We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Save
Share
Balgeddie House Hotel Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3ET Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$98
TripadvisorUS$98
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Algotels
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (23)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Glenrothes
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
755Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 355
  • 246
  • 89
  • 38
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
thomsonclan6 wrote a review 3 Jun
Inverness, United Kingdom50 contributions26 helpful votes
Pleasant hotel in lovely gardens. Hotel is in old country house now within new town of Glenrothes. Very clean functional rooms - little dated. Good staff. If booking at weekend be aware that hotel is a popular event venue. This means it can be very noisy and for short periods overrun with event guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check whether events are booked in at time of your stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your understanding of the business. We usually try to allocate the guests from the function to the rooms that are overlooking the function rooms, however sometimes this is not possible.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn B wrote a review 1 Jun
Lancaster, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
The Hotel was in a lovely quiet area with gardens leading to woods with deer in. Rooms very spacious and clean. Plenty of food choices at dinner, steaks cooked to perfection. The swimming pool was a bonus. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and on top of all this the weather was sunny and warm.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of on site parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I will make sure this is displayed for all the staff to see that they are appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie P wrote a review May 2023
United Kingdom1715 contributions382 helpful votes
Unusual location towards the end of a modern housing estate, but it has it's own grounds and is quiet. Plenty of parking. They ideally like you to check in online or via QR code but will provide a paper version if not. Our room was up two flights of stairs on the top floor- no lifts. There were velux windows which gave views on to the lawns, trees and plenty of fresh air. The room and hotel were pleasantly furnished with a country house feel. Breakfast was OK, we didn't eat dinner. Wifi and TV good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your informative review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjireland1 wrote a review May 2023
Hawick, United Kingdom124 contributions75 helpful votes
Nice Hotel and grounds. Very spacious room with large comfortable bed. Swimming pool sauna and steam room were great. Bar prices not too bad. Bad points. Need new pillows Stop the doors on the second floor from banging or put up signs to tell guests to close doors quietly Quite a lot of cigarette butts lying around outside front door and outside seating area
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for you lovely review and your feedback. I will look into the issue with the doors. The Cigarette butts are cleared up regularly I am hoping that this was on a morning and we hopefully redressed it later. Your Feedback helps me to fix any issues 🙂
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Desiree T wrote a review May 2023
Weil am Rhein, Germany6 contributions1 helpful vote
Super location Very friendly Special thanks to Angela,Steve and..all🥃🙏🫶 Lovely garden! Good food! Nice rooms! Love the Swimmingpool 🏊 So quite! Everything was perfect! Hopefully we can get together soon! I love the whiskey 🥃 and the Guinness 🫶
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I will ensure the staff receive your great feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eunice C wrote a review May 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed for an overnight and had a lovely time. Had afternoon tea on arrival which was lovely, good selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes. A small bottle of prosecco to follow was quite expensive at £9.50 - swift easy check in which you do on your mobile guided by reception staff. We had an twin bed attic room. Room was spacious, very warm although no heating on but we had 2 velux windows which we kept open. Bathroom clean but could do with an upgrade. Pool area was fantastic, spotless, lovely pool and a great steam room. Changing facilities were excellent. We didnt have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was fine. Some squeaky floors on the way up and down the stairs, but nice hotel, with lovely staff - pool area would have me booking a return visit
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidf2019 wrote a review Apr 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom8 contributions11 helpful votes
Hard to find fault apart from very creaky floors and stairs. Limited dinner menu but something for everyone I would think. Room very warm and we had to open a window. Friendly and helpful staff (special mention to Dylan for his cheery manner and willingness to offer the best service). Good quality breakfast. Didn’t try the spa.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I shall ensure Dylan received your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John C wrote a review Apr 2023
2 contributions
Stayed in deluxe king room heating in room is on full blast and can’t turn it off had to sit with windows open receptions answer was we can bring you a fan Room is full of old furniture that I think they purchased in the 60s it is just a random collection of tired furniture Restaurant is ok but table and chairs very old thought table might fall to bits any minute Overall just poor premier in is much better
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Go to premier inn
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Sorry we did not meet your expectations or ours. we will ask the Plumbers to attend to the seized radiator valve. the hotel furniture in our opinion matches, and is not tired. Thank you for your visit and review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iain A wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
Paid for a deluxe king but the room allocated looked pretty standard at best. Sadly there were a few unwanted stains on the bedding and bathroom mat. Show hose too short for anyone above 6ft. Breakfast was average but evening meal was much better. Avoid room 239, we were told it was small for a deluxe king but couldn’t be moved as hotel was full. Nothing offered to appease the disappointment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyson Solley, General Manager at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Sorry we did not meet your or our our expectations. we will replace the shower hose with a longer one, apologies. the stained bedding, we could have replaced this if you had advised, we will also, mention this to our housekeeping staff. Thank you for your review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulandsonja2 wrote a review Mar 2023
Colchester, United Kingdom376 contributions137 helpful votes
Had one night here. The evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. The bedroom was most comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. The ensuite was good. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balgeddie hotel glenrothes
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeGlenrothes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN BALGEDDIE HOUSE HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 239 Photos (Glenrothes, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cluny Activities (6.1 km), Falkland Palace & Garden (4.8 km), and Elite Falconry (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kettlebridge Inn, Bar & Italian Restaurant, The Madhouse Bakery, and Bridge Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Markinch and Thornton Parish Church (3.9 km), Scotlandwell Wash House and Well (7.4 km), and Balbirnie Stone Circle (2.7 km).
Is Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.