We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Expedia.comUS$426*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$850*
US$426*
US$850*
US$426*
US$850*
US$426*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,484: English reviews
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We went to the Old Course for one night to rest and recuperate from wedding shenanigans, our room, welcome, drinks in the bar were all super but the breakfast .... for a start if you were to be paying £500 for a room ( I know I couldn't believe it) then I would expect my breakfast cooked to order. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fifitrixibelle19
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, but note your points on the breakfast. We have an a la carte menu that guests can choose from that ensures anything ordered is fresh, and straight out of the pan/grill. The reason we offer to prepare fresh eggs is to ensure the guest...

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Currently staying at the old course and having enjoyed our stay there are a few things which iv been a bit surprised at. The room we were given was quite tired and there were lots of ring marks on the dresser which wasn't very nice and at night whatever was above us we could hear somebody walking around in heels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia R
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such an important anniversary. I was very pleased to read that our team looked after you well and that you enjoyed the spa experience. I was however very disappointed that you were not pleased with your room, nor the noise from above. When considering your next stay with...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

This hotel is in a great location, with views from the front over the golf course towards the sea and town. All the staff we came into contact with, and there were many, were unfailingly friendly and helpful, a real credit to the hotel. We found the layout of the hotel confusing, however, with a lack of signage to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brigadoon
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for leaving such positive feedback. Thank you also for the couple of points that we can fine tune to improve the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when up this way next. Best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights from 20th September. First impressions were more than favourable, as we were greeted in the lobby and our cases whisked away to our rooms before making our way to the rather grand and spacious reception area to check in. Whilst checking in we were treated to a glass of chilled prosecco,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dassy1
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving such great feedback further to your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that our team looked after you well and that you enjoyed your meal in the Sands and in breakfast. I hope you can join us again soon, when up north. Best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Pearland, Texas, United States
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

Being my second time in London, I was committed to finally taking the train to St Andrews. First impressions: Course looks bigger on TV. Attendants and pro shop folks were very nice. Getting a tee time on non old course round wasn't that difficult. Ehh: The fellow golfers (read locals) are kinda a-holes. Driving range is impossible to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chimichhenga
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the post, but unfortunately the Old Course and range has nothing to do with us. Next time, please pop in for a drink, meal or to stay over. Best wishes from the home of golf, David Scott Director of Operations

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We have just returned from a fabulous one night stay at the Old Course Hotel where we celebrated our first wedding anniversary. We were greeted with fizz on arrival and thereafter upgraded to a suite with amazing views of the Old Course and the North Sea. The suite was absolutely gorgeous. We enjoyed a leisurely afternoon using the facilities on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I was delighted to read that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back when down this way again. Best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We have gone to many afternoon high teas at various Fairmont resorts in Canada which have always made for a different and special afternoon. We were very disappointed at the Old Course Hotel. The setting was beautiful. We booked online to ensure we had a table...must be off season as we were the only ones there. The tea arrived in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mabes1975
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback. I was sorry that you we didn't deliver a seamless experience for you. I have spoken with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager about your feedback and they have asked me to also thank you for your comments. I hope that when visiting StAndrews again, we will have the pleasure...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday and it was as we expected! Pros: -Elegant hotel with a non pretentious vibe -Kohler Spa offered plenty of great services (had the deep tissue massage) -Bar/restaurants in the 4th floor offered a great view of the 17th/18th hole -breakfast buffet or a la carte menu included in the stay -excellent service the moment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V-Y2K
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your stay with us. It was great to read that you had such a good stay with us and that you left with many positive memories. I hope you will have the opportunity to return to the Home of Golf again soon, as we would love to...

Lake Forest
Reviewed 17 September 2015

From the moment I walked thru the doors of this beautiful hotel, I was showered with attention....from the kilted doorman, to the bell desk, to the check-in staff. We had a wonderfully, spacious suite with an awesome view overlooking the 18th hole and the sea beyond. Our room was spotless and had every amenity. After a long flight, all I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerriK55
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on your stay with us. I was delighted to read that many aspects of your stay with us were so positive. The beds are fabulous and I'm glad you enjoyed yours so much. We look forward to having you stay with us again, when you're next in StAndrews. Best...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Gorgeous view over the golf course. We were upgraded to a suite - gorgeous bathrooms, spacious, nice bed, turn down service, nice breakkie, lovely atmosphere, spectacular hotel, really special experience, easy walk into centre too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky9b
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you had a great time, and that you enjoyed the hotel and that our team looked after you well. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back, next time...

488 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (445)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.7 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
3,012 reviews
2.1 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,105 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,243 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
658 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jigger Inn
The Jigger Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $432 - $1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has to be Old course view”
FoxtrotUk, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“If possible any of the rooms that face the Old course.”
AlanE213, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Take the rooms on the first floor. The view is at breakfast time”
andre_verbeemen, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“We personally love the view over the Old Course where you can see the players struggling with the famous road hole.”
Rick23081947, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the golf course are the best”
sarahZ8844SF, 4 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$426* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$426
TravelocityUS$426
AMOMAUS$850
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates