We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 151 hotels in Edinburgh

Nira Caledonia

1,171 reviews
Save
Traveller (415)
Room & Suite (309)
Dining (47)
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jacuzzi suite”(73 reviews)
“private garden”(22 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Nira Caledonia
Special Price: Book Direct and save 10%
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,171)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
779
222
70
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
779
222
70
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi suiteprivate gardennespresso machineboutique hotellovely hotelstockbridge areano liftlisted buildingturn down serviceon arrivalquiet streettop floorsmall hotelgeorge streetfull scottish breakfastlarger rooma wonderful stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my wife to visit edinburgh, we had the 1st Floor,Room 10 and wow it was very Impressive, I’ve read all the good and bad reviews and some people really do nip pick at faults The Suite was really big...More

1  Thank Steven M
Response from NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira CaledoniaResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest, We are delighted to receive and read your feedback and comments. Naturally we appreciate your support whilst we undertake reinstatement works to our damaged building. The team especially George are very best pleased to have your personal recognition. Thanks ever so much for...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

I booked an executive room for £278 for one night. That consisted of a small room in the loft ( see pictures), 5 floors up with no lift. The view from the window was just of a building on the other side of the street....More

Thank Michael B
Response from NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira CaledoniaResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Michael B, Thanks for your feedback, I can clearly read it was written with some spirit and emotion. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. The room that you mention and supply photographs of is on the 3rd floor,...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Booked this as a very last minute deal. Comfortable and clean with an excellent breakfast. Staff were very helpful. I paid a last minute price and this was good value. Would recommend. Relatively convenient location.

Thank Daniel K
Response from NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira CaledoniaResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks ever so much for your compliments and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again, sometime in the very near future. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Reviewed 13 September 2017

The hotel is a short walk from the Old Town and from the Gold or Royal Mile. It is a quiet and well kept hotel that is not located on a busy roadway. We were given a lower level room with nice wood floors which...More

2  Thank Steve L
Response from NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira CaledoniaResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and feedback, it sounds like you had an enjoyable time with us. As a Category A listed building of historical importance regrettably we are unable to install a lift, this is well noted on our website and those of...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had booked 2 nights in a Petit Double room for our final 2 nights following a group tour of Scotland. We learned that the hotel had experienced a fire from our fellow travellers and contacted the hotel to find out if this affected our...More

Thank LorileaR
Response from NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira CaledoniaResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your support and wonderful feedback. Indeed we suffered a fire incident (caused by contractors) on 28 August. Regrettably half of the hotel including reception and the bar and restaurant are out of action due to water damage. Building No....More

PreviousNext
134567222
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (415)
Room & Suite (309)
Dining (47)
Hotel & Grounds (309)
Bathroom (28)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$137 - US$469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$137 - US$469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Nearby
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling
a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s
small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s
first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s
most desirable, though many bohemian touches have
fallen away as its residents have matured and the area
has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but
mostly residents display refined tastes in basement
...More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite