We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nira Caledonia

Show Prices
#14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nira Caledonia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,070 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,013: English reviews
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here mid January it was a surprise for him. We had the romantic turn down on arrival which was incredible. Chocolate strawberries, Champagne on ice and rose petals and candles everywhere. Was gorgeous! Super comfy bed! Breakfast served on a silver platter in bed!! Ordered the night before. And the jacuzzi! What a wonderful place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShellBelle87
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best regards, Chris

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous boutique hotel. Wonderful staff, very helpful and polite. Breakfast excellent. 15min walk to all the main sights of Edinburgh. One word of warning, do not leave it to late to book into hotel restaurant, unable to secure a table on our first night, given recommendations for local eateries. Slightly inconvenient as weather was foul and we didn't really want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugarpuffx
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks ever so much for your kind compliments, the team will no doubt be delighted to read your feedback. It sounds like you had a most enjoyable stay with us. Our small intimate restaurant, Blackwood's, does get busy especially at weekends, advance reservations are recommended. However we would certainly wish to welcome you back again and secure you...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night in petit double- room was pleasantly generous, nespresso machine and complimentary champagne were a nice touch. Check in was brief and informal, staff managed to hit just the right note during our brief exchange. Spent the afternoon wandering about Stockbridge sampling tapas, cava and coffee. Breakfast next morning was good, we especially enjoyed the beautifully presented continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It certainly sounds like you had a wonderful time staying with us. Our wonderful upmarket residential location does make an excellent choice to get out and about exploring. Equally great to read that you enjoyed your weekend away with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometime in the very near future. Best regards,...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our third visit to this absolutely lovely Hotel. The decor exudes quality and the rooms are as beautiful as they are comfortable. Everything is tastefully done but without pretension and it doesn't feel stuffy - just wonderful. The staff are as good as we've experienced in the UK - being both professional and friendly, they complement the Hotel perfectly. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyFuds
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The team here at the hotel will be delighted to have your recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, please be sure to get in touch directly. Assuring you of our best attentions. Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From start to finish it was a wonderful stay at the Nira, all staff were very pleasant and informative, nothing was too much trouble for them. Location was excellent and the evening meals and breakfasts were to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian67_13
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your warm sentiment and brief comments. The team here at the hotel will be delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located within walking distance of Princes Street but far enough away to avoid the noise of the city centre. For people who like walking its also close to the waters of Leith a popular river walk in Edinburgh. Our room was described as a petite double and was as described - Petite but well furnished and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank West;Mr.stuart W
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with others. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back some time soon. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Bathgate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a romantic meal and it didn't disappoint. Decor is lovely and the staff just as you would expect. Helpful, extremely smart and not too in your face. Food was amazing. Best mussels I have had in a long time. Chateaubriand booked to perfection. Will definitely be back, hopefully to stay over. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kids720
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks ever so much for your kind comments and feedback. The restaurant and kitchen teams will be delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time dining with us. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the Nira Caledonia online, and were impressed by the pictures. It was far more wonderful in person; we had a gorgeous room with windows out to a lovely garden. The service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and the former Edwardian flats were refurbished to perfection. It was also in a central location. Every person working there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your warm sentiment and comments. The team will be highly delighted to have your recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back - in a heartbeat!! Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful Friday-Sunday stay at the Nira Caledonia in January 2017. They went to a superb effort in looking after us, helping us with forgotten items and looking after our bags until our sleeper train home. Breakfast was brilliant. The room was lovely. Will definitely recommend the Nira Caledonia to friends and family, and hope to return in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank claireelisepearce
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wonderful to receive and read your comments. Great to read that you were well looked after by the team. Your recommendation to others is most appreciated. Let's not hope that you return to our hotel, we would be highly delighted to welcome you back! Please be sure to get in touch directly. Best regards, Chris and the Nira...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were funny, attentive and only there when you needed them, just excellent. The room was luxurious, warm and very well equipt. We were made to feel welcome and relaxed. We were celebrating out 10year wedding anniversary and i would thoroughly recommend and will visit this hotel again for a short break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _flworrall
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, we appreciate your recommendation and endorsements. We look forward to welcoming you back, please be sure to get in touch directly. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

630 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Bellevue (Jacuzzi) Suite (35)
Viewed
Dean Suite (39)
Viewed
Executive (30)
Viewed
Petite (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,742 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,524 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
237 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighbourhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Price Range: $183 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nira Caledonia staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Pune, India
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Nira Caledonia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the front sometimes suffer from car noise and passers by”
 of 5 bubbles Andrew632014, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a suite on the first floor which was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Brian67_13, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay a bit extra for a bigger room”
 of 5 bubbles westmrstuartw, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back veiw to lieth with bath”
 of 5 bubbles _flworrall, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High rooms have views”
 of 5 bubbles JohnWellam, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5