We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

B+B Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
B+B Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for B+B Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 483: English reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The building was nice but didn't look as impressive as the photos. The room was fine, quite compact but nicely set out. What let this place down was the staff, who seemed a bit disinterested and unprofessional. Each time we came into the hotel I expected a hello from the front desk...nothing! We felt quite ignored. Also, cooked breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephPeech
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This is much more than just your average B&B. Not even sure if it should fall under a B&B category it is that good. We were a large party of 18 and the guys/girls here dealt with us just perfectly. All the staff were, polite, accommodating and just fabulous. From the moment we walked in I completely fell in love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hjj892
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a lovely review, we are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a fantastic stay here in Edinburgh with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, Barbara

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This time, our second visit, we were not upgraded nor offered a pay for upgrade so we were on the top, 4th floor. A smallish room with sloping ceiling over the bed which we did strike with our heads! The comfort, heating, TV, and bathroom (fast fill bath with shower over) are all good. The full cooked breakfast will please...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank f2s
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for leaving us a lovely review on TripAdvisor, it's always nice to see returning guests. We may have been fully booked on the day of your arrival hence why you weren't offered an upgrade, we always upgrade our guests on the day if we have rooms available. Hopefully on your next visit we will have more...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

My sister and I loved this place. It was clean. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious, the rooms were spacious, it had a bar & library. The staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Nancy, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Edinburgh, thank you for leaving a lovely review. Looking forward to welcoming you back to B+B Edinburgh sometime soon. Kind regards, Barbara

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Suffice to say the hotel did better than our home team unfortunately!! Lovely hotel/B & B, still not sure what category it comes under. Room was small, but we expected that when we booked it (don't think there were bigger rooms available when we booked, but we knew what we were getting). Had a great view of the castle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paris1408
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for such a nice review of B+B Edinburgh, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Some of our rooms are smaller than our others, I believe you had one of our Petite Double rooms. Some of these have excellent views of the city, which yours certainly did for the Fireworks that...

Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This hotel is in an ideal location, not far from Princess Street, but in a quiet side road. The listed building is absolutely beautiful, with authentic library in the first floor. Large rooms with Chris may beds. Reasonably priced bar & free tea & coffee (24hrs). Staff were extremely helpful & service was excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us, we are very glad to hear about how you enjoyed your stay. Yes our building is full of original character and charm, with lots of enjoyable facilities. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Barbara

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This boutique hotel offers all the old world charm of the early 20th century alongside contemporary fixtures and fittings. The building is set in an up-market residential area of central Edinburgh.Spread over 5 floors, the original features of the property including open fireplaces in communial areas have been retained, lending great charm and luxury to the overall experience. Our family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotlol
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for leaving a lovely review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear about how you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your admiration for our buildings decor and original character. Looking forward to welcoming you back on a return visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, Barbara

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

WE stayed at the B+B for 2 nights and chose it for its location as well as the photos we saw on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed! We travelled from the airport by tram - it is about a 5/10 minute walk from the stop. The rooms are very impressive - high ceilings and oak panelling. We stayed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay848
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thank you so much for your lovely review and photos of our property, we are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our building has retained many originally features which our guests love to admire on their stays just like you did, and our breakfast chef will be very happy to hear about...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Lovely boutique hotel just 10 mins walk from centre of town. We found the rooms quite roomy and quite away from the bustle but still close enough to everything. Breakfast was adequate abd the bar provided a pleasant spot for nightly drinks. Staff very accommodating and we would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you for a lovely review. Hopefully we will welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future. kind regards, Barbara

Two Harbors, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The rooms were spacious, quiet, and clean, and within walking distance of all the sites in Edinburgh. The complimentary breakfast was a highlight! The location was far enough away from the "normal" tourist traffic hustle and bustle. Stay was actually early Oct 2015.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardhE6139FE
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Many thanks for leaving us an excellent review, I am very glad to see that you had a lovely stay with us. Our location in the west end is perfect for exploring the city yet quiet and away from any hustle and bustle. Kind regards, Barbara

492 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Accessible Room (18)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (12)
Viewed
Family Suite (17)
Viewed
Petite Double Room (10)
Viewed
Petite Room (18)
Viewed
Petite Room with City View (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Attic Room (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (11)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
779 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,482 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,724 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighbourhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Price Range: $108 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
6 months ago
Joplin, Missouri
8 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the back of the hotel have excellent views!”
 of 5 bubbles SandRinCairo, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think the 3rd floor bedrooms are bigger!”
 of 5 bubbles Frederica84, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As it is a quiet location all rooms are excellent .”
 of 5 bubbles ronniem140, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors for better light”
 of 5 bubbles 173matthewm, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in Room 10 on the 3rd floor, views were amazing”
 of 5 bubbles louised418, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay