We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Hostelworld.comUS$39*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Christopher\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This hostel is 60 seconds away from waverley train station and less than 5 mins from the royal mile too! Its in an ideal location and the prices are great - as is the bar downstairs and the staff ;) The reason I wouldn't give it 5/5 is because the showers and the toilets were not always clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJJ111JJJ
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we appreciate all feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our hostel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do have an amazing location in the heart of Edinburgh and our staff always do what they can to make guests feel welcome :) We are sorry to...

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Saint Christopher's inn is not the cheapest hostel but it is a lovely hostel, clean and tidy with a bar there and a selection of food, i will stay here again when I go back to Scotland, and about 10mins walk from the bus station :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albie T
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing you again some time soon! :) Kind regards, St Christopher's Edinburgh

Kent, UK
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This hostel is absolutely perfectly located on the edge of the old town, just a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile on one side and Waverley Station on the other. Super friendly staff and a handy area to store your luggage if you arrive too early to check in. I was in a double room, but was glad I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smithy84
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate the comments as they help us to monitor and improve our hostel :) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us! Unfortunately with the old building we have we are limited to the space in each room however we do our best to try and give guests...

Paris
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Good points: great location, free laundry, nice staff. Nice bar and restaurant where you can have a discount on the menu Bad points: No kitchen, you have to eat at the restaurant of the hotel or outside. It's unfortunate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveloversParis
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated as it helps us to improve our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and the free laundry service we have on offer for our guests, it goes down a treat with backpackers! We unfortunately don't have our own full kitchen facilities however we do have a fridge, kettle...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Great hostel, good customer service and nice breakfast in the morning. Easy to find and right in the heart of the city close to all the local attractions etc. I really enjoyed my stay and I would definitely recommend it and if I am ever back again in Edinburgh and this place is available I will be back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamila D
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! It's so nice to hear when guests have enjoyed themselves and leave us feedback. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Much love, St Christopher's Edinburgh

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

I spent here 2 night, in a shared room. My bed had used sheets, but they say I couldn't change them. We had to share the bathroom with the pub's costumes (so you can only imagine the meaning of going to the toilet by night) and, however, there isn't any shower. Dirty, dirty and dirty again. The position is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annalaura M
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi there sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. Our bed sheets are changed daily for every bed that has been checked out of and our staff will change them for any guests staying that request it. Almost all of our rooms in the hostel have en suite toilets and showers, and there are communal toilets and...

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were great and very helpful, I was in a 18 bed dorm wasn't to bad but not much room for luggage. Hands down best pub crawl I've been on! The guys who ran it were awesome. Really good location very close to the castle Overall a good experience here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenHuddo
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the pub crawl, the guides are fantastic and always promises to be a messy night! Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, St Christopher's Edinburgh

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Paying £10 a night you cannot expect the world. This hostel did for me what I needed it to. Gave me somewhere to leave my suitcase, a bed to sleep in and showers. The bed was comfy enough, although with 4 of us booking our stay together it would have been nice to be bunked together near each other, again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne N
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate all comments to help us monitor and improve the hostel. We do try our best to keep all groups together although sometimes it is not possible when we are very busy. Sorry to hear about the bathroom, our bathrooms are cleaned twice a day however sometimes in the larger rooms the bathrooms...

Reviewed 12 January 2017

Great location and a fun hostel. I stayed in a 12 bed female dorm, which is busy to say the least but it seems to work. The beds are triple bunks but the curtains and charging station make it more private.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
STCHostels, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad to hear you had a great New Years! When we are fully booked at times such as New Years it can seem a bit crazy especially in the bigger rooms, hopefully it didn't cause you too much hassle during your stay. Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again some time! Safe...

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Incredible location, bursting with activities and cosy. A bit of mix up when booking our room and staff could be a wee bit more attentive to its patrons. Otherwise we had a wonderful time at the hostel and would definitely come back again, should we be in Edinburgh anytime soon. Thank you for the lovely stay! x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 203 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 203 in Edinburgh
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#39 of 203 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#19 of 203 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 203 in Edinburgh
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Location Opposite Edinburgh Dungeons and minutes away from Edinburgh Castle. We're across the street from the train station. Fun Atmosphere A great selection of food and drinks in the Belushi's bar, with fantastic party nights, and pub crawls to meet travellers, and locals. Known for Quality Our Edinburgh hostel has a wide selection of room types, a female only dorm, free walking tours and a free continental breakfast. 24 Hour Reception Open 24-hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh

Address: 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $25 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Hotel Edinburgh
St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from St. Christopher's Inn Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never ever choose this hostel.”
  • Do you notice insects there?
  • A bathroom during the check-in
  • 71 GBP per Night
  • After
  • They think it is clean.
tashechka35, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4 bedroom ensuite highly recommended. Ask for room 45/46 which both have a good view over the city. Plus they are quieter with less noise.”
644kieranb, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Level 2 is laundry room, which has wifi. Not sure but if you can get a room closer to laundry or common room, you may be able to get wifi.”
Blue_wayfarer, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“rooms with fewer people are worth the extra cost”
JillKampalaUganda, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The higher up you are, the fewer pub goers you can hear”
lisamQ4668RZ, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$112
Expedia.comUS$111
Orbitz.comUS$111
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates