We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Aynetree Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Aynetree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Good old-fashioned B&B with old but functional furniture. Very nice Scottish breakfast (black pud AND haggis!). Friendly and helpful owner Brian saved us a long queue wait by booking Castle tickets for us. Very easy close convenient bus route so don't need to drive into town. Ideal for us.

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Now I'm not saying the owner isn't nice, Brian is lovely it's just a combination of little things that make me dislike this place. Firstly, we get a shower cap but no soap and no flannels are offered either. I see these as standard offerings. They won't serve you white toast, they only offer brown. The headboard in room 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank WispyFairyWings
Preston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Well positioned on a main bus route into Edinburgh (20 Mins max). Accommodation was fine every hing you need for a short break. breakfast is served for only an hour but plenty of choice. Room was clean and had plenty of bedding. Bathroom was large enough with a good shower.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart68
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, thank you very much for reviewing. I am so glad that you found the place comfortable for your weekend away. We aim to please (but do not always succeed). Hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We booked two rooms. Nice accomodation with beautiful owners help and support. We received information about how to reach the downtown festival. Now, the best in class was the scottish breakfast!! We suggest this place.

Helpful?
Thank silvia b
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We were traveling by motorbike to the Highlands and wanted to stay in a special place in Edinburg. And that was exactly what we found here. Comfortable, clean, quiet and very close to the center. Breakfast is fantastic because a lot of reasons, but mainly because you sense the love and care that the owners put in every detail. So,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albert P
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Albert, thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, we care a lot about looking after our guests. This is not just a business, it is our way of life. Perhaps not for everyone but we love meeting new people. I hope that the weather was not too miserable for the remainder of your holiday. The worst weather... More 

1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Hosts Brian and Anne were friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and great cooked breakfast, tailored to each of our individual tastes. Really appreciated being able to check in 30 mins early so that we could get to all our booked shows. The bus tips from Brian were very helpful. Would recommend for convenience, friendliness and homely atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, Thank you for the great review. You certainly made the most of your short time in Edinburgh with all the shows that you had organized after leaving your car. Our place is great for guests who have a car. Some places advertise "car park" when in fact they have two spaces between as many rooms. You are always... More 

northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Travelling by car from Northern Ireland my wife,I,and two teenage sons decided on the Ayntree for two main reasons : The reasonably priced family room which would contain all of us ( double bed and two bunks) and the parking facility on site. We had a three night stay during July and were made to feel very welcome and special... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosolino8792
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Martin, thank you for the great review. But mostly, thank you so much for the free entertainment in the front garden. It was great listening to Alan and listening to you and Gillian chat about your lives in the music industry. It is such a pity that we did not have a piano and I could have wheeled it... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Anne and Brian are very friendly hosts and we spent a great evening with them under the sky in front of some beers chatting after a long day visiting Edinburgh. Thanks Brian for giving helpful advices on our next transfer from Endinburgh to Inverness through a wonderful scenic route.

Helpful?
Thank Cristiano_Milan
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Cristiano, the pleasure was all ours. You were great company. The beer was good too! More 

Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My Fiance and I stayed here for 1 night while we went to Mussleburgh Racecourse. This is a beautiful guest house, Our room was small, however very comfortable with everything you could ask for and more for 2 people sharing so we were very pleased! The bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well, usually in hotels we wake... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi \Olivia and kevin, thank you for an amazing review! It made us very happy and Brian almost did a highland fling on his crutches. That was a sight to see, I can assure you! Anne. More 

London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We had a really great stay here for two nights, comfortable bed and well equipped and serviced room. The breakfasts were really good with a good variety of cereals, porridge and traditional Scottish breakfast and the best haggis so far. You will need to get a bus into Edinburgh but they stop just down the road and only a fifteen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingthesun2
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for the great review. So glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. They set you up for the day. enjoyingtherain. More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
3.9 km away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#123 of 444 in Edinburgh
103 reviews
1.7 km away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#25 of 206 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
1.0 km away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#109 of 444 in Edinburgh
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Martin's Guest House
Martin's Guest House
#117 of 444 in Edinburgh
239 reviews
4.2 km away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#35 of 444 in Edinburgh
729 reviews
0.2 km away
Milton House
Milton House
#172 of 444 in Edinburgh
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $79 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aynetree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor front facing room with ensuite facilities was excellent and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ellab684, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The room we stayed in had a private bathroom down the hallway with a separate private key entrance. Very clean and quaint with no shower.”
 of 5 bubbles GottaLoveTrips, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Our room had a main bed and a set of bunk beds for our two children.”
 of 5 bubbles Deployedbrian, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't have breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles mollie1312, 16 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose ground floor double.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay