We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,095 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,003: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Easy to find and easy to park in the below hotel car park. Check in quick and efficient. Thanks Kirsten. Room selected was Premier Executive with lots of room. Poor view and thin double glazing (Shop alarm woke us around 2-30am) Restaurant quick service (Only had breakfast) This hotel is about to change hands and the new owners need to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marriott946
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, and your very kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and car park, and a quick and efficient check in by Kirsten. Our rooms are fitted with heavy duty curtains, and when closed there should be minimum noise, so sorry to read of your disturbance. Yours sincerely, Ewing Stewart, General...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We have stayed in Glasgow on a number of occasions but this is the best hotel we have stayed at by far, The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful, the room we had was large and very well furnished to a high standard, the bed was very comfortable although the pillows were very firm, perhaps we should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingswoodkid
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Just the kind of review, we love to receive. We are delighted and thank you for your very kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow and our hotel, in the near future. Yours sincerely, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed here on a recent tour of Scotland with Globus. Overall I'd rate the restaurant 4 stars & the rooms 3 stars, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt based on the very helpful & friendly staff & rate it 4 stars overall. Pluses: * great breakfast in the dining room. Nice buffet with good food they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpalexander
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, following your visit to Scotland, and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, and your breakfast and dining experience. I shall indeed look into your comments regarding the bedroom allocated to you, and I shall of course investigate your comments regarding the stain in the carpet...

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights as a family of four in July as part of a weeks stay in Scotland. The hotel is just ok, average standard of service, and badly in need of a major refurb as its so dated. The pool area is particularly poorly kept, dirty at all hours of the day ,mouldy, with most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do indeed care about providing a decent service, and we are sorry that our Guest Relations Manager was not aware of your dissatisfaction during your stay. We are sorry to read your comments, and we do have an ongoing refurbishment plan in place. We shall also discuss your disappointing comments regarding the Leisure Club with the Manager,...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

This was our "splurge" hotel for a one-week stay in Scotland. The first several days included a lot of driving and we wanted to give the kids a "pool day". The room was big (we've mostly stayed in Premier Inns thus far) and rather luxurious. The pool was really good - very bright with lots of windows. The hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lia C
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, and we do hope you enjoyed your week's stay in Bonnie Scotland. We are delighted you appear to have enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and your comments are much appreciated. We do hope to welcoming you and your family back to Scotland, and our hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart,...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 17 July 2015

So neglected on the outside. Weeds on both sides of entrance, paving covered in moss and algae. It is clean, beds are comfortable, high standard of hygiene in bedrooms and bathroom but everything else is dated and shabby. The upstairs corridors are the only attractive feature. The staff are most courteous and pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doubtyagirl
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read of your disappointment with the outside of our hotel. We do regularly weed and maintain the perimeter of the hotel, however, due to the amount of rainfall, the weeds seem to be growing fast and furious. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our courteous and pleasant staff, and I am pleased you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2015

I grabbed a night in this place because they had a great promotion going on. The rooms were big, the beds were comfortable, and the location is convenient. However, that is where the good stuff ends. When we arrived we found the place very dated (in great need of a refurbishment). It was like being in the 60s-70s. The free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased you enjoyed your room, and a comfortable night's sleep and as you say we do enjoy a great city centre location. I am sorry you did not enjoy the decor. We do have a refurbishment plan in place, and have recently upgraded our Cafe and Cabin Bar. I am sorry you experienced problems with wi...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We stayed here as a couple and had no complaints overall. The hotel was clean, the room spacious and the staff were helpful with any queries. There's a car park underneath the hotel with plenty of spaces and the hotel offer a 'guest rate' for all day/night parking here which was ideal. We had a walk to a pub for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed our hotel. Guests can purchase breakfast vouchers on arrival at a preferential rate of£10.00 and as you will see from our review, we receive lots of great feedback. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.

Cumbria UK
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on Monday night £101 for two including breakfast hotel well presented adequate number of staff on reception who were pleasant and helpful. On the ground floor in the lobby there is a good bar, a coffee shop Starbucks and a restaurant were we had breakfast. The bedroom was well appointed and well cared for, not big not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metalworker
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your review, following your visit to our hotel on Monday evening. We really appreciate your very positive comments, and are delighted that you will return to visit us and of course recommend us, many thanks! Yours sincerely, Ewing Stewart, General Manager

London
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Good location and nice lobby but rooms very dated. Biggest niggle for a business stay is that breakfast starts at 7am - too late for my working day. I went to the restaurant 20 mins early and the door was locked, some food laid out but staff continued to ignore me and kept the door shut until 7. Next the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinTravels
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Glad you enjoyed our great location and appreciate your comments regarding our lobby. We do have an ongoing improvement plan in place, and it would appear that perhaps you have been allocated one of our older style rooms. We do believe all our rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and represent good value for the rates we offer....

499 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Executive Double (30)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double (24)
Viewed
Standard Double w. King Size Bed (28)
Viewed
Suite (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#49 of 95 in Glasgow
1,825 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
2,928 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
2,761 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Price Range: $122 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JurysInn, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The service in lobby bar can be improved.”
 of 5 bubbles nedelchod, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check which side of the hotel the room is on, as some have no view nor even good daytime light.”
 of 5 bubbles 988marionc, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This hotel was included in the package tour so it is hard to assess its cost value. But we liked it for its location.”
 of 5 bubbles Z5010ICbruceb, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 401 faces a brick wall.”
 of 5 bubbles CEETO, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very quite in the room we stayed in”
 of 5 bubbles twright102, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay