We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

788 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 738: English reviews
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Spend 3 nights at the holiday inn. Nice staff welcome and the rooms when clean, power of the shower was not great but that can happen anywhere . On the down side it's around a £10 taxi ride to the city centre with not much on offer in the hotel vicinity when it comes to restaurants etc..... the breakfast choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMGFH
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear TMGFH, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always aim to provide best value for money to all our guests. We are not in the City Center, but it gives our guests more silence to compare the hotels based in the city. There is also a bus stop just outside the hotel which takes 10...

London
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I recently visited Edinburgh to watch one of the rugby matches. Holiday Inn City West is ideal for those who want a short walk to the stadium as well as being recently close to the city centre. The walk to Murrayfield takes about 20 mins and if you want to walk to the city centre, it is about 30. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesxi
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Jamesxi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to read you found our beds to be comfortable and the team friendly. We aim to keep improving our product and services. When you will be staying with us again please contact me directly at GM@HIEdinburghCityWest.com and I will personally ensure your stay to be even...

Reviewed 11 March 2017

My family stayed here in July of 2016 and we all agreed that we enjoyed our stay. For a nominal fee I upgraded us from a room to a suite. Having two rooms to spread out was a luxury. The couch in the living room pulls out to two twin beds which was nice for the kids. They got their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Amy L, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to see you have enjoyed your stay and you chose to come back to us following your visit in July. Our team is always on hand to assist our guests with any requests. I hope you will choose to stay with us again for your...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night while visiting Edinburgh for business. Parking was really easy which is such a relief. The staff were very friendly, hotel clean and the dining room / bar were all good. The room unfortunately was sub standard. It's clearly an d building with dated heating system which blows hot air for a short while (noisy) then cuts out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Carly H Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the friendly service, clean rooms and free guest car parking. However, I would like to apologise for some of the issues you had with your room and I will...

Buckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The hotel is only 10-15 minute bus ride away. The price we paid was good value considering how close we were to city centre. The bus stops are right outside hotel and the 41 and 42 takes you right to the centre. A family ticket costs £8.50. The hotel has great views over the city. We had a suite room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Hi Graham N, Thank you for your review. It makes me very happy to read reviews such as yours. We are working very hard to ensure we provide best possible service and great to see it pays off. Hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Marcin Jurczak General Manager

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Booked the hotel during my recent leisure trip to Edinburgh. It has a nice location and easily accessible from the city center. Staffs were very friendly and was a very easy check in and check out. The view from the room was nice. Rooms were little bit tiny but that part can be ignored as long you are comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajay D
Marcin J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Ajay D, Thank you for your review. It's great you found the location easily accessible from the City Centre and our team to be friendly. When you will be staying with us again I would recommend to book a Mini Suite which is much larger than Standard Rooms and has number of extras that will make your stay even...

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were on the 5th floor and the view was so amazing we left the curtains wide open all night. Worth asking for a high up room. Comfy beds, pleasant staff. Right on the No 41 bus route which we got a day pass for 4 people for £8.50 and went on and off buses all day all over Edinburgh....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pammyjz
Marcin J, Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Pammyjz, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and it's great you were allocated in one of our rooms with great views. I do want to apologise for the shortcomings encountered at breakfast - I will be sure to address these. Hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Marcin Jurczak General Manager

lancaster
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Easy to find Check in was easy and quick Room was normal, as you would expect Bathroom was tiny, too small, narrow Beds were not that comfy, didnt sleep well for two nights, on and off Scottish breakfast which was an english breakfast but they put haggis out, no sliced sausage or tattie scones? Staff were all good Location for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LancasterJohnny
Marcin J, Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Lancaster Johnny, Thank you for taking the time to write the review of our hotel. It's great to hear you found location of the hotel particularly convenient. We are in the process of changing our beds, this will hopefully improve quality of the sleep. When you will be looking to stay in Edinburgh in the future please do not...

Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Nice hotel with well appointed rooms. About 10 minutes on bus from city centre. Very comfortable and good service. Retail park opposite - a bit difficult to get to as it is a busy junction but quite possible with care. Includes a god Sainsbury store

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigBilbo
Marcin J, Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear BigBilbo, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to see you found location convenient and our team good. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! Sincerely, Marcin Jurczak General Manager

Reviewed 16 February 2017

This hotel's location might not suit everyone, as it's slightly outwith the city centre. Not a problem for us as we like to walk, and it appears to be on a bus route. There's a supermarket/shopping centre nearby which is handy. Our room on 4th floor was a good size, with 2 double beds and very clean. One small niggle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
Marcin J, Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to read you enjoyed your stay. Although we are a little out of Edinburgh City Centre you can take bus 41 which takes 10 minutes to Princess Street. For your next visit please email me on GM@HIEdinburghCityWest.com and I will personally check the room prior...

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,099 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,074 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $140 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 618 has a great view of Edinburgh”
WSW64, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with castle view, 6th floor, away from the elevators.”
SilverFoxNorthumbria, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on higher floors have a better view of the city.”
navjyo08, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on upper floors facing city”
481grahamn, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high up room facing the city”
Pammyjz, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5