We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont St Andrews

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont St Andrews
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,936 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,838: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

From the moment we arrived to the end of our stay everything was fabulous the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is very impressive with amazing views over St Andrews. Food is excellent the only slight negative is the wait at breakfast for the egg station which was very busy

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebtravel52
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I have passed on your very kind comments to the Executive team to share with their departments and I am delighted that you had such a lovely time. I note your comments regarding the egg station and apologise for the wait that you had,...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This is a lovely hotel and the food we had in the Clubhouse was, without doubt, one of the best meals we have ever had. The room was well equipped and clean and the bars/restaurants lovely. However, the one problem we had was the hotel's policy of allowing dogs. We were unaware of this before checking in. As someone who...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline B
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Christmas. I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable time, however I note your comments concerning the dogs at the hotel. We do allow dogs at the hotel and ask the dog owners clean up after their pets and act responsibly, I am very...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We stayed at Faimont for a few days early new year. We have been fortunate enough to enjoy this hotel on numerous occasions. It is spacious and even when busy it often enjoys a relaxing environment because of its size. Rooms very good, facilities excellent. Swimming, sauna, gymnasium etc all first class. Pool can be busy during 'splash time' but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larkin1926
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you all had such a lovely stay and thank you for your very kind feedback. It is fantastic to read comments from such a regular guest and I am very grateful that you took the time to post. I have passed on your lovely feedback to the Executive team and thank you again for your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

I have been to this hotel a couple of times before and it never fails to disappoint. This time we went for a wee rare escape with the kids safely at my sister-in-laws for the night. Although extremely busy, particularly with families we thoroughly enjoyed the experience with the highlight for me being the spa as I had a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R M
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

I am delighted that you had such a lovely couples break and managed to have time to make use of the facilities. I have passed on your lovely comments to the Executive team to share with their departments and thank you for taking the time to post. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Scotland
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Stayed for a two night break after Hogmanay. As usual we had a great time and can recommend this hotel. Rooms are large with a huge comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet is excellent with plenty of choice and well presented. We took advantage of the free shuttle bus to have a walk around St Andrews - it leaves the hotel on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lainey50
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and I am very grateful for your very kind comments. I have passed on your very kind comments to the Executive team to share with their departments and thank you for taking the time to post. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Shotts
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable spacious rooms. Staff always friendly and helpful. Several eating places to choose from and the foold was to a high standard. Lovely scenery all around, with added bonus of two golf courses.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandran420
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and have passed on your lovely comments to the Executive team to share with their teams. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We enjoyed our trip here and I'm sure if you were there for the golf, then the location would be great. However, having to get a taxi into town each time did feel a little negative. The hotel is lovely inside and for a change, quite tastefully decorated. The rooms were of a good size, however on our stay the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SimonHunter
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am terribly sorry for the issues that you experienced which was a heating issue that we had to wait for external engineers to fix, which they did as quickly as possible. Again, my apologies for the issues that you encountered.

Porthleven
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is NOT a five-star hotel. 1. The hotel itself is grubby, shabby and unwelcoming. The starkly-lit mezzanine level makes for a very uncomfortable seating area. As we had our dog with us on our stay, we were forced to sit in this area for every drink/meal. Considering a large percentage of guests appeared to have their dogs with them...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JulieDixon12
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We (5 adults) stayed for 4 nights over New Year, and this is definitely not 5 star. It is a large, sterile and very tired looking business hotel, cleanliness is very poor in the rooms and public areas. (There were some bits of discarded food on the main bedroom corridor carpet for our entire stay). Service is extremely slow, probably...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nick W
Consett
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This was our first time at this hotel and our first time bringing our two dogs with us too. The hotel was tastefully decorated and very festive with all the trimmings that Christmas brings. When I booked this hotel I was asked if I would like early check in and this was arranged for me which was a nice touch....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen S
JohnKeating_Fairmont, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review

What wonderful feedback thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely comprehensive review we are delighted that you all had such a lovely time and I hope the dogs enjoyed their toys - although I am sure the squeak may have disappeared by now! I have passed on your lovely feedback to the Executive team...

636 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (610)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (301)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,221 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
425 reviews
6.9 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
261 reviews
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
652 reviews
15.3 km away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $276 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont St Andrews staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Scotland
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gourock, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont St Andrews staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any rooms is ok”
  • A view from the Hotel
 of 5 bubbles 282fabrizio, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Views are great pretty much all over”
 of 5 bubbles markboyde41, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Does hace rooms witj sea views but these will be dearer”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldW1514QH, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you get one overlooking the golf course but all rooms are lovley”
 of 5 bubbles Ellie152, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“worth paying a little more for a junor suite”
 of 5 bubbles StephenPayne2015, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5