We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarin Guest House

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarin Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Clarin Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and it was just perfect: - cheaper than hotels in the center - close to the center: any bus from the bridge in the center goes to the hotel (circa 10min), 4 Eur for a day ticket - the hosts are nice and happy to give tips - our room was very cosy, quiet and...

Thank lologreen87
wiltshire uk.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly helpful owners. All top class. No problems. Good security. Good nights Sleep. Free good wifi. Plenty of eating and drinking near. On bus route or a 25 min walk to the centre. Edinburgh is always a delight esp when the weather is good. Thank you Clarin.

Thank oldbackpacker1954
Roma, Italia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hosts are both really kind and available, they treat you as if you were a guest - not a customer. The room is nice and spacious, very bright, clean, and well decorated. The neighbourhood is silent and safe, a very nice area of the city, full of villas and gardens. As downside, the guesthouse is located a bit far...

Thank Luobota
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Really lovely people run this place and on first sight the guest house is great. First impressions are sort of victoriana. We had two rooms, one on the first floor and one on the second. Both looked clean but on inspection the better room of the 2 was on the first floor. It was less cramped and seemed to be...

Thank TootlesLondon
claringuesthouse, Owner at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

Our apologies you had some problems with your room, I do wish you had alerted us to these problems! dirty shower room! we would have cleaned it for you right away if it was dirty and spoken to the chambermaid regarding this, but she usually does thorough cleaning service. You could hear people in the bathroom next door, I do...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful visit to Edinburgh and we stayed in this gorgeous guesthouse. Upon arrival, we were met by Andy, who spent a good bit of time chatting to us about where to visit, eat and how to travel. This was such a lovely touch and we made sure we followed his recommendations!...

Thank AdrianSykes
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Clarin, it was nice to meet you and my pleasure to be able to help with local information, hope to see you again sometime, please try coming direct next time as you will save 15%. Andy

Catania, Italy
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This Guest House is the best choice you can make when staying in Edinburgh and searching for a very clean, comfortable and quiet accommodation. Our room was not so big (we didn't have where to place things on in the bathroom) but comfortable and clean, pleasantly furnished. We slept on the best pillows of our life! All of this in...

Thank IreneGugliotta
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

We are delighted you had a great time here at the Clarin and in the city, there is so much to do in Edinburgh and I believe you's covered a lot of ground on your visit, you will be needing a holiday to get over this holiday ha ha! I hope your journey home was a safe and pleasant one,...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights and cannot recommend enough. Really clean, good facilities. When sat in the room you could have been in the middle of knowwhere it was so quiet. Really warm welcome from Andy and the recommended Abbey Bar up the road was excellent. I would stay again.

Thank Nigel C
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Andy

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Although I had paid for 3 nights in advance, and had done nothing wrong I was thrown out on the second night in the early hours of the morning Although I have demanded my money back I have not received a refund for the two nights

Thank Rob B
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel you had done nothing wrong here! however I must disagree, as advised by Police there was aggressive behavior in the street towards your partner (passers by called the police) your partner had to be brought home at 4am by police to obtain her belongings, I know you had some drinks and were not in the...

Tea Gardens, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is a lovely guest house. We had a charming and well-appointed room up a couple of flights of stairs; quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Kim was extremely helpful - a very lovely lady. She gave us great advice about where to eat, buses to catch etc. We had a very comfortable stay and would not hesitate to recommend Clarin...

Thank TGChrissey
claringuesthouse, Manager at Clarin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kim

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 22 July 2016

It is a very nice hotel. The room is huge and very beautiful, beds are comfortable and the staff is very nice. City center is just a 20 minute walk away. But there was no WC in the room and we had to share it. It wasn't such a bad thing, though, as people were very kind. I totally recommend...

Thank Álvaro B

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (49)
Room/Suite (19)
Dining (6)
View from Room (4)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Dining (1)
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.4 km away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#61 of 389 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
0.0 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#196 of 389 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
0.5 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#89 of 389 in Edinburgh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 389 in Edinburgh
143 reviews
4.0 km away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#126 of 389 in Edinburgh
75 reviews
0.1 km away
Minto Guest House
Minto Guest House
#179 of 389 in Edinburgh
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Clarin Guest House

Address: 4 East Mayfield | Newington, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $94 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Clarin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Clarin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarin Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clarin Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor is fine for less able bodied access”
46Joanne, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room number 3.”
  • Our love nest
Metallifan1993, 16 Feb 2014 | Read review
“We were up the top floor and it was a wonderful room with ensuite.”
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
  • Clarin Guest House
Yogi13_11, 17 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Not all rooms have an en suite but the bathroom was across the hall and it wasn't a problem. There was a sink in the room as well.”
987garethd, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with an ensuite bathroom.”
LynetteMin, 26 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates