We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allison House Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“city centre”(42 reviews)
“fresh fruit”(12 reviews)
“top floor”(15 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Pool
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Allison House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
93
58
20
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
93
58
20
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrefresh fruittop floorstraight roadsmall double roomcooked itemsblackout curtainsday tickettwo singleson arrivalvery comfortable staycomfortable bedhouse keepingarthurs seatregular buseslast minute bookingprivate bathroom
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the room downstairs that doesn’t have a window. It was very cosy, but very nicely decorated, clean and had everything you needed. The location is about a 30 minute walk (straight so you can’t get lost) into the city or there are...More

1  Thank libbyj0123
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Despite friendly staff, I'm afraid that the rooms (and to some extent the communal areas) need some serious TLC. Our room felt like it had been thrown together from a garage sale. A ridiculous mini ironing board, awful decor and a tiny bathroom with shower...More

2  Thank James S
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This B&B is lovely. Booking was a pleasure, staff super helpful. Leave car here and bus it into city. We had a top floor room, really spacious. Got our cardio in doing the stairs but as there is no gym was really good.More

Thank raelene61
Response from AllisonHouseEdin, Manager at Allison House HotelResponded 4 October 2017

It was great to have you staying with us, you were both a pleasure to meet. We are glad you got a chance to do a little cardio! We look forward to your next visit to Edinburgh, please do give us a call as we...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017

A last minute booking on Late Rooms for a last minute trip to Edinburgh meant we were limited in where we could find a room in the city centre. Allison House Hotel is on the outskirts of the city on a good bus route and...More

1  Thank Joanne_Laura
Response from AllisonHouseEdin, Manager at Allison House HotelResponded 4 October 2017

It was great to have you staying with us, you were both a pleasure to meet. We look forward to your next visit to Edinburgh, please do give us a call as we will be more than happy to accommodate you again.

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We arrived close to 1am and Tony was unable to personally welcome us however instructions to get in were clearly communicated. The room was a top floor room with a beautiful view of Arthurs seat. The room was exceptionally clean and there were fresh towels...More

1  Thank Vincent S
Response from AllisonHouseEdin, Manager at Allison House HotelResponded 4 October 2017

It was great to have you staying with us, you were both a pleasure to meet. We look forward to your next visit to Edinburgh, please do give us a call as we will be more than happy to accommodate you again.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$114 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$114 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (13)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Debbie J
22 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AllisonHouseEdin | Property representative |
No Sorry, due to the building being Georgian with planning restrictions and the desire to keep the buildings original features, we are unable to add a lift. However, our helpful staff will always be on hand to help you up... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"ask for one of the rooms that hasnt been split into two"
Read review
"Rooms are tiny and the house is in need of a complete refurb."
Read review
"Avoid the basement"
Read review
"Room 5 small but lovely"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing