We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Save
Traveller (382)
Room & Suite (327)
Dining (128)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“dynamic earth”(122 reviews)
“royal mile”(606 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (3,287)
Filter reviews
3,167 results
Traveller rating
1,462
1,084
387
158
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,462
1,084
387
158
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdynamic earthroyal milescottish parliamentparliament buildingarthur's seatlovely hotelspa treatmentssauna and steam roomgood sizecooked breakfastper nightexecutive roomleisure facilitiesbooked this hotelweekend breakenjoyable staylovely room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 3,167 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

This is my favourite Hotel! I must admit that is partly because of the memories it holds. I stayed here a number of times during a very stressful exam period while I was finishing off my legal studies at Edinburgh University. I would come down...More

Thank Iain J
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We got a good value booking from Secret Escapes and had a ‘feature room’. The most outstanding feature was the rubbish air conditioner- either it didn’t work or it wasn’t man enough for the job. Nothing we could do made any difference and we roasted...More

Thank Frostycat
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for your recent feedback in relation to your stay at the Holyrood and I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am sorry you were affected by the heat during your time with us, all our rooms have air...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

would definitely recommend staying over at this hotel! we were looked after from the minute we walked in, all staff were friendly and made sure we were comfortable answering any of our questions. Went for dinner and were both given a complimentary glass of fizz...More

Thank Becky B
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Becky, Thank you so much for your feedback and I am delighted you had a great time with us at the Holyrood. The first impression is so important and I am glad you were made to feel welcome and looked after as soon as...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This hotel is located in a good spot in Edinburgh. Easy to go to see the old and new parts of the city. Room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was ok. Checking in and out was efficient. All in all an easy stay.More

Thank Arks2011
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your recent feedback and I am pleased to read you found all aspects of the hotel satisfactory for you. Our location is ideal to base yourself for your time in Edinburgh in a quiet area but not too far from...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a poor experience. I knew this hotel well when I worked in Edinburgh soon after it opened. Sadly it is not what it was. No air conditioning is a joke for a hotel of this price range. Even nearby budget hotels have proper...More

1  Thank Simon R
Response from Andrew B, Manager at Macdonald Holyrood HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Simon, Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us and you can imagine I am very disappointed to read your review as this is by no means our guests normal experience. I am sorry we do...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$140 - US$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$140 - US$446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (382)
Room & Suite (327)
Dining (128)
Pool & Beach (38)
Amenities (97)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alison W
15 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JoanMcNulty | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is, however you can pre book which costs more or you can take your chances and hope they have spaces when you arrive.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a view of the park away from the elevators"
Read review
"Yard view far from lifts"
Read review
"We were on the 5th floor and it wasn't noisy at all"
Read review
"513was our the rooms with the views are on six and we were tempted, I am pleased we didn’t as we had very..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing