We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kelvingrove Hotel

PricelineUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$65*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Kelvingrove Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 538: English reviews
Start your review of Kelvingrove Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on thur with my friend for take that, check in was fast and no issues, Ian (manager) was great, friendly and helpful, lots of banter but professional, room was fine, plumbing is very noisy though, not great in middle of night when flushing loo! Breakfast was fab, fresh, tasty and good choice, thanks Paula and Julie x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review on your stay with us, we are pleased you enjoyed the many aspects of your stay and your kind comments will be passed onto the staff, hope you enjoyed the concert and we hope to welcome you again in the near future

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night whilst attending the hydro. Great location and very helpful receptionist Iain 15 mins walk to the venue plenty of bars and restaurants All round a good stay for a weekend break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul k
robertmcq, General Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments will be passed onto our staff, we hope to see you again if you are ever back in Glasgow for a weekend.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this was my second stay at kelvingrove myself and my partner stayed in march for darts at hydro enjoyed it so much that i went back .unfortunately because my daughter was ill in hospital but the staff made me and my son very welcome and so helpful when we needed to extend our stay The rooms were clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, these will be passed on to the staff and we hope that your daughter is on the way to recovery. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I stayed for three nights at the Kelvingrove Hotel and will definitely be back. The location, within walking distance of Kelvingrove Park, Art Gallery and Museum plus the city centre is hard to beat. My room rate included breakfast: tea, coffee, juice, cereals plus a freshly cooked hot breakfast, which was super. While there, nothing was too much trouble for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SARigby
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and I am glad we looked after you and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very poor customer service we were told to stop talking during the night in our own room or we would be threw out and that was our first and final warning a bit harsh seeing as we were in our own room with no music tv or other forms of noise whatever happened to freespeech certainly wont be returning

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe M
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

The reason you were asked to stop talking was because we had numerous complaints from other guests after being disturbed by the noise you made during your stay. This is the reason that we do not normally accept groups attending football matches, although your booking obviously slipped through our net. We find these groups disruptive to our usual guests as...

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Comfortable and clean double room with en suite bathroom. Shower was a bit rubbish and lukewarm but it did the job. Only a short walk into town and parking outside the hotel was reasonable. Reception staff were friendly. Good place to stay if you don't want to spend loads on a comfortable room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mich_edmonds
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if you visit Glasgow again

Reviewed 24 February 2017

I just wanted a place to lay my head for one night, and I knew I would be sharing a bathroom and toilet so I have no issue with that. If you are claustrophobic,don't book a single room, the saying 'no room to swing a cat' could have been invented for this room, it was literally less than 6 feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

As you quite correctly said 'you get what you pay for'. This is the only standard room in the hotel with the bathroom 8ft away, all our other rooms have en suite facilities. This room is only used for those who want to book on a budget as we only charge half the normal price for this single room. As...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location right next to kelvingrove museum and park . It is let down by standard room with quite a dated en suite. The staff were very polite and accommodating , it was cosy and warm in a cold winters day however my room with views of the bins and noise from students was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacylee78
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here, we are glad you enjoyed the many good things about the hotel and area. we are currently in the process of upgrading many bathrooms within the hotel as I'm sure you would have saw first hand when you checked in, as for the noise from the flats - we...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Glasgow to see a show at the Hydro. Our daughter had booked it for us and it was easy to find and in a good location. On checking in Ian on the desk was great telling us what was round and about and marking things on a map for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAN B
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was round the corner from my son's flat and he'd stayed there in the summer. However, he had the room which is shown on the website - reasonably spacious and not bad. I got a tiny, dirty room and had to ask the manager to clean the wash basin which was covered in black dirt. She was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

I will address the points made individually. I apologise for the marks on the wash basin which were dealt with immediately as stated. The room you were allocated is a standard double room with a king size bed at the rear of the building and we believe that £60 is a reasonable price for a city centre three star hotel....

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
198 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
754 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
896 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
246 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $87 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on lower floor nice and quiet”
R4413JWjoanm, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose a single room if you don't like tight spaces”
michaelmX2039CS, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were downstairs at the back and heard nothing at all”
saintmorag, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the breakfast, great for a packed day ahead”
Anjienkenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter. Some ground floor rooms I think if a few stairs are an issue.”
spencer139, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$65* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$65
Expedia.comUS$65
TripAdvisorUS$65
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates