We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Show Prices
#38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,293: English reviews
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a leisure break, and to visit Edinburgh for the first time which was a fantastic city and only a 25 minute taxi ride from the hotel but you can also do park and ride. The hotel itself is lovely and clean and to a high standard. The restaurant was good and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny400
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went with partner and his parents for afternoon tea as they had received a voucher for their Christmas. They had the champagne afternoon tea and we paid on the day for the afternoon tea without champagne - £20 each. Having looked at the menu we were looking forward to the selection but were disappointed to then be told that not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alimck89
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited with daughter for spa day, gift for our Xmas. Visit inc champagne afternoon tea and 55 min massage (I had Tara, thank you - it was perfect.) Had a lovely, relaxing day, never rushed. Every member of staff was so friendly and helpful, spa very relaxing and peaceful, as was pool area, the coffee lounge where afternoon tea was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room upgrade was quite acceptable once it had heated up from being freezing. The restaurant is the funny part. It is very much a selection of Brake Brothers standard pub grub. The pretentious starter looked a bit lonely, like it could do with some bread ( no bread was offered ). On request for some bread to go with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank norventowind
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Norton House Hotel & Spa. Naturally I'm disappointed to read that you encountered some frustrations and I apologise that your visit did not meet expectations. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards Chris Monks

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a great distance from Edinburgh International Airport, in the heart of a sizeable estate nestles the Norton House Spa and Hotel. Lots of car parking spaces but it does have weddings and conferences. The hotel was a lot larger than I expected. It has a lovely traditional look but, despite it's size, it still keeps a homely feel. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. It is great to read you enjoyed the hotel and that you found the food excellent and the service good. I agree with you that the public transport into the city is excellent and the tram service is super-efficient. I do hope we have the pleasure...

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had champagne afternoon tea using a Groupon voucher which was good value for money. The sandwiches and scones were excellent as was the loose leaf tea served. The staff provided excellent service. The cakes did not appear home made, with the mince pie (being offered as it was just after Christmas) obviously mass manufactured. If I was paying full price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan m
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am grateful to you for taking the time to post a review following your visit for afternoon tea. I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience and that you felt it was good value for money. Thank you for kind comments regarding the team, they are very much appreciated. I do hope we can welcome you back to Norton...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Converted grand mansion a few minutes taxi ride from Edinburgh Airport. Reasonable blend of the new and the old stone fronted house. Has an excellent modern and well deigned conference centre. Busy bar and restaurant. Bedrooms to a high standard. Loads of free car parking space. Garden and grounds very pleasant

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marc S
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your business trip in October. I am delighted that you like all aspects of our hotel and I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Chris Monks.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My fiance booked us a spa day with an overnight stay for my Christmas. The hotel is lovely, very classic looking and was easy to get to although easy to get lost inside. He upgraded us to a suite and the room was beautiful. Very spacious and even had a TV in the bathroom along with some nice toiletries. Complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola C
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am grateful to you for posting a review following your recent stay at Norton House. I am pleased to read that you upgraded to a suite and found it to be beautiful and well equipped. I am delighted to read that all the staff you encountered were friendly and that the food in the hotel was lovely. Please accept...

Playa De Las Americas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is my second stay at the norton house hotel and it didn't disappoint. The hotel is beautiful & so are the rooms. The spa is lovely & my massage was great! We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was delicious. I opted for a bottle of house red wine but wouldn't recommend it - go for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodiek21
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had a lovely stay and it is fantastic to read that your massage was great and the food fantastic. I take on board your comments regarding delays for breakfast and I apologise for this. I am pleased that you will definitely return and I look forward...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked into Norton House Hotel from Fri - Sun to take in a wedding our friends had booked afternoon tea with Prosecco. Our waitress explained our afternoon tea with us and we decided to change one of the sandwich types which we did't like. Lovely selection of sandwiches cake, and scones which we could not eat but took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyce G
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am grateful to you for posting a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with prosecco and It is great that our team member was able to explain our offerings. I trust you had a great time at the wedding and I thank you again for your kind comments. Kind regards, Chris Monks

699 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (320)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,471 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,576 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,222 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $191 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get an upgrade room, go to the bar while it heats up.”
 of 5 bubbles norventowind, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms in the extension are well equipped but lack the charm of those in the original house”
 of 5 bubbles TonyD970, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you like traditional style go for the classic rooms, if you want modern go for the new wing at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles 508jiml, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 606 and 605 are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Janice-and-Ali, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request old or new style”
 of 5 bubbles Travelling_Midlander, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay