of precautions and we were made to feel safe and special, everyone who were there was friendly and attentive.
A return visit is a must - thanks for bringing some sunshine in a rubbish time
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from katie l
Tampa, Florida154 contributions126 helpful votes
No there are not but they do offer a very expensive same day dry cleaning service. We expected to find a laundry mat in or near downtown and there wasnt really anything that made sense for us so we used the dry cleaning service.
Answer from Alexandra J
11 contributions12 helpful votes
No idea. I used the Omni Q-park. Contact hotel first as they offered a discount voucher to me but I had already used my card
ronda and Alan's adventures Ronda P asked a question Sept 2020
285 contributions82 helpful votes
Does the room come with a safe and a fridge.
Answer from Stuart M
North Shields, United Kingdom98 contributions67 helpful votes
Yes safe is free just follow instructions on card and the fridge was empty (maybe COVID related) in our room but worked as we put water bottles in
ralzie wrote a tip Jun 2024
Rindge, New Hampshire157 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan to eat in the restaurant (Twenty Princes Street) - the breakfasts and dinners are delicious"
Read full review
ecbmdpsych wrote a tip Jun 2024
New York City, New York239 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Som of the Rooms on the 5th and 6th floors do not have access to elevators. You need to get off on the 4th floor and walk up."
Read full review
sissysmith64 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bozeman, Montana24 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"the bathroom is so so tiny, almost claustrophobic."
Read full review
MarkFergie71 wrote a tip Feb 2024
31 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very near Waverley station"
Read full review
katie l wrote a tip Jan 2024
Tampa, Florida154 contributions126 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth it to upgrade to higher floor facing princess street so you can have a beautiful view of the castle and gorgeous Edinburgh"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
S$336 - S$623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal british edinburgh, hotel royal british
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Royal British Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town / Princes Street and Gardens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL INDIGO EDINBURGH - PRINCES STREET, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 760 Photos (Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 km), Royal Mile (0.4 km), and Department Of Magic (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and 3 Blind Mice.
Is Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.1 km), and Gladstone's Land (0.5 km).
Is Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire