We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Regent House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of Regent House Hotel
 Click to rate
belfast
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This is an "old fashioned" type guest house, not a hotel. The staff are friendly. The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable bed and (very important ) excellent pillows. We had an en-suite, which I would seriously recommend, having seen the shared toilet / separate shower room. Nothing wrong - they were clean but nocturnal wanderings are not my thing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartinJi
London
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I have given this place 5 stars because I found it to be more than we expected. The people working there absolutely lovely, most helpful, especially Silvya, we were allowed in early, were given a pretty big room with a fire place ( as I have asked), very charming and cosy. Modern bathroom, very clean. The breakfast is included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alla b
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are overjoyed to know that you had a pleasant time with us in Edinburgh. Should you consider to visit again please get in touch directly and we will be happy to offer you a wee discount on your next stay.

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Had a great stay here, The room was lovely. Every thins was so very clean. They had a nice little breakfast on in the morning. It was close to the playhouse theatre and town centre. Great value. Would recommend and stay again if I was in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hels1crazy
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Regent House Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to make a review, it is much appreciated.

Reviewed 14 December 2016

A wonderful small hotel, just off the main track but comfortable and quiet for a city centre stay. The breakfasts were lovely, I do not normally go for a continental style one when away but this one left me more than full each day. The coffee especially was a proper kickstart to the day. The room was very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, our housekeepers were trilled to hear your review. Are staff always tries their best to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation for our guests. It is a great feeling to be appreciated. Should you require accommodation in Edinburgh in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly for a wee discount.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We had been on this hotel on 8th of November (about 11:45am) after agreement on telephone call. When we arrived there, my friend forgot to tell that we already had agreement on certain price. A man on reception (with separated spectacle) told that the availability of room is only on very expensive price. He was looking unfriendly and rude after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesSangraula
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, We apologise for this misunderstanding. This sort of miscommunication unfortunately can occur in a phone conversation. Generally we are only accepting new reservations in writing for this very reason. We are unable to sell our rooms for a lower rate than it is advertised on our website. Best Regards

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Needed a spruce up was very tatty, the room was very small and couldn't move in the bathroom, was clean and breakfast was okay but not much choice. Staff friendly and helped with every question asked before our arrival, good location as pubs and shops round the corner

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliciacharr12
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alicia, May I ask which room you stayed in? We are always trying to improve the hotel, so your feedback is much appreciated. The buling is continuously going through improvements to make the rooms more comfortable for our guests. Obviously this is a process, that's why your opinion is so valuable. Please pm me if you want to info@regenthousehotel.co.uk....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We booked a family room so we had 4 beds in it! it is a bit cramped up but it was good enough for us. the breakfast was great in the morning which was included in the room rate and the staff were friendly and helpful. the location is great as it is walking distance of about 10 min from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DenverM73
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I loved the room we were in and everyone was absolutely lovely. Great local spot with an exceptional coffee shop close by and not far from old town and a lot of incredible pubs. Loved it all, especially the back window and the view out of that. What a great spot!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William J
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Should you planning to visit Edinburgh again please contact us directly via info@regenthousehotel.co.uk for a friendly price.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were allocated Room 5 in the basement. We were informed that we had booked a room with a shared bathroom (something we would never have done). Paid extra on arrival for this room with en suite facility. The room was exremely noisy from 0700 each morning as it was directly below breakfast room/reception. Shower thermostat did not work -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lins_Alex
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. I looked up your reservation and it was indeed booked as a double room with a shared bathroom originally, and on your arrival was upgraded with your agreement for an additional £10 per night for an en-suite, recently refurbished room. I do apologise if you had issues with the noise during...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, I stayed one night with my parents and they really liked it, I wish I would have stayed more days. It is a small hotel but it had everything I needed. The owner is really nice, he warmly welcomed us and gave me some tips for restaurants which was quite convenient for the first day....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lety A
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us in the beautiful city of Edinburgh. If you wish to visit again please get in touch via info@regenthousehotel.co.uk and we will work out a friendly discount for you.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
204 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
899 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $84 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Regent House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Regent House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Low levels for those needing help in stair climbing as there is no lift here.”
  • The rooms decor, as aged as the hotel itself and yet still charming.
 of 5 bubbles craigk540, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have nice windows so it is bright”
 of 5 bubbles DenverM73, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep the stairs in mind. If you don't mind the climb you will be rewarded.”
 of 5 bubbles chadc335, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we had room 18, great room (sleeps five)”
 of 5 bubbles jean0202, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would think they would all be good rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Marefrequentguest, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5