We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apex Haymarket Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 905: English reviews
Brighton
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Hotel is nice and simple. Rooms are clean and have everything you need. Stayed at most of the Apex hotels and this is good for a 3 star. Restaurant food was good as was service. Parking can be an issue as spaces are limited., but apart from that there is not. A lot else to complain about. K

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevinlogan
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your great review, I am pleased you found us a good 3-star hotel. We have a small parking area, which is a bonus in a city centre location and we offer spaces on a first come first served basis, but due to great public transport opportunities in the area, spaces are always available....

Scotland
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Having stayed at the Apex International in the Grassmarket few weeks before I decided to try the Apex Haymarket. Friendly staff at reception with check in/out very smooth. Room was clean with all the amenities and lovely big walk in shower in the bathroom. Only downside was that I found the room quite small compared to the Apex International. However...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ScottishTraveller22
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team, the location and the rooms to your satisfaction. As we are a three-star hotel, our rooms are slightly smaller than the ones at our sister hotels, but the amenities and the standards are the same - a great stay guaranteed!...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Room was well equipped and clean; mine did overlook the main street outside so there was some traffic noise from early in the morning but this cannot be helped in a major city :-) Didn't use the restaurant in the evening but did have breakfast the following morning; it was excellent and served efficiently by very friendly staff. Only word...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simon H
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon H, thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. next time please do try our bar menu or our a la carte menu, there are some fantastic dishes on offer!. We have recently changed the car parking procedures and rules I am pleased to say it is now working brilliantly. Kind...

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Was met at reception by a very friendly member of staff. Spacious room and lovely and clean. Great nights sleep, comfy bed. Highlight of our night away was being woken by a fire alarm! Turns out a hairdryer went on fire! Haha nothing serious. 2 min walk from train station and £4.00 all day tram ticket which was right next...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Tubby33
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tubby33, thank you for your great review. I apologise for the inconvenience with the fire alarm, however the safety of our guests is of utmost importance for us. It is great to read you still had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Apex Haymarket Hotel. Kind regards, Z Jakri General...

Dumfries
Reviewed 27 June 2015

We arrived after a long day travelling and received a very warm welcome from receptionist and bar staff who also served food as we were late arriving we ate in the nice bar area to front of hotel . Service was first class and our steaks delicious . Breakfast was another treat . Service was again faultless and hot food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandylane2
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandylane2, what an amazing title and a fantastic review! To be called an Edinburgh gem really is making all our efforts worthwhile. I have shared your review with all my colleagues here and they were equally thrilled you had a brilliant stay, great food, attentive service and a comfortable room. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind...

Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

Got back yesterday from a 3 night stay and were very pleased with the hotel. Room was clean and tidy when we arrived, freshened up every day and could not fault the staff at all. They truly were wonderful and went out thier way to help anyone. We didn't really need to ask too much due to having an idea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pennington1988
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your brilliant feedback, I am pleased your three nights in Edinburgh and at the Apex Haymarket Hotel were wonderful. I am glad you mentioned our team, they are an asset to the hotel. Next time please do try our restaurant as well, we have great offers for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Kind regards,...

Ramsgate
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Brilliant room with amazing comfortable bed and pillows but very small with no view. I was lucky to get it at such a good price I hope I find this hotel at the same price again as I'm in Edinburgh very regular. Highlight of my stay probably the most cheerful helpful staff in Edinburgh especially the receptionist from Seville!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AshleyRamsgate
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your comments, I am delighted you had a good stay with us, and happy that you stole our duck! Please visit our Facebook page and enter the photo competition. Kind regards, Z Jakri General Manager

Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed at Apex in Haymarket Edinburgh, and if I'm honest I did quite enjoy my stay, they have some really modern amenities supplied in the rooms, and the rooms are such a decent size that it makes you feel comfortable. The bed is massive, and so it should be when they're joining two singles together however it's really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsaybegum
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your comments. I am pleased you had a good stay with us, but next time please raise any concerns with us during your stay, we can offer double and twin rooms, different pillows. Please speak to our Reception team who are available 24/7 and we will be happy to assist. Kind regards, Z Jakri General...

Reviewed 17 June 2015

We stayed at 415 Room - it was not clean at an acceptable level: dirty walls, dust on the furniture (table, bed table, coffee tray) and floor corners, bathroom with marks on the toilet. The bed was confortable at certain level but the wooden bed support (below mattress) seemed to be broken and was completely out of bed's square. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Beatriz C
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beatriz, thank you very much for your feedback. I have now contacted you directly to ensure that your comments are investigated fully. Please do get back to me if you wish to discuss these matters further. In the meantime, I would urge you and all our guests to contact a member of the team during their stay if they...

Brookings, South Dakota
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel for a conference and the room was fine. The shower was actually a very nice shower. The breakfast provided was great and had healthy options, which was important. The staff at this location are superb! The location is great as well. Within walking distance of pretty much everything! What was REALLY fantastic about this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erin E
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and even happier about the comments on our team. I really think the team here are exceptional and they make all the difference - I am pleased we delivered again! We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
484 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,807 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $117 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't forget to take home your Rubber Duck”
 of 5 bubbles BrettDukes, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can't say as we had a net curtain and sideboard in front of the window so could not really see out”
 of 5 bubbles Biddie11, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a fourth-floor room if you can. Less street noise and no-one above to annoy you.”
  • Use the FREEZING Edinburgh water of January to make your own fridge!
 of 5 bubbles Magpie1892, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 305 was nice with a good view”
 of 5 bubbles tommy0121, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I've never had any significant issues with any room here.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeplonk, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5