We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Edinburgh Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,801: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is visibly becoming a bit dated with the deco internally. The leisure facilities were extremely poor - a small room with just cardio machines. There were no weights. The indoor pool was also very small. With one person in it, I decided not to use. Parking is limited - as expected for CC hotel. NCP is not too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maj H
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Out third time here and as before a great time was had. We managed to reserve an executive suite as before and we love the space it gives and the unobstructed view of the castle. The staff were all pleasant, professional and polite. We had a small heating problem with our room and the staff (inc maintenance guy) all rallied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank korova k
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the hotel around noon after arriving from USA. Pleasantly surprised to have no trouble with an early check in. Room was nicely decorated and clean. We had drinks and dinner at the bar. Enjoyed the live music. My son enjoyed the pool. Reasonably priced. In the morning the breakfast buffet was extensive. So many choices and everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaseesnewplaces
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

WOW, thank you so much for your review about your stay with us lisaseennewplaces, we really appreciate it. I am so pleased that we looked after you so well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again, Matt.

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A huge thank you to the management and staff at Novotel Edinburgh Central for helping to make our first trip to Edinburgh so enjoyable. The rooms were clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The food in the restaurant was delicious with a varied menu offered at a good price. Breakfast was superb with a huge choice of freshly prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah o
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Hello Deborah, great review, thank you so much and 5/5 we could not ask for better! The team were delighted when we showed them your review and your lovely comments about them. I am sure we will welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Matt Brett, General Manager.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff very friendly.The room was a twing beds, very comfortable.Toilet and bathroom are separated, the hotel has a swimming pool and sauna area. It also offers a very nice bar on the ground floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
Matt B, Front Office Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre, I am delighted to read your comments about the team. They consistently provide a welcoming experience for our guests. Thanks again, Matt Brett.

Porsgrunn, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located (as the name suggests) in the center of Edinburgh. The hotel as such and the rooms are very much in line with the corporate design of Novotel. Meaning: Tidy and clean, Toilet and bathroom are separated, water kettle and coffee/tea free of charge, movable desk, flat TV (plenty of stations), sufficient power outlets (also with USB...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WolfRavn
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you WolfRavn for taking the time to write you review. I am delighted to read your comments. It's nice to see the useful information which will benefit anyone researching for where to stay on their visit to Edinburgh. I do hope to welcome you on your next visit to Edinburgh. Thanks again. Kind Regards, Matt Brett.

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice enough room with castle visible but for an executive room it was a bit of a let down, quite small and not much better than a travel lodge to be honest. The welcome wasnt great as staff use an ipad type device to check in guests which means they are staring at a screen for a period of time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelbobby
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. As I have just taken over this hotel, this feedback is invaluable to me to ensure we improve in the areas that you have highlighted. Please contact me directly should you be travelling and staying in Edinburgh again on matt.brett@aaccor.com and I will make sure that you are so well...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got upgraded to a suite thankfully after complaining that the pool too high in chlorine and the room was of a poor standard. Hotel in need of an upgrade! Even the suite bathroom was of poor quality. Good location for the castle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berty1989
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. As I have just taken over this hotel, this feedback is invaluable to me to ensure we improve in the areas that you have highlighted. Please contact me directly should you be travelling and staying in Edinburgh again on matt.brett@accor.com and I will make...

Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Hotel near the Grassmarket about 5 minutes the bar is on the site of the TAP 'o' Lauriston [ the former Goth/Punk fav] lovely steak meal and only about 8 minutes from Prince's street the rooms are clean and the hotel has an underground car park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us, I am so pleased to read your feedback and thrilled to hear you mention The Tap. I do hope you had time to have a drink with us and you were here when we had live music in the bar. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Novotel Hotel for a long weekend break. On the good side they have a lovely welcoming entrance and the bar seemed to be buzzing in the evening. The pool area is nice with a jacuzzi, and a small sauna and steam room. The service we received was average, we had to wait for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy T
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am sorry that we let you down in some areas and as you can see from many of the responses on this website, this is not the normal standard of room we deliver. Please be assured that there are plans to address these issues you had. We start upgrading our rooms from...

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,909 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,904 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $103 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Lancaster, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newton, Massachusetts

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Correspond with the front desk, explain areas that they could help you with”
 of 5 bubbles SenorDonGato, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive suites are large with great views, look out for the price drops.”
 of 5 bubbles k0r0vak, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Castle View rooms are beautiful it's is lovely to wake up to this beautiful sight.”
 of 5 bubbles wexfordtraveller, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“car park under hotel, car spaces a bit tight and not many of them (book ahead)”
 of 5 bubbles jomU3716US, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid top suites - noisy aircon plant beside both”
 of 5 bubbles NickUK2007, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay