We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Central Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,431: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Central Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Absolutely shocking 2 days ... Riotous corridor noisy until 4 in the morning .. constant door slamming as doors are all needing new closers .... phoned to complain 5 times with no answer same amount of times with room service no answer or call back !!!!! And the cheek to charge 175 a night whaaaaaaaaaaaa ..... disgusting place ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hooksteryo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I needed a quick room before an early train and found a good deal online. The rooms (even the standard double I was in) are a great size and nicely furnished. Overlooking the platform was unique - although the loud announcements until 11pm might annoy some. Breakfast was brilliant - good Scottish fayre and reasonably priced. My main issue was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinoReynaldo
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinoReynaldo, I am disappointed we did not meet with your expections. Your concerns will be shared with our housekeeping team. I hope you will return to see our improvements. Kind regards, Graeme

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for a few nights in Feb with my partner. Stayed on the 4th floor so avoided any noise from train station/bar. Rooms were lovely and spacious and very clean. Old fashioned beautiful hotel, was amazed by how big it was. Visited the champagne bar, food/drinks were priced adequately for what it was. Staff were lovely and welcoming. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire E
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sapphire E, Thank you for a perfect review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Graeme

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here as we were attending the whisky old & rare show, we were welcomed at reception with a friendly greeting! Our room was big and spacious there was the odd thing that wasn't perfect but then where is? But on the whole the room was lovely it is noisy outside at night but I think when you book a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lib1972
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lib1972, Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed you time at the hotel for the whisky show. Kind regards, Graeme

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my partner booked a room for a weekend away. On arrival we were greeted by staff who were lovely. We then went to our room and it certainly wasn't what we were expecting. Small . We looked right onto the train station. I didn't mind but my partner couldn't sleep due to the noise and tannoy during the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria G
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria G, Thank you for your constructive feedback. Your comments will be reviewed by our senior team. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Graeme

Calne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting Glasgow for a whisky show. Lots of lovely period features in an historical hotel in the middle of the city. We had a junior suite on the 5th floor. This was very comfortable but overpriced at nearly £200 per night NOT including breakfast! Also for the money we would have expected better facilities in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogash
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rogash, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the whiskey show. Kind regards, Graeme

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here in a single room for one night whilst attending a conference. On arrival it is a nightmare to unload kit as Glasgow has a one way system that does not help. Ended up risking a ticket by using a taxi rank to drop off kit before parking in an NCP car park about half a mile away. Check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shyneebod
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shyneebod, Thank you for the feedback and review. I am sorry to read that we have fallen short on this occasion. Hopefully we can welcome you again and meet your expectations. Kind regards, Graeme

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fabulous staff, check in receptionist was lovely and so helpful. The room was compact, I'm not sure that two people would find it very easy to move around the room but I was on my own so fine for me. Wonderful crisp fresh linen and towels of a decent size and everything you would need for an overnight stay. we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moutrie
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moutrie, Thank you for the review. I am happy to read that most aspects of your stay were pleasing. I hope that we can welcome you again and meet all your expectations on a future stay. Kind regards, Graeme

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The name says it all . The hotel is in a superb central location and has the grandeur of a bygone age but with all mod cons. We had a beautiful room that had clearly been very recently decorated. The whole place has a lovely atmosphere and staff were all extremely helpful. Excellent breakfasts. The corridors were a little draughty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serwms
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear serwms, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted you have a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Graeme

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Old fashioned, noisy, just dreadful. Was given a rubbish room beside the train station where it felt like the tanoy system was in my room. Asked to move, was told hotel was full....unlikely on a Wednesday night when it really doesn't look or feel full. I will not be returning, and would advise people against it.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ali M
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ali M, I am very sorry to read your feedback from recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. I can assure you that we value all feedback and will certainly take on board the comments from your review. Kind regards, Graeme

936 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (738)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (162)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (349)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (20)
Viewed
Junior Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Robert Rowan Anderson Suite (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Suite (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
2,162 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 96 in Glasgow
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
2,976 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
2,492 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Tempus Bar & Restaurant at Grand Central Hotel
Tempus Bar & Restaurant at Grand Central Hotel
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Central European
Champagne Central
Champagne Central
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Price Range: $132 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
manchester

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 5th floor which was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Moutrie, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“didnt stay”
 of 5 bubbles biff23, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiter floor/room”
 of 5 bubbles 482hannaw, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Speak to staff they are so helpful our room was second floor so quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles footdee, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“chose room away from the station as you can hear the tannoy announcements”
 of 5 bubbles LachieMhor, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5