We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nira Caledonia

Show Prices
#14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nira Caledonia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,070 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,013: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were travelling with another couple. We all had suites which were absolutely massive! Our room was in the main building where the restaurant and concierge are. The decor is lovely and each room is individually decorated. What I loved was the decor and size of the rooms as well as most of the staff. On our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sachaerin
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments and sentiment, great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I do note your other comments for attention. We sincerely wish to welcome you back to Nira Caledonia sometime in the not too distant future. Please be sure to contact us directly. Assuring you of our best attention at...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel, breakfast & service are all excellent. I would however expect much more from an executive double than a room in the attic. Access to the room was up several flights of stairs the last being very narrow and winding. Quality of room and bathroom was very disappointing. The room was dusty, poor quality furniture and a very low...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharpy85
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your constructive and subjective comments. The team and I appreciate the many positive aspects you have shared. Unfortunately we only learn of your disappointment after your departure and from your on-line posting. Most certainly we would have appreciated the full opportunity to put anything right that was not as expected. I...

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Went with a Groupon voucher for chautebriand, excellent food and service .. hard to find at first .but once there lovely service , Neil served us well ..the decoration was dark and romantic. . Wine excellent ,choices on menu really good , portions good. well recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your wonderful comments and feedback. The team, especially Neil will be highly pleased to learn that you had a great time with us. We sincerely wish to welcome you back again. Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

london
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The hotel itself is lovely and the staff very helpful. The only downside was that the room was at the top of 68 steps with no lift which for some people may be unmanageable. I think this should be mentioned when booking. Also the bathroom did not have any heating so you had to leave the door open to warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanMLondon
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and comments. Generally it appears that you enjoyed you stay with us. Nira Caledonia is a Category A listed building of significant historical importance, regrettably we are not permitted to install a lift. This information is freely available on our own and partner websites. Should any guest require any additional assistance our team members...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

An overnight stay with dinner, bed and breakfast for our 28th Wedding Anniversay a gift from our children. Lovely entrance to this hotel with an exceptional welcome from the duty manager Shon. Beautiful small Edwardian hotel with lovely, friendly staff. Our room was very spacious, decorated with lots of style, with modern bathroom. The meal in the restaurant was really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynn p
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you most sincerely for your excellent comments and feedback. The team, especially Shon will be delighted to have your personal recognition for their concise levels of personal service. Something with which they all take great pride. Great to read that you appreciated the standard and comfort of your room and the quality of dining which we offer...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a meal. Loved the Amuse Buche. Followed by a duck terrine and then an amazing chateaubriand. It was served with fat fries, onion rings, mushrooms, roast veg and 2 delicious sauces. Totally delicious. Staff provided excellent service. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quingdao
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your great comments, we do appreciate it. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again. Hope to see you soon. Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a relaxing mini break, the overall experience from this hotel was fantastic. The greeting from the staff upon walking up to the hotel door was lovely welcoming and polite! The gentleman who met us helped carry our bags to our room which was right at the top of the stairs, this was a really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob1e12
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. We are highly pleased that you appreciated the standard of cleanliness and comfort in your bedroom and throughout the hotel. Our housekeeping team work very hard and take great pride. Wonderful to read that you felt well looked after during your stay, the team will be delighted that you have recognised their...

ENGLAND
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

One night dinner bed and breakfast staying in a suite with a jacuzzi. The suite was opulent and spacious with a huge comfy bed and a modern bathroom. The decor throughout was tasteful with lots of interesting and stylish touches such as the unusual bedside cabinets that we thought were old safes. The variety of hardback books available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ne28
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely. Great to have your endorsements and high compliments. I will be sure to share with the team, especially Shaun who will no doubt be delighted to have your personal recognition. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometime very soon. Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Chris Lynch...

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms to attend a conference. Booking process was seamless and indeed an early check in was most welcome allowing our small group, including our companies investors to freshen up before setting off. Rooms really delivered on amenities and of course most important of all beds which offered the best possible nights sleep. Breakfast is clearly a focus of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Portavadie1
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words and sentiment. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the standard and level of comfort in your bedrooms. Our wonderful Scottish artisan breakfast has over fifty choices with many suppliers being only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Perhaps you will stay a little...

Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We only stayed one night unfortunately as we were in Edinburgh to watch the rugby but we will be back. The room was a delight, spacious and everything you would expect from a Boutique hotel..and some! The staff were polite and attentive without being intrusive. A real gem and within a 10 minute walk of Princes Street. One of the...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniemT5954GO
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Great to have your feedback and kind comments, the team here at the hotel will be best pleased to have your recognition. Our outstanding leafy residential location is close enough to everything Edinburgh has to offer yet far enough to make us a wonderfully peaceful retreat. Our artisan breakfast regularly receives excellent comment from other guests too, glad...

630 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Bellevue (Jacuzzi) Suite (35)
Viewed
Dean Suite (39)
Viewed
Executive (30)
Viewed
Petite (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,743 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,524 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
237 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighbourhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Price Range: $183 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nira Caledonia staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Pune, India
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Nira Caledonia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the front sometimes suffer from car noise and passers by”
 of 5 bubbles Andrew632014, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a suite on the first floor which was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Brian67_13, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay a bit extra for a bigger room”
 of 5 bubbles westmrstuartw, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back veiw to lieth with bath”
 of 5 bubbles _flworrall, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High rooms have views”
 of 5 bubbles JohnWellam, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5