We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

53 Frederick Street

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
53 Frederick Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 393: English reviews
Start your review of 53 Frederick Street
 Click to rate
Cheshire
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were three adults (Parents with adult daughter) who could not have had a better accommodation while staying in Edinburgh. David and Katy were excellent hosts who provided good information when we asked and relevant tips to moving about the city. Friendly and personable, they provided terrific customer service. Our room was very nice, well maintained, clean and the beds...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review and for your recent stay with us at No 53 Frederick Street. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you are back in Edinburgh! Kind Regards Katy & David

Galston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B is well situated for the new town. If you are in any way disabled, this place is not for you. Rooms vary from 2nd to 3rd storey, but a comfortable and clean. Breakfast is in a small cafe downstairs and along the street which provides an extensive menu on a help yourself basis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spaghetti1001
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us at No 53 and for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted to hear your enjoyed our city centre location, rooms and breakfast. You are correct, we are located on the second and third floors with no lift so are unsuitable accomodation for anyone who...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited No. 53 for family vacation in April 2017. Friendly email contact for clarify booking details. Very warm and friendly welcome from David, we got a huge room with king size bed and 2 single beds. Bathroom and shower were pretty nice! Breakfast was served downstairs at Rick's, normal scotish breakfast, perfect start for the day. Honestly, we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wakeboarder1969
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We really appreciate all feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope your enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you and we hope you will think of us again if you return to Edinburgh! Kind...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location just a stones throw from Princess Street, all the major Edinburgh attractions are within easy walking distance. Rooms are large with high ceilings, good tea and coffee facilities with unlimited supplies. Very clean, fantastic bathroom, good shower, excellent maid service. Good guide folder with all you need to know for your stay. Our room was street fronted and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
DT_Edin, Manager at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We really appreciate all feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your rooms, our location, breakfast and many other aspects of your stay :) We are located on the second and third floor without a lift, and are unsuitable for anyone who...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and friendly Bed & Breakfast. This is a very good location for sightseeing. Lively location above busy pubs/bars which was noisy over the weekend into early hours of the morning. This effected our stay as we were at the front of the building and had to have the window open due to some usually warm weather.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank klamab
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We really appreciate all feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our city centre location. Unfortunately due to our central location we do sometimes experience some urban noise, we have tried to address this by installing secondary glazing in most of our...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay went really well. the staff are super helpful and they are very warm. the place was recommended by a friend and I would also recommend it to anyone. It is close to everything and easy to find.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 536worldtraveler
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at No.53 recently and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again if you are back in Edinburgh! Kind Regards David & Katy

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend in early March. The positives with the accommodation was the location was excellent, well with in easy walking distance of all main attractions, the hosts were welcoming, the room was clean and decorated nicely, the bed was comfy and we had a good nights sleep. Only downside to the room that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamariscinum
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 March 2017

As usual the room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The host sare extremely helpful and got me around on the bus system. The only thing that was lacking were short breads. I remember short breads on previous visits so was looking forward to them. I guess I just had a little bad luck. :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at No.53 recently and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We replaced our shortbread with chocolates recently, sorry if you were disappointed with the change :( It was lovely to meet you and we hope to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

53 Fredrick Street was fab. Located right in the heart of the city, easy to find and get to. Katy and David were fab hosts greeting us on arrival and always a phone call away if we needed anything. Definitely one of the best places I've stayed in the city, we will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Freyco
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at No.53 recently and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back to No 53 if you return to Edinburgh! Kind Regards...

Modbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Five friends shared two triple rooms ( both of which were en suite) and we had a great time. Clean, friendly and quiet this is a great find. The only drawback is the stairs which are steep and several long flights up, so if you are fit ( like we were,) this is not a problem at all, but unsuitable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary M
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at No.53 recently and for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We are located on the second and third floors with no lift so are unsuitable for guests with mobility issues, however we hope that our city...

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
775 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
414 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 215 in Edinburgh
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
No. 53 Frederick Street, bed and breakfast in Edinburgh is perfectly situated in the very heart of the city centre, providing a magnificent yet unique spacious central home to explore Edinburgh, separated from Edinburgh Castle only by the Gardens! The Edinburgh B&B accommodation is an original Georgian townhouse situated on the second and third floors, that dates from circa 1820, and many of the original features have been carefully retained. This is an elegant and extremely spacious guest house, typified in a welcoming open hall with feature bow wall and staircase to upper floor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 53 Frederick Street

Address: 53 Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: $129 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 53 Frederick Street 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 53 Frederick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
53 Frederick Street Hotel Edinburgh
53 Frederick Street Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 53 Frederick Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
San Jose, California
over a year ago
Adelaide
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from 53 Frederick Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was facing the back of the building, had great big windows and a nice breeze to fill the room when we wished. We had two king beds for three adults and were very comfortable. Good towels and shower. Hair dryer in the room and a convenient multi-plug power strip for charging your phones, razor, etc. ”
genec850, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had the room with separate bathroom/toilet, which we were aware of at completion of booking and was reflected in price and did not cause an issue. This had been the only room left when booking. The only negative was the location of the room, due to noise from the lively street below. On any further stays I would chose a room at the rear of the property. As other people have said there are a fair few stairs but unless you have limited mobility this should not deter you from choosing this Bed & Breakfast. All in all a lovely stay in a fantastic city. ”
klamab, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid no 4A if you want ensuite”
eoghaners, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms may be noisy in summer with windows open? Ours was fine in February.”
Vorix, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 12 had the stinky bathroom/sewage problem.”
Brenda327, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5