We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36 Simpson Loan Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Vio.com
US$290
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (23)

About

#86 of 167 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
:Unlock Member Rates!
1448Reviews60Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 723
  • 494
  • 152
  • 48
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sequoiasnowflake wrote a review Yesterday
Georgia31 contributions6 helpful votes
The location was wonderful, being walking distance to most places we went, and yet tucked away on a quiet street by the University of Edinburgh. Having Butta Burger on the same street was a bonus! There was also a parking garage next to the hotel, but we only used it for a few hours, so I don't know further details. The room was large and comfortable, apart from the lack of air conditioning. The portable units provided were helpful, but not enough to keep the room cool during the day. Further, I don't know if they are cleaned after use. We would very likely consider staying here again, if in a cooler time of year. The staff were so very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
rap_mom wrote a review 3 Jun
Brooklyn, New York151 contributions100 helpful votes
Mixed experience. I tend to like Residence Inns in general, since it's nice to have some type of kitchen for those who have trouble eating out. This one had its limitations, since it is housed in a building that was initially designed to be apartments rather than a hotel. Thus, no individual temperature control within the room. Since a single day (in June) can change from very hot to very cool, based on the position of the sun, this is less than satisfactory. Furniture in the room is on the verge of needing replacement. The gym was absolutely TINY: Two treadmills, one elliptical, and a rack of free weights. Not even a place to stretch out. Room mattress was lumpy and needs replacement. On the other hand, I found the staff working here to be absolutely terrific and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good and continues until a leisurely 11:00 ending on weekends. It's got a great location, just outside of Old Town. It's really the great staff that made me give it 4 rather than 3 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Q8123CEmargaretf wrote a review 1 Jun
Wetherby10 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel Saturday. & Sunday 27th/28th May. Booked two rooms at a very high rate so expected a good standard. Very disappointed, quality of room was just ok, stained worn sofa, tv didn’t work properly, plug socket coming off the wall when using kettle. Duvet cover on inside out so unsure if that was a mistake or just not washed. There was no way to get the room cool so they were both likes saunas even though the temperature outside was only in the teens. The noise from the building site next door was incredibly loud and started early, there was no mention of this when booking. I can’t comment on breakfast as we chose not to have it the first morning but on bank holiday Monday we would have liked it but presumed it would finish at 11 as at the weekend, but unfortunately not, all packed up at 10! Overall although we had a lovely time in Edinburgh itself the hotel itself was very disappointing and certainly not value for money. Will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Lutid69 wrote a review May 2023
121 contributions103 helpful votes
We stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Edinburgh and were absolutely delighted by the exceptional service provided by Charitha at the reception. He greeted us upon our arrival with a warm smile and genuinely friendly demeanor, making us feel welcome right from the start. He was incredibly helpful providing us with directions, offering suggestions on where to eat, and most importantly, ensuring that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The hotel itself was tastefully appointed and well-maintained, offering all of the amenities we needed to feel at home away from home. But it was the outstanding service we received that made our stay truly memorable. We'd like to extend our deepest gratitude to Charitha for his kindness and for going above and beyond to make sure that our stay was perfect. We will surely return to the Residence Inn, Marriott Edinburgh, and hope to see Charitha again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
beew1 wrote a review May 2023
Prestwick, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked two nights at this hotel, and paid a significant nightly rate. On arrival the staff were very pleasant through the checking in experience. Firstly, please be aware, there is no air con in this hotel. Although the temperature was in the high teens, the room was like a sauna! The hotel did provide a small fan! The room itself was generally clean, although the furnishings are extremely dated, and worn. The sofa was completely worn, and bore the signs of staining. Then, the fun begins. There is major construction going on right next door. The noise on Tuesday 30th May, was at times unbearable. I made a request for an extra pillow for our room at 1.45pm. We returned to the hotel late, no extra pillow. When checking out, I asked to speak to the manager. I raised my concerns, and let her know that I simply did not believe that the rate charged was reflective of my experience. I was told the the price was related to a concert that was in Edinburgh, and there was nothing she would do! Hotels can be difficult to come by in Edinburgh, but, I will definitely, even as a last resort, never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management , Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear beew1, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion together with my assurance that the points you raised are not representative of our normal standards of service. Unfortunately we do not have AC in the hotel yet, we are just on the way to look into how to get installed to make sure everyone can enjoy their stay at us when the sun is shining outside. We are also started to carry on inspection in our lovely rooms to make sure every furniture is in good condition. The construction next door is part of a big development by the University of Edinburgh and the contractors only working in the morning till afternoon on the site. I am gladly read that you are happy with our front desk associates. I would sincerely like to thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention as it is only through learning of the areas where we fall short of meeting expectations of our guests that we can make the necessary improvements. sincerely Residence Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nancy V wrote a review May 2023
Merchtem, Belgium43 contributions56 helpful votes
I stayed here for business and had chosen the hotel because of the proximity to the event location. The hotel is at walking distance from the old town and has many restaurants and shops nearby. I was lucky to be upgraded to a 1 room appartement which was really appreciated. Overall nice accommodation but the lower rating is because I found the bathroom very small and basic, the bed in the room was ok for 1 person, but really too small if you would stay there as a couple. Also, the appartement was not properly cleaned. I found waste from the previous guests in the kitchen waste bin. Kitchen and living room are very nice with an excellent working desk. I was not lucky with my neighbours who had there TV on (loud) each time when I was in my room. It were connecting rooms so either thin walls or not well isolated door.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Koenig, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that our hotel's location and proximity to the event location worked out well for you, and that you appreciated the upgrade to a one-room suite. However, we're sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay that detracted from your experience with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the small and basic bathroom and the size of the bed in the room. We understand that these aspects of your accommodation did not meet your expectations, and we regret any discomfort caused - we will certainly note this for any upcoming refurbishment. Additionally, we apologize for the waste found in the kitchen waste bin. Our housekeeping team should have thoroughly cleaned the apartment before your arrival, and we will be sure to take corrective measures with out Housekeeping department to ensure that this does not happen again. We're also sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from your neighbours' TV. We'll be sure to look into potential steps to improve the sound insulation between our connecting rooms to minimize noise levels. Once again I thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and we assure you that we will do our best to ensure that your next stay with us exceeds your expectations. Kind Regards, Alexander Koenig Nights Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaisyF0717 wrote a review Apr 2023
North Richland Hills, Texas115 contributions88 helpful votes
Clean hotel, wonderful breakfast with lots of choices, friendly staff, and great location. We stayed 3 nights - visiting our son who is attending school there and touring the city. We were very pleased with our stay and had no issues. Loved how it was 'tucked away' out of the hustle and bustle of a main street and yes walking distance to many attractions. Also there is a Sainsbury Grocery store within 500 feet of hotel as well as a few different restaurants. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Emme S wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Just ok. Big room. Bathroom could use a better cleaning. Tiles in bathroom had mildew in the grout. Safety Handle in shower is corroding, needs to be replaced. Couch in room with a chaise, but very old with stains, and badly worn. Great work desk. Beds ok. Oven door couldn't close. TV is an older unit, but worked. Room didn't feel like a Marriott brand room, honestly. Breakfast was included. Good options. Crowded anytime after 9a. Nice seating area. Free wash and dry clothes. This was nice. Dryer takes super long, however! Elevator is very slow to get to the floor. Excellent location. Close to everything. Starbucks right next door, restaurants, and the historic Scotland all 5-7 mins walk away. Customer Service was great. Pooja and Ava were superstars. I would rate this hotel a 6/10. Customer Service 9/10. Breakfast buffet 7.5/10. Rooms 3.5/10. I just could not get over the mildew in the shower, seems claustrophobic the way the shower is situated. The couch really needs to be covered or replaced as it was that bad. Location 9/10.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Managment , Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 17 Apr 2023
Dear Emme, thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your review - it is really helpful to us so we can improve. I am sorry to hear that not everything was to your liking, but I am glad to hear that many aspects were enjoyable for you. I have particularly passed on the positive feedback to our members of staff who will be delighted. We will pass on all other comments to the relevant departments as well - if you wish to provide any further more detailed feedback, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us via "ri.ediri.reception@marriott.com". All of us hope we can regain your trust and would like to serve you again in the future should you return to this beautiful city. Kind Regards, Alexander Koenig Night Supervisor
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SurfingWild wrote a review Mar 2023
Bandung, Indonesia40103 contributions1156 helpful votes
We really loved staying here as the family room was really huge and had a fully equipped kitchen including oven, microwave, dishwater, fridge and so on. There was a Sainsbury supermarket and Starbucks as well as several restaurants just a couple of minutes walk away, and the National Museum of Scotland was only a 5 minute walk away. Breakfast was included and included both hot and cold food and despite us not eating pork we found the food to be good. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. We plan to stay in Edinburgh again later this year and will definitely book the Residence Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Managment , Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Dear SurfingWild, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you took full advantage of our facilities and central location. We're also pleased to hear that you found the variety offered at breakfast was very accommodating and that our hotel associates took good care of you throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie W wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
This hotel is ideally situated 10 minute walk away from the hectic city center. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly. The manager was fantastic, interacting with all the guests at breakfast, nothing was too much bother. He went out of his way to sort out an extra nights stay for us in the same room. He is a credit to your company. The rooms very very spacious and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was plentiful. I can't not recommend this hotel highly enough!! Exceptionally value for money..... look no further if you want a nicely located hotel with friendly staff this is the one to book.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$246 - US$374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn edinburgh hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghSouthside & Holyrood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RESIDENCE INN BY MARRIOTT EDINBURGH (S̶$̶2̶7̶6̶) S$237: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 426 Photos (Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), Escape The Past (0.5 km), and Castle Rock (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doctors, Tupiniquim Brasil crepes, and SEN Vietnamese Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.6 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.8 km).