We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lauderville Guest House

LateRooms.comUS$97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lauderville Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Lauderville Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights while at a swim meet at the Royal Commonwealth Pool. Very friendly welcome and obliging with car parking. The room was lovely and the bed comfy. Lots of hot water and all the bits and bobs you need. Comprehensive choice of breakfast items and all very tasty. Definitely recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanna H
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

many thanks for your kind review, hope to see you both again at some future swimming event.

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Stayed last weekend with my husband. Very welcoming owners and would recommend the four-poster room. Everything spotless with thoughtful attention to detail. Loved the individual carafe of orange juice on each table at breakfast, the cooked breakfast being delicious. On-site parking is available although there is also parking on-street which is helpful when you stay in Edinburgh. Great location, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillkw
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review, much appreciated by us and the staff who help keep the standard high at Lauderville

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stayed in December as a 21st birthday present, couldn't have been better and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Was visting my sister at university with my boyfriend, it was fairly easy to get to the centre. Breakfast was so good, and the room was amazing! Had one of the best holidays ever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thanks for a fab review, glad you enjoyed your birthday treat!

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

What a lovely  guest house with  friendly and welcoming owners. I  really enjoyed my stay here in the family room.  From contacting the guest house to getting to there, we received a very warm welcome.  Brian, his wife and son were so kind, helpful and very attentive to our  needs! Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety, bed was comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank It79z-20167
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for a great review, much appreciated, hope to see you again in the future!

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I booked this B+B for my daughter and boyfriend for her 21st Birthday. They loved the place. Very comfortable en suite bedroom and absolutely delicious breakfast. The bus stop to get in and out of the city centre is not far. If you are very fit and healthy you can even walk into Princes St. Our youngest is at Edinburgh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jcr225
51brian, Manager at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. It was lovely to meet your daughter and her boyfriend. Look forward to meeting you all again in the future. Kind regards Simon.

London
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the lauderville with my girlfriend for two nights in December for the Xmas markets. Very friendly welcome and service throughout, lovely breakfast cooked to order and lots of little touches which made it a comfortable stay. The hotel is approx a 30min walk to princes st (which improves the value for money) but there are a plethora of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you both again!

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay at Lauderville... absolutely faultless. Perfect in every way, highly recommend this beautiful B&B. Thank you very much Brian, Yvonne and Simon, hope to stay with you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aled31
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us having visited Edinburgh several times in the past. We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and it was fantastic! They were very kind, pleasant and helpful people. The room reminded of an other era. Was very clean and they provided us all the necessary things such us slippers, swing kit, etc. The sound isolation of the room wasn't very good, because we could hear the people who were passing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ioulia P
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

thank you for posting a review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. hope to see you both again

Kansas City, Mo.
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Impressions: Nice house, serving a good breakfast, and it is well managed. No major gripes......minor gripes, a fee for paying by credit card, and a room which is literally 12 feet from the busy road/traffic noise. Avoid this room, and pay by cash, you will be happy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuttman
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post an overall good review. Apologies for the road noise, hope it was quieter at night when you were asleep. We would be glad if guests avoided the credit card fee of £2.50!! Depending on the bill, we usually pay the card company in excess of this charge. Hope to see you again and...

Belgium
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

On arrival the welcome was very friendly, the stay was warm and delightful. Catered for all your needs one could expect and leaving with intent to return just for the hospitality. A fantastic visit to Edinburgh overall and this beautiful family run guest house added tremendously to that. Will see you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeonB4469
51brian, Owner at Lauderville Guest House, responded to this review

many thanks for a splendid review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.3 km away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
743 reviews
0.2 km away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
244 reviews
3.9 km away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
317 reviews
0.5 km away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#31 of 444 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
0.4 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#91 of 444 in Edinburgh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Town House (awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland Tourist Board). Well situated for all Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. All rooms en-suite and stylishly decorated with every amenity. Superb Breakfast Menu. High speed Wi-Fi throughout, hard wired internet in reception, and private (secure) parking, all free to our guests. Totally Non-Smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lauderville Guest House

Address: 52 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $146 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lauderville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lauderville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderville Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Lauderville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lauderville Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Four-poster room is lovely”
Gillkw, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor adn it was very quiet -we backed ontot he garden and parking”
108Bubbles, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of property quiet. Busy road out front.”
lauraa295, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We loved the room with the four poster bed with a view out to the street Plenty of room and a nice bathroom.”
Fruns, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good , but for a little extra the four poster at the front of the house.”
noobey, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$97
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates