We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Scotsman Hotel

PricelineUS$256*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$362*
US$256*
Great Deal
US$298*
US$297*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
The Scotsman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,110: English reviews
Castro Valley, California
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in one of the turret rooms which had a delightful sitting area. The staff is out of this world and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. If you arrive by train the hotel is only a three minute walk from the station. The hotel location couldn't be any better. The royal mile is only a block away,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck D
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife & I stayed here recently on vacation (yes, we're a couple of Americans). The location is great, a block from the Royal Mile and with a lift puts you across the street from Waverley Station, making it a nice base for day trips. We arrived after an overnight flight and they were able to get us into our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott M
Dundee
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited The Scotsman for a night in mid-June after receiving a voucher as a gift. The location cannot be faulted, located between The Royal Mile and Princess Street. Central and close to transport links. We opted to leave use the park & ride outside the city centre but I believe the hotel offers discounted parking at a nearby car...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SleeplessInDundee
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, customer service and administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us at The Scotsman. As you point out our location cannot be faulted, we agree we are very lucky to occupy such a fantastic city centre location being so close to the historical centre, shopping and very easy access to the train station. The Scotsman hotel...

Oxford
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Located in a very impressive building, in a great central location. All staff were friendly, and attentive and we were made to feel very welcome at all times. Breakfast was good. The only (small) issue is the rooms seemed a little worn, but the decor is still very impressive and I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ibswif
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to record your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman hotel. With regards to the rooms being worn, these are in the process of having a refurbishment room at a time, hopefully when you do return you will be able to be in a newly refurbished room. I hope...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived by car and could not find the entrance to the hotel. I rang the hotel and was being put through to the concierge but perhaps he was not there as reception answered again and said to "pop in and I'll give you a map where to park". As I didn't know where the entrance was and that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us. I am sorry for the troubles you encountered with regards to parking facilities. . I’m sorry that this was a disappointment to you; as one of the traditional Victorian buildings in the city we are unable to accommodate our own car park and for this...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very disappointed. Had afternoon tea booked for 12 (2 gluten free) for an important family gathering, only to be told the night before that YOU WILL NOT CATER FOR GLUTEN FREE ANYMORE. No apology or alternative offer. Needless to say we have made other arrangements in a more customer friendly hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leeannew4567
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LeaAnne, We are very concerned that you have written such a damaging review and very much urge that you contact the hotel at your convenience to talk this over – the number to contact is 0131 556 5565 and please ask for myself. The information that you have detailed is faculty incorrect as we offer a selection on of...

UK
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed early June with our 19 month old toddler. The room was lovely and traditional. However, it was quite noisy, the room service menu was limited and the burger was vile! It came too pink (I am pregnant) and didn't look fresh or homemade. The staff seemed a little pretentious too, especially in the breakfast room so we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DogZoo
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Scotsman. I am sorry that you didn’t not enjoy our rooms service menu and it concerns me to hear that you felt this was served ‘Pink’ this can be cooked to the liking of each individual guest. I can assure you that...

LONDON
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Scotsman is well situated for the station and the royal mile. The staff are exceptionally helpful. The room is well appointed with everything you could wish for. There is a button to put a do not disturb sign red light outside your room. Also a hatch so if you order room service a tray is put in the hatch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APYE
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more. I am glad you enjoyed our extra little touches for privacy in our rooms. All...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Edinburgh is one city where you are surrounded by old buildings and then even older buildings. When they refer to the "new" town as built in the 1700s, its my kind of place! This hotel does not disappoint. Great room size, perfect location and friendly staff are just compliments to this wonderful hotel. Excellent place to stay if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawguy22
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Oh my God!!!!!!!!!!! I've been in Scottish Hospitality for 35 years, I am in Edinburgh for a family and friends holiday from the USA, and never have I found and EMPTY hotel Bar and Restaurant that REFUSES accommodate a table of 7 for a quick lunch and snacks. We have used this hotel many times and I'm SHOCKED!!! What kind...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Patsy C
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your stay with us. We do serve lunch from the hours of noon till 2pm, however we also serve afternoon tea from noon till 430pm, I would be very surprised and disappointed if this was not offered as a alternative. Please contact myself or our operations manager Richard Gray...

961 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (633)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (256)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Director Suite (71)
Viewed
Editor Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,676 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
890 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
918 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $248 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Scotsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room 601, smallish but more than adequate for 2, we heard no noise from anyone”
MandiM834, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get outward looking rooms.”
DavidTPtank, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms overlooking the New Town, if you can”
colonialdrummer1, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Penthouse depending on price outstanding room tho , check before using mini bar as there is a charge”
K8546CDdavido, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Honestly we were upgraded to a suit and that was very dated so I recommend booking another property.”
Hindy1, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$256* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$298
TravelocityUS$297
HotelQuicklyUS$362
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates