We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

Having lived in Edinburgh for 12 years and returning as a 'visitor' two years later I was really pleased with this hotel. £36 a night for b&b in Edinburgh in a three star hotel right in the centre of town. You can't be disappointed with a clean hotel, friendly staff and a single room with a good double bed! I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nbpdr
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nbpdr, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am please that when you returned to the city and stayed here that you found you room clean and tidy and a good double bed. It is always a pleasure to hear that you found the...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Very nice hotel, Arrived at 11.30 we were able to get straight up to room, room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Ideal spot short walk from train station and 5 minutes from the main streets,

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank magaz2011
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Magaz2011, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am pleased to hear you felt the hotel was in a "ideal spot" & that you found you room "very clean & the bed very comfortable". We look forward to welcoming you back in the future...

Reviewed 25 January 2015

Really friendly and helpful staff . Really nice facilities .Handy bar and dining room in the hotel Close to city centre . Nice rooms and en suite !! A home away from home . Would definitely stay again .

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hollie B
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hollie B, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff are friendly & really helpful. It also good to hear that you found our facilities nice and that you felt it was "a home away from home". We...

Reviewed 8 January 2015

A short walk (approximately 4-5 minutes) from the local tram stop, and I only a few minutes on the tram from the heart of Edinburgh, this hotel is perfectly placed just outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. Room was spacious with a king size bed which was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Chris A
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris A, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am please you found the hotel perfectly placed just outside of the hustle and bustle of the city, and that your room was spacious and clean, comfortable and fresh. I am happy to hear that...

Darwen
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Upon arrival at this hotel I was in awe of the gorgeous setting that it was in, ten minutes walk from Princes St, this hotel is of old beauty. I cannot fault this hotel as we paid £60 for the night, it was warm, the shower worked and the bed was comfy. If you like modern hotels, it's not the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alexandrakirwan
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alexandrakirwan, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am please you enjoyed your stay and were in awe of the gorgeous Georgian townhouse. The room had everything you need and was comfy which is what you and your husband wanted is the thing we...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2014

A very warm welcome on entering the Hotel, staff were really friendly and nothing was a bother. we were going to the Playhouse and they even said to phone down to reception and they would phone us a taxi.The Hotel is in a quiet area but just a ten minute walk and you are in Princess Street,certainly would go back...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mary m
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary M, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am pleased to hear that you receive a warm welcoming upon entering the hotel and our staff were helpful and friendly and booked you a taxi. Regards Neil F. Hotel Manager

Co Durham
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Just far enough away from town centre to be quiet, but a short walk in. All of the staff were extremely accommodating, the room was very spacious and well laid out. The continental breakfast was good, I had the full fry up which kept me going until lunch. T Neil and all of the staff, thank you for a great...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank FirTree2013
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Firtree2013, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and for your recent feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff were extremely accomadating and your room was spacious and well laid out. I am glad you enjoyed the fry up and it kept you going until lunchtime. We look...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2014

The heater in my room was so weak. So we felt cold at night. Furthermore, there is no free wifi. It's not useful. It's located near Heymarket and it's far from the main sight seeing points. Regarding the fee, it's not expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zucker000
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zucker000, Firstly Thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your trip to the beautiful city of Edinburgh and for your recent feedback. I am sorry to hear that the heater in your room was weak and you felt cold, if reception had been aware of this then they could have moved you rooms or supplied a extra...

Riccione, Italy
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Short walk to attractions, traditional hotel with very nice helpful staff. Continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Near to Haymarket airport link stop. We used a triple which was spacious and comfortable .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VanessaYvonne
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VanessaYvonne, Firstly Thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your trip to the beautiful city of Edinburgh and for your recent feedback. I am please to hear that you found our location very good for the short walk to the attractions & that the hotel had very helpful staff. I am glad you found the continental very...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this hotel and it was even better than our first visit, staff very friendly and helpful, the buffet style breakfast was the best i have ever had. rooms very warm and comfortable, will definitley be returning next year.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eileenrobertson
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileenrobertson, Firstly Thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your trip to the beautiful city of Edinburgh and for your recent feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your second stay with us better than your first visit, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We changed our breakfast set up over the summer this year and this...

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
675 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,092 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,235 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $118 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Gilman, Illinois

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't think I can think of any”
 of 5 bubbles 599hazelw, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel allows you to specify rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 84neilj, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 are basement rooms, quite dark, Rm 4 no TV signal. avoid these rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift but our room on the top floor was really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Corrigan59, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay