We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal British Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal British Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal British Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 788: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2014

For anyone coming to Edinburgh by train, the location is unbeatable- right next to Waverley Station. The views of Princes Street and the Castle from the (excellent) bar areas second to none and my room was newly furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom in particular was top notch. The reception is on the first floor, and I had to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwissJames
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review James! Delighted to hear that you found your room so comfortable. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh! Many thanks, General Manager.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel offers a very stylish and contemporaty design in a superb location with wonderful views of Edinburgh. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, be it at reception, bar or restaurant. When the refurbishment is totally complete this will be our first choice of hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 341traveller1947
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! Delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time and that you will be back to stay with us! Looking forward to welcoming you again! Many thanks, General Manager.

north west
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I arrived at the hotel at 10.40 and was told that my room would not be ready till 3pm although I did let them know I would be early..not a problem they very kindly stored my luggage. After getting absolutely soaked I arrived back at the hotel to be given room 300 recently renovated.... a view of the rooftops ...the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meandmymates
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am disheartened to hear about the issues that you faced during your stay. If you would like to discuss your recent stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via manager@royalbritishhotel.com. Many thanks, General Manager.

Island of Gozo, Malta
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is situated in Princess Street(main road), lots of shops and restuarants. It is also very close to Waverley Train Station and also close to the bus station. Very easy to catch the express bus to the airport No 22 from Waverley Bridge. Cooked breakfast was very good. The staff were nice and the service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lilyflower5
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review! Fantastic to hear that you found the service and our staff so helpful! We hope to see you again! Many thanks, General Manager.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel is across the street from Waverley Train Station which is very convenient. The Lothian 22 bus stops in front and ends at Ocean Terminal Mall where one can take the excellent Royal Brittania tour and return from same spot. I got a special internet rate and the first room assigned when I arrived was up in the attic, room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldenFeet
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Great to hear that you found our location so convenient for your trip to Edinburgh. The hotel is undergoing an extensive refurbishment so I do hope you will chose to stay with us on your next visit to Edinburgh. Many Thanks. General Manager.

Linlithgow, Scotland
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a small but perfectly furnished room however lights on headboard did not work, heated towel rail in bathroom did not work radiator in room did not work however there were two portable heaters in our room however with the room being small these were not really ideal. No pressure in shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debi_borst
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay Debi. I am disheartened to hear that your stay was less than perfect. Should you wish to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via manager@royalbritishhotel.com. Many thanks. General Manager.

Dunedin
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A much under rated hotel in the heart of Edinburgh. Straight opposite the entrance to the main railway station of Waverly on Princes Street. The rooms are being progressively upgraded in a very contemporary luxurious style, Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast lovely and served by friendly staff. I couldn't find a better place for this value than this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Artmcleod
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us. The team extremely value your comments. Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks. General Manager.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Webstie looked good. Turned out Old rooms / Not so concerned staff. We understood for NYE it could be closed... but we offered to change rooms, be in double, twin whatever. But a clean and nice room. We had a yes but only in Twin. She was looking for double when we said we didn't mind. A few seconds later,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jcbeck_97
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am disheartened to hear that your stay was less than perfect. If you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail, please contact me directly via manager@royalbritishhotel.com. Many thanks, General Manager.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived at the beginning of January. We had a big room with a double bed, unfortunately it wasn't that comfortable and the wall radiators were not working. The hotel did provide 3 plug in heaters which worked well, but being on the front of Princes street meant we could hear everything all night and found it to be very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMJ4G
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are under going an extensive refurbishment so we do hope you will be back to stay with us once the transformation is complete. Many thanks. General Manager.

airdrie
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

It's been revamped. Very luxurious. Great menu. We had the 2 mains and 2 drinks for £20. The fillet steak sandwich is to die for. Herb crusted mushrooms are divine. All staff are really nice, seems they have been revamped too :-). See you again very soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woofles
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! The team extremely value your comments! We hope to see you again soon! Many Thanks. General Manager.

312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#100 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,824 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#38 of 150 in Edinburgh
852 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
224 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Royal British Hotel
Royal British Hotel
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian Hotel situated adjacent to Waverley Station, on Edinburgh's main street, Princes Street. 2012 is going to be an exciting year for the Royal British Hotel. A long awaited and overdue refurbishment is on course for this year. We have acquired a building adjacent to the hotel, which will be accommodating our new restaurant as well as an additional 6 bedrooms, with fantastic views of the Old Town, Princes Street and the Castle. Some of our room have already been refurbished and the remaining rooms will undergo a full refurbishment in phases. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal British Hotel

Address: 20 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $175 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Royal British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal British Edinburgh
Hotel Royal British
Royal British Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal British Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago
7 months ago
Bonnybridge
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal British Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for one with a view of the castle”
 of 5 bubbles llizzieg, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we didnt mind the noise as we wanted a hotel in the city centre so youve got to expect it,we still slept very well”
 of 5 bubbles 376hayleyt, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms booked were different design”
 of 5 bubbles chardonnaylilac, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the front have the view, the rooms at the back are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Flutesdragon, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“210 - no view but quiet. Marvellous bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 640crispin, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay