We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Save
Traveller (368)
Room & Suite (324)
Dining (124)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“dynamic earth”(122 reviews)
“royal mile”(591 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (3,218)
Filter reviews
3,105 results
Traveller rating
1,422
1,075
379
155
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,422
1,075
379
155
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdynamic earthroyal milescottish parliamentparliament buildingarthur's seatlovely hotelspa treatmentssauna and steam roomcooked breakfastgood sizeper nightexecutive roomleisure facilitiesbreakfast servicebooked this hotelweekend breakenjoyable stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 3,105 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Visiting from America we didn’t know what to expect. Perfect location near several pubs with live music nightly. Near the bus line where we hopped on to see the city sites in two short days. Two blocks from Holyrood Palace where the queen lives on...More

Thank Mike B
Reviewed 2 days ago

The MacDonald Holyrood Hotel is perfectly located in Edinburgh: close to Arthur’s Seat hill (hiking), the Holyrood Palace (the official residence of the British monarch in Scotland) and the eastern end of the Royal Mile (goes from Holyrood Palace to Edinburgh Castle). We stayed there...More

Thank Schlauberger1846
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holyrood and I am delighted overall you had a great time with us. August is the time to visit Edinburgh as there is so much going on and I am...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited on a Sunday for a one night spa break with my daughter. Great location and ideal free parking just outside as it was a Sunday! Reception staff welcoming and friendly and although we arrived early to use the spa we were delighted our room...More

Thank Jillian S
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Jillian, Thank you so much for your recent feedback and I am so pleased you had a great stay with us overall and to receive 5 stars is very much appreciated. Our location is great and I am delighted you got a warm and...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night as a spa break with my Mum. Tuesday 10th April. Positives: clean, comfortable and spacious room! Receptionist (Ruth) couldn’t be nicer. Porter was also helpful and friendly - very efficient! Spa - treatment excellent, staff lovely. Pool area clean and good facilities....More

2  Thank Amy S
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded 5 days ago

Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit and I am understandably disappointed to read you comments. I am very sorry to hear that you have been unwell and I do hope you have now fully recovered from the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Two night spa break catching up with my sister -chose the hotel for its location -able to easily able to walk to galleries and museums and able to book a tour of the Scottish Parliament too which is practically next door. Unfortunately the room we...More

1  Thank Alison M
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Alison, Firstly thank you so much for the 5 star review it is very much appreciated. I am pleased the team were able to resolve the issues with your first room and pleased your new room was very comfortable. I am glad you got...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Edinburgh, United Kingdom
See all 151 hotels in EdinburghSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (368)
Room & Suite (324)
Dining (124)
Pool & Beach (37)
Amenities (97)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robin P
15 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Andrew B | Property representative |
Hello, I would recommend booking a car parking space as we only have limited available but this will guarantee you a space. The charge is £25 to book or £20 if you risk just checking on arrival. All you need to do is contact... More
0
Votes
kate d
22 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Maggie G | Reviewed this property |
I took the tram from the airport and then walked the last 15 minutes.
0
Votes
Karen W
9 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David393 | Reviewed this property |
It is a minute walk from bottom of Royal Mile - And 7 minute walk from station
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The rooms can get a little hot so I recommend putting the air con on in the evening if you prefer the room to..."
Read review
"the low numbers look onto Carlton Hill and Dynamic Earth"
Read review
"If you need a quiet room - just ask"
Read review
"Really well placed for the centre of Edinburgh and very close to the Royal Mile"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing