We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
#27 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,442: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here to mark a special occasion, booked by my better half. Was surprised when got there we had superior room. Massive room with loads of space and two large windows. The bed was very comfy and had a great night sleep. Thank god for air con as it was really warm. Found it a little walk from princes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGL280712
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

I'm glad you had such a nice time, and that we could help you celebrate your special occasion. It is one of the front desk team's desires to ensure those celebrating have as wonderful a time as possible, and they will do whatever they are able to ensure this happens. I have passed your comments regarding housekeeping to the team...

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After a long day of traveling we arrived around 9pm to find that our room was given away. The front desk said that the hotel was overbooked, but interestingly enough we had prepaid for the room weeks ahead of time. In their defense, they did call us a cab and set us up a room at another hotel in that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review, and your kind comments regarding your room on your intial visit. I do offer my apologies however that your return visit was complicated by our hotel being overbooked. Thankfully this happens rarely but sadly leaves us with little option but to seek accommodation for our guests elsewhere. It is not a course of action...

Rotorua, NZ
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed one evening in July on our first night in the UK. Pleasant room and friendly staff. Short walk to the central city and Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast was adequate if not spectacular. Coffee standard disappointing. Not much parking space in the area. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Would like to know what the issue was you had with the coffee as our brand has always been very popular. Please e-mail me directly on m.walker@surgeonshall.com as we take all comments seriously and we would be interested to know what you felt was wrong with...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Thought this would be a nice hotel, but was highly dissatisfied when we checked in, this is NOT a luxury hotel, room has dated cheap,furniture, the mattress is OLD, and lumpy. Room is large but not comfortable. I would not recommend this to anyone who,is looking for a 3star or better. The plus side is good location and a friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maia R
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments on our Hotel and our friendly staff. However, with regards your comments on us not being "luxury" - we have never claimed to be so. We are a good 4-star Hotel offering comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We have only been opened since 2006 and it is therefore difficult to accept our furniture is now described...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march when decided to go on a last minute get away. Hotel is not to far from the town about a 15-20 minute walk. Hotel was clean and the hotel staff were friendly. Breakfast was pretty poor though. Had a problem with being charged twice and it took s while to get back which wasn't good at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise m
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Delighed to hear your liked our Hotel. However I note you had issues with our breakfast and charges. If you would like to e-mail me directly at m.walker@surgeonshall.com with further details I will ensure your comments are passed onto the appropriate departments. We do take all complaints seriously and can only do this if we have the full details.

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel and well situated for the Royal Mile, Grassmarket and Edinburgh Waverly station only 10 mins walk. The room was very comfortable and nice decor. We ate out as there are lots of eating places nearby. We will return as this was an overnight on our way to London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roddy S
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon at Ten Hill Place Hotel.

Gdansk, Poland
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hotel is very good located - close to city center and a lot of attractions. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Reception service is very nice and helpful. But it seems that management is wrong e.g. I booked hotel trough booking.com and I got a total price and I guaranted it by credit card, when I wanted to pay by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacekBJ
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. I am sorry if you felt the credit card charge was unjustified. We are charged by our bank for all credit card payments, and this is mentioned on our website and in our guest directory. We would have been very happy to take debit card payment.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our daughter's degree ceremony as all of the other hotels in Edinburgh appeared to have tripled their tariff for graduation week. It's situated brilliantly for the University and the Old Town and contrary to some other reviews the rooms were large and spotlessly clean, and the staff really helpful. We have stayed before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul1859
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have a number of families staying with us during Graduation Days as we are located near all the University buildings. Your kind comments will be passed to our staff.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel, owned by the College of Surgeons is an excellent venue to stay in Edinburgh. It is in a quiet location but within easy walking distance of the Royal Mile and Prince's Street and all the edinburgh attractions. For the gory-minded there is even the museum of the College of Surgeons across the street and it is close by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony M
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We do pride ourselves on our location as we are near all the tourtist attractions as well as Holyrood Park and Aurthur's Seat if you are looking for a quiet walk away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Killinghall
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great location for exploring Edinburgh, friendly staff but for us the most memorable thing was the bed! It was by a mile the best hotel bed we have ever slept in, it was so comfortable and along with the quiet location of the hotel it was the best nights sleep we have ever had away from home. We pushed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya U
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very proud of the breath-taking views from our Skyline Suites and love that you are so enthusiastic about our beds! We hope to welcome you back soon for another great night sleep!

521 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Skyline Room Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
252 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
983 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
No.Ten Restaurant
No.Ten Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as 'conference hotel of the year 2015' Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Price Range: $143 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the basic and the skyline rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Is_This_Ridiculous, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to find rooms with views”
  • Fantastic big bed really comfy
  • nice bathrooms
  • this is view from our room room 217
 of 5 bubbles barrys894, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We booked a classic double but we had a skyline room over looks street and hills. To be honest I was out all day so as long as room clean with everything I need I would say all nice. But you can always email hotel before you leave to see if any requirements can be met they are really helpful on the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles travel6London, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 201 and cannot say enough how made up we were. I don't think I've ever had a better nights sleep, the beds are amazing! ”
 of 5 bubbles SarahUns, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles lemons275, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5