We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Georgian House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Georgian House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Georgian House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Worst hotel and service I have ever experienced in my entire life. Arrived early to be told to move our car from the present position as the receptionist (Basil Fawlty's twin) parked there. Got in at 16.00 to be told the owner was trying to sell and had lost interest and should have ran then but decided to make the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John L
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Sadly this couple were not the normal standard of guest we have at The Georgian House(Thank goodness). They did not complain about any item when checking in even when asked there was a problem.They asked for another room but only on the pretense of some made up illness.They had booked at the last moment so there was no alternative. Could...

Swindon
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent 5 nights here,great service, great location, lovely self contained room, what really stands out for me is the extremely friendly Gordon. Cheap rates too and I really couldn't ask for more! Parking is at the rear of the hotel, easy to find location with lots of places to eat and drink within easy walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yowiee
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, Hope to see you again sometime.

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was our very first night of a tour of Scotland with our little border collie, Megan. We were horribly late because of train delays but this was no problem at all for Gordon. He really was the most wonderful warm welcome we were looking for on our arrival late night in mid-winter Glasgow. Despite the time, he took us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gemma R
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I stayed here a few months ago with a girl friend to visit another friend of ours. We booked a hotel last minute, never been to Glasgow before and didn't know what to expect. We booked a twin room and it was a very good price. First of all we arrived late as we drove a long way and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucy D
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Thank you . Your comments are appreciated.

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Regularly stay on business trips, always made to feel at home, Gordon the manager could not do more. Everything to hand locally (bars, restaurants etc) Rooms are large, clean and most with en-suite, beds comfortable, I would not keep going back if not really happy with the service provided.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank IanBromley
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Really kind of you to leave such nice comments . Thank you

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The photos are misleading, seems to be a simple and nice place but in reality is an horrible and old place that need of urgent works. The manager/only employed/probably owner, has the craze that is funny, make jokes and have behaviors unreasonable. The hotel is very noisy, it's impossible to sleep. The mattress is very bad. The windows didn't close...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Micaxouche
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Sadly i remember these guests well. Not only were they asked to refrain from smoking in there room but they were asked to stop disturbing other guests. I was also asked by a guest at breakfast to open the window due to a lack of personnel hygiene on there behalf. Our emergency exits are clearly planned as are our fire...

Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Fantastic, would definitely use again and recommend it to everybody. Very warm and extremely informarmative welcome about what the area has to offer in terms of takeaway, pubs, bars, clubs and shopping. The room was fabulous, very comfortable, clean and extremely spacious. Had a great nights sleep, only a couple of mile from the SECC but had a 6am start...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrCarlD
bristol
Reviewed 30 October 2012

First impressions were encouraging, but the mattress was on its last legs, there was no hot water in the morning and the manager burst into our room without knocking, apparently having forgotten we were there. The final straw though was that when I phoned the next day to report that I had left behind my shaving brush I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peter m
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

Put simply this complaint boils down to a disgusting old shaving brush that was left next to the bin. Our natural assumption was it was in such an embarrassing state that surly it was destined for the bin(and was in fact lying next to it). There was no hot water because the boiler had broken and they were offered alternative...

London
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel is well located for Glasgow's West End, and has a great tartan carpet on the stairs. And it is very clean. Unfortunately it's disadvantages dominate, despite these assets. The wifi doesn't work, unless you are sitting at the reception desk, and the owner blame the rainy weather. The breakfast is only just adequate and felt altogether a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MargaretJonesLondon
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review

We are sorry do did not enjoy your visit. As was mentioned to you at least four times the WiFi does work however it does require a password. Also a member of staff is available to assist you should you have problems. Getting in to the property is not difficult. If you use the key provided and guests can freely...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed here one nite in the studio, was a late booking and was lucky to get this room. the whole place is spotless, room spacious, hot water, tv, heating, wi-fi etc. Breakfast is continental with a good selection especially for the price! Would def stay again and recommend, good location also and Gordon is a lovely funny man, most welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngieCookie

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
276 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#70 of 96 in Glasgow
247 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
46 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 37 in Glasgow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: $103 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Georgian House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't even consider it!”
 of 5 bubbles 929katea, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid at all costs.... !!!”
  • Shower fungus
  • Dilapidated furnishings
  • Damp and mould in the bedroom
  • Rotten floor joists sinking in to bathroom floor
 of 5 bubbles jonty29, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Speak to the staff and tell them what you need. They are so helpful they will do their best to accommodate you where they can”
 of 5 bubbles 857elizabethm, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“don't bother booking this place”
 of 5 bubbles 576danj, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Sorry, not possible!”
 of 5 bubbles 124andyz, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5