We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 653: English reviews
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked on Booking.com , hotel looked good and had reassuring reviews . Arrived at 930pm to check in , girl took 10 mins to get to the desk , hotel looked worn , room was no better . Cold , noisy , smelled of smoke ( I'm guessing that people can smoke in it as the place stank of cigarettes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GPACunningham
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GPACunningham, Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate to learn that you've had such a negative impression of us without actually staying at the hotel. I apologize that the receptionist was not able to greet you upon arrival as she quickly went to assist a guest with heavy luggage. I must however stress that our hotel does not and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on the 3rd of February with my friend in a large twin room! Room was very good with 2 single beds and a double bed. Bathroom was very narrow but clean and modern. We missed breakfast which is served until 9:30 am by 10 mins and there was no offer to accommodate us which was slightly disappointing. Good location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chefritchie
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chefritchie, Thank you for your review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to accommodate all requests where possible, however the restaurant is open from 7am, and as a small family-fun hotel we need to be punctual in order to serve you and all our guests better. We hope that you understand and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for 1 night as a place to stay for a weekend break in Glasgow. Room was very clean and tidy. Staff helpful and polite. Hotel itself is a bit outdated but at this cost I was expecting much less.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mike Z for taking the time to review and award us with your top score! I'm delighted that you had a great stay with us. We're constantly updating our facilities, so the next time you're in Glasgow, you may be pleasantly surprised by the many changes we are making. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards,...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel through Agonda.com for 1 night. Managed to get one of the car park spaces at the back of the hotel. Very dingy alleyway to drive down to get parked. Was given a room on the top floor. When we entered it was very warm as an electric heater was plugged in and on full. Our twin room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roger2712
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review Dear Roger2712, Thank you for providing us with feedback. I'm sorry that you are disappointed with your room. I should first mention that the alleyway that leads to our parking lot is maintained by Glasgow City Council that and is out of control however we have lodged requests to them...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Last Saturday night on the 21st January we had a ceilidh for my sons 21st in the Sunderland suite. It was absolutely amazing.. the staff couldn't have been more helpful , especially Natalie who helped plan and coordinate the whole event. Nothing was too much trouble , she helped with family members dietary issues ( my brother being a coeliac...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril K
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avril K, On behalf of our team, I'd like to thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your son's birthday. I'm thrilled you had an excellent time, and our hard-working team was able to organize a memorable event and stay for your son and his guests. I will certainly pass along your praises, especially to Natalie. We appreciate...

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really loved this place..Lovely Tartan themed rooms, really let you feel you were in Scotland.I had left our tickets at home and with no trouble at all the lovely receptionist downloaded them for me.She was so helpful and smiley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninabayer2016
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ninabayer2016, Thank you for awarding us your top score! We're thrilled you enjoyed the traditional décor of our hotel, as well as our staff's hospitality. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation. Warm Regards, Bobby Bashir Argyll Hotel

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Argyll Hotel twice while visiting Scotland in September 2016 (beginning and end of our time there). The rooms are wonderful and each was very different. The staff are friendly and so helpful. On Friday night, you can go to the pub downstairs and enjoy Gaelic story telling and song--not to be missed! In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review Dear Rhonda D, Thank you for awarding us your top score! We're delighted that you had a fulfilling stay with us, and in particular our Gaelic night. We look forward to hosting you again. Perhaps on the next occasion, you'll consider joining us for a lively Ceilidh. Warm Regards,

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a triple room booked, arriving on Christmas Eve. The room was spacious and clean, with a wonderfully up to date bath. The front desk staff was so helpful and friendly. I would definitely visit again! Perfect for our location needs as we were visiting my daughter at University of Glasgow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GP55105
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, GP55105. We're glad to learn that your room was to your liking, and that our staff made you feel welcome. Our doors are always open when you would like to visit your daughter again. Best Regards, Bobby Bashir.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through booking. com, we thought we would be in the hotel but ended up in the guest house. The room was at the back of the hotel, the person upstairs must have had a washing machine on the noise was very disturbing. The main hotel may be nice but the guest house leaves alot to be desired. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susanjanelaing
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear susanjanelaing, Thank you for feedback. I'm disappointed to learn of your negative opinion of our Guest House, especially on your birthday. My sincere apologies if we have not met your preferences. The reason for your relocation was because we had to urgently change the heating system in our hotel. Nevertheless, I should add that Argyll Guest House rooms have...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my other half spent a night for our 1 year anniversary. I left a note while booking that it was our anniversary and when we arrived the person at the front desk made comment on it and made us feel very welcome. The room was amazing. Beautifully decorated and the bed was super comfy. At night we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jen C, Thank you for awarding us your top score! It was such a pleasure hosting you and other half. Thanks for choosing our Hotel to ring in this special occasion and we're thrilled that you enjoyed this experience from start to finish. We sincerely thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again soon. Best Regards,...

334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
182 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
957 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
292 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#66 of 96 in Glasgow
551 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sutherlands
Sutherlands
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: $83 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Egremont, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best service, lovely design, scottish”
 of 5 bubbles 550marcod, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front room...not at all noisy as we thought it maybe...”
 of 5 bubbles ninabayer2016, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“103 is ground floor with a view of the bins, but as we spent little time here during daylight hours that wasn't a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles ILoveMuseums, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 2 was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles chloes644, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4th floor rooms have Velux windows.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineD74, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5