We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 539: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Staff were friendly and it seems like the hotel was run by all locals. Location is fairly central and about a fivd minute walk to princess street. The. room was nice and clean and serviced daily . we would definitely stay again. As a tip book early for parking which is not far from hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul J
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would definitely stay with us again. On behalf of myself and the team, at the Thistle Hotel, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly reception staff. Dated rooms, small beds and 80 steps to the top floor. Booked as website I booked through said they had parking to them be informed they were full to have to pay an extra £40 to park 1 and half miles away to then have to pay £7 for a taxi to the hotel. No tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Natasha, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am saddened to hear that your stay was not the best in your opinion. I can only apoligise for this. In regards to parking - I have checked again and it does not state anywhere on booking.com that parking is guaranteed with your reservation, and that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with the Thistle hotel! The reception staff were not just welcoming and helpful, but very friendly and chatty which made us feel at home. Our room was warm and comfortable and very clean. The service at breakfast was outstanding and we really enjoyed the delicious cooked breakfast. After we sadly missed breakfast due to not realising...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie M
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our staff welcomed you into the hotel and that you found them to be most helpful and friendly. We take great pride in offering exceptional customer service to all guests and to answer any questions you may have. Nice to hear...

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delighted with our room at The Thistle Hotel. We stayed 2 nights in room 4 which is on the first floor. Lovely room, large window, en suite bathroom and lots of space as this is a quad room. Two double beds (one a bed sofa but not as you know it... very comfortable and large). The staff were so helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolNeill
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you would recommend us to anyone who was visiting the city. Our staff take great pride in offering exceptional customer service and are always happy to assist in whatever way possible. On...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Couldn't fault the staff at this hotel, they went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure. The room was very comfortable, with everything required available. We were able to leave our suitcases for a later pickup. They had good local knowledge. We were just off Princess Street, a 15 minute walk to centre, the trams were available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susangarner19
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be help and that you overall stay with us was most enjoyable. We are lucky to be situated where we are, as we are still very central to the city centre, however away from the noise...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Nice older type hotel with a comfortable feeling about it at a very reasonable price for an Edinburgh hotel. Stayed in Room 24, which was large, had all of the facilities needed including a decent sized television and corner settees to watch it on, and was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek B
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your to be large and comfortable. On behalf of myself and the team here at the Thistle Hotel, I would like to thank you for taking time to review us, and hope to welcome you...

Middlesbrough, Uk
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Very nice room could not fault it and it smelt lovely. Lovely comfy bed we enjoyed our stay very much. We opted for English breakfast and were not disappointed, the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and we would highly recommend. This hotel reminded us of Sherlock with lovely cornices and shutters on the windows, the beautiful tiled hallway is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine G
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the original Georgian features reminded you of Sherlock. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful building. Very pleased to hear that your full cooked breakfast was enjoyable. Our staff always cook this to order...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 December 2016

staff very friendly and helpful but the hotel while it was comfortable it needs to be updated.there is no lift in the hotel so if you have a problem with your legs it might not be the hotel for you,we had a problem with the toilet and told staff but nobody fixed it,also they do not provide any food for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7966KFjohn
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, as we are a Georgian townhouse, we are unable to install a lift with the type of building it is. I do hope that you did not find this to much of a concern with being on the 1st floor during your stay. I can only...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

Location about 10 minute walk from city centre in a quiet area. The hotel itself was tired and shabby although the staff were very warm and welcoming. The room was on the top floor, 76 steps and no elevators. The room was clean but required a complete makeover, starting with a proper working shower. Breakfast was again adequate but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. As we are a Georgian townhouse building, it is very difficult for us to have an elevator, so I do apoligise for this. As we discussed on check in, we could of offered you a lower floor, which you advised was not required. Disappointing to hear that...

Reviewed 6 December 2016

This hotel is a cosy little hotel, with an old school feel but a home away from home. Located close to the tram station 'Princes Street West End' everywhere is accessible. Edinburgh Castle and the shopping of Princes Street are a short walk away. Facilities at the hotel are good with a good continental breakfast and bar for an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha K
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only apologies that you didn't receive the bucks fizz at breakfast time, however I am pleased to hear that Joe was able to make up for this later in the evening. On...

273 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
694 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $108 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gilman, Illinois

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very quiet, great nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles traceyh951, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the hotel is nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethmccrickerd, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our basement window faced onto Manor Place and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainec2017, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We used the manor suite”
 of 5 bubbles S2832FOpaulj, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs no lift”
 of 5 bubbles 370natashah, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay