We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 539: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Spent a couple of days at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel ( not to be confused with the Thistle St. James Hotel) they are not connected. First appearances was that it was an old building served by a central stairway and had NO LIFT AVAILABLE. Our room was clean but somewhat dated and the following defects noted. Bathroom mirror light and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank plasterer11
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear plasterer11, Firstly Thank You for choosing Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your recent visit to the City & for taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. We are not part of the chain and have been established as a hotel for 90 years. I am please to heard that the room was clean, but disappoint to hear you...

North East
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We have stayed here several times over the years. This time it was just overnight pre booked advanced payment stay. I think we were in one of the smallest rooms the bathroom you really could not swing a cat and was definitely ready for a refurb, should have asked for an upgrade but it was only for the night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honey B
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HoneyB, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am pleased to hear that you are a returning guest and we would have upgraded you if we had know I am also please that you did sleep well. I am glad you found...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Another great stay at the Thistle Hotel, Manor Place. It has Free Wifi which is fast and works well. A great hotel bar to relax at night, spacious rooms which they just got new beds throughout the hotel and the full Scottish is delicious. Staff that will go out of their way to help. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fmazza
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fmazza, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am please to hear that you had "Another great stay" with us and enjoyed you evening relaxing in the hotel bar. The Wi-Fi speed has been upgraded and is now completely complimentary. Our staff...

Reviewed 25 May 2015

Reasonably priced for a good sized, well kept room. Staff were great, it is a short walk to the tram, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby. Great atmosphere. Everything one needs for a weekend in Edinburgh. I'd stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aura234
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aura234, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & taking the time to leave us the feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found us "reasonably priced and that the rooms were well kept and of a good size". The location is ideal for the city centre and you have some great...

Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

A well located three star basic hotel let down by poor room servicing, a tatty smelly bedroom and low quality breakfast. For a weary business traveller (or any traveller for that matter) it's annoying to have to ask for things like towels and for coffee cups to be washed on arrival. The breakfast was continental only.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark H
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarkH, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us the feedback. I am please to hear that you found us to be "well located three star basic hotel". I do apologise for the housekeeping issues that you had, this was addressed on my return from annual...

Margate, Florida
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We love the local pubs for snacks and dinner and just a couple blocks away is access to the cities walking path along the river for 31 miles a photographers dream. You will not find nicer and friendlier staff then here. If you have stayed here before Please note they have down graded the breakfast that now alines with the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank orygunborn
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orygunborn, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for you visit to the city, I am please to hear that you found our hotel better that your last visit and that you "will not find nicer and friendlier staff then here" in our hotel. We have upgraded our breakfast room and I am...

Reviewed 11 May 2015

On our short business stay we had a warm welcome, the rooms where different but nice, the Breakfast was excellent and the Bar is mall and friendly. Greg the Director is very helpful to his guests and took his time for all questions we had. If help is needed to organize trips, ask him.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Werner M
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WernerM, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am please that while on your short business trip you received a warm welcome and that you found our rooms to be nice. We pride ourselves in providing a good breakfast...

Sydney
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Extremely Peaceful - was amazed at how quiet this hotel is. Very clean. Good simple breakfast. Staff very friendly but not annoyingly so! Special request accomodated. Location great if you want to be just out of the busy city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison_401
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison_401, Firstly I would like to Thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. I am please you found our hotel to be "Extremely peaceful & very clean," and that our staff were very friendly and accommodating to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Reviewed 30 March 2015

Comfortable small hotel ! Continental breakfast very good! Close to hay market train station lots of stairs if you are on top floor, hotel although comfortable is a little tired looking ! Close to city centre!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqueline H
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JacquelineH, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for you recent City Break & for taking the time to review us. I am please that you found our hotel to be Well located and Comfortable offering a Very good continental breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Regards Neil...

Sutton
Reviewed 30 March 2015

stayed in Edinburgh for 4 nights towards end of march at the Thistle hotel, it was excellent, nothing was to much trouble, very clean inside as was our room, and very handy next door to the St james shopping precinct a, big mention for Jane who was in charge of the breakfast - dinning room WHAT AN ASSET to this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank peter559_hb1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter559_hb1, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing to stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and tidy and that nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future...

273 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,134 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $106 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gilman, Illinois

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very quiet, great nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles traceyh951, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the hotel is nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethmccrickerd, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our basement window faced onto Manor Place and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainec2017, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We used the manor suite”
 of 5 bubbles S2832FOpaulj, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs no lift”
 of 5 bubbles 370natashah, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay