We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Channings Hotel

Save
Traveller (301)
Room & Suite (311)
Dining (84)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Channings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
664
391
124
39
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
664
391
124
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrea quiet residential arearoll top bathlovely hotelminute walkprinces streetsuperior roomhuge bathroomstreet parkingfull scottish breakfastwest endtop floorbreakfast was deliciousfirst morningbreakfast roomlovely roomhaggis
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
471 - 475 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights. Without exception all of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The location was good, quite and a short 10 minute walk to Princes Street. The reception area of the hotel was lovely and warm with a fire....More

Thank Thisplacethoughts
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings HotelResponded 17 December 2015

Sorry to hear this guest was not happy with their room but delighted with comments for our staff - thank you for this! We would love to look into the issues you have mentioned, please feel free to send any further information on your room...More

Reviewed 20 September 2015

Great reception and quickly shown to our room. This was large with a massive comfy bed and a well equipped bathroom. The public rooms had big comfy sofas and there was always plenty of room to sit. The reception staff were able to summon taxis...More

Thank nickh0lland
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings HotelResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for your lovely review - our location is one of our favourite things about the hotel, close to the City Centre action but with all the peace and tranquility of a country home! We hope to welcome you back in the near future....More

Reviewed 16 September 2015

We had a really good welcome when we arrived, rooms were cleaned and tidied every day. it is in a quiet residential garden square. We had very good choice of breakfasts both hot and cold which was included in our cost. Evening meals were very...More

Thank Gordon D
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings HotelResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for this review, we are delighted you found our accommodation and food options enjoyable! Leon Kiteley General Manager The Edinburgh Collection

Reviewed 16 September 2015

we booked this hotel and we were highly impressed with the whole visit everything was just perfect from check-in to check-out staff friendly rooms well laid out large - bay window beds soooooo comfy - nice and large bathrooms spacious and beautifully decorated

1  Thank kayec719
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings HotelResponded 17 December 2015

Many thanks for this lovely review - seems our new mattresses are doing the job correctly! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Edinburgh. Leon Kiteley General Manager The Edinburgh Collection

Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We booked through last minute as we decided to stay an extra night in Edinburgh at short notice. The rate was reasonable so we went for it. The hotel had ample parking out front and was within easy walking distance to Stockbridge and the city....More

Thank Aimee G
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings HotelResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for your kind review and apologies for any issues with breakfast - we will ensure this is looked into before your next visit! Leon Kiteley General Manager The Edinburgh Collection

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$283 - US$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$283 - US$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (301)
Room & Suite (311)
Dining (84)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JuliaVaas
7 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tom A | Reviewed this property |
No unfortunately
0
Votes
UPSCAYCE
22 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from O1624BUcraigw | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but, the elevator is a bit small. However, it should be adequate for your needs. Have fun!!
0
Votes
lizardMarquette_MI
4 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from EdinburghCollection | Property representative |
Hi, Thank you for your question. Yes, we do offer laundry service! We hope you enjoy your stay with us. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"On the front ( north side ) looking aat the Firth of Forth"
Read review
"Not room 26!"
Read review
"Get a good parking spot"
Read review
"Themed rooms are the nicest"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing