We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Place looks like its been well maintained even though its a tad old. beds were decent rooms were clean receptionist was nice and accomodating with our check out. wifi was at a decent speed. shower worked great. only complaint was the mini fridge a some mold on the seals. this place definitely has a older city feel but without being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFC1983
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, the hotel is due for a complete refurbishment early in the New Year

Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed at the ambassador for 3 nights. We had originally booked in at the Heritage, but having read the reviews about breakfast there not being so good, cancelled in favour of the Ambassador. We were greeted by Crystal upon our arrival and she was was polite and showed us to our room. The room was a little dated and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna293
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review, we do not actually ask guest's to use towels more than once, there is a notice in each bathroom informing guest's that if they wish clean towels to please leave them in the base of the shower/on floor, it is completely at each guest's discretion whether they do this or not, if they leave them...

Casale Monferrato, Italy
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed there with my fiancee. The location is good, nice area with bars and pubs and attached to the botanic garden. Free parking along the road, good if you have a car. The structure is very nice from the outside, the inside is just nice. Breakfast is so so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mascigab13
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Our stay was definately made more enjoyable by the excellent customer service we received especially from Stephen. His cooked breakfasts were 1 of a kind so to was his witty banter!!! The hotel was in a great location with easy access to shops and transport to Glasgow city centre. The easy come and go when you please attutude was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments, they have been passed on to Stephen.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Great location by the Kelvin (nice walks all the way down to the university and galleries) and in the fabulous West End, which has fab shops, cafés and charity shops. Hotel itself is a bit tired in some respects, but clean and comfortable. They could do with a few more staff some days - staff were very friendly but breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ros601
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, the hotel has been particularly busy the last few weeks and on occasion breakfast can be busy and as we cook as much fresh as possible can be a wee bit slower.

Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The Ambassador Hotel is an affordable hotel on a great spot in town. I was a little worried before I arrived because it seemed to be in the outskirts. It is indeed in a quiet neigbourhood, but very close to shops, restaurants and pubs so you can spend your evening pleasantly in just a short walk. Oran Mor, opposite the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam70
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here by chance & loved the hotel, the staff (Alan, you're the best!), neighborhood, etc. Very clean & comfy. Lots of historic character to oooh & aaah over. Breakfast was delicious, fresh, well-prepared. It's all a short walk from the Botanical Gardens, lots of restaurants, yet quiet and residential. Took a lovely walk along the river and everyone I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyLove2015
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Located in the West end of Glasgow beside the lush botanical gardens, this quiet, basic hotel provided a refuge for weary travelers. The first night there was even cold milk in the fridge for coffees or teas! We were warmly welcomed and even were given restaurant recommendations. Prices and space were a nice change from Paris rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemon910
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated.

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Stayed in room 5 first night but had to insist on changing due to plumbing noises all night. Constant dribbling of water then refilling of cistern!! Every thing else quite good.eg. Location. No offer of any refund or compensation. Happy to take your money. Wrote to Mr Mc Quade, owner, with no satisfactory response. His comments on signs which say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Your comments regarding the plumbing have been investigated, when the toilet is flushed there is a 2 minute fill cycle, then a short pause and another 1 minute fill then all is quiet, we could hear no other running water sounds in the room.

Reviewed 28 July 2015

I spent a total of five nights here in July while attending a conference and subsequently doing some walking in the area. The hotel is located on a quiet street just north of the river Kelvin, only a few hundred feet from the Botanical Gardens, and close to two shopping areas including a Waitrose. It can easily be reached on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
240 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
554 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
406 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
299 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $82 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try Road Facing Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ManiLamichhane, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have parking.”
 of 5 bubbles n_dauber, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had room 17 which was situated in the apartment house, which was OK”
 of 5 bubbles 698sues, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms facing the back of the hotel will be quietest”
 of 5 bubbles 618kathrinm, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms would be ok as it is a residential area next to Botanic Gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Fawkirk1, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5