We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel, Caithness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel, Caithness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Did the job, just, saved by the breakfast. Tired, tatty, maze like, won't be back in a hurry. Parking was not great. When I rang and spoke to the receptionist I was given the impression that it was well run and friendly, I was fooled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

The hotel is homely and our room warm and cosy. We found the staff were friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast is excellent and the plates warm enough to cause full thickness burns on prolonged contact with flesh. The Royal is a great centre from which to explore the region with a great Indian, Chinese and Fish and Chip shop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lloyd W
Brit in Gulf
Reviewed 21 March 2015

In recent months, I have tried about 5 low-value hotel/guest houses in the North Highlands in single rooms. All 5 were acceptable for the price but the Royal Hotel was overall the winner for me and I had a most comfortable stay The room had everything I needed; it was clean, warm and perfectly located for my onward journey. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richie-In-Oxon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

An old fashioned hotel that has been in Thurso for decades so you have to accept that a few things might squeak. I enjoyed my one night stay here. From the quaint revolving door to the cheery woman on reception and the great nights sleep followed by a gut busting fry up for breakfast. We were in room 2 which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janice84
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Me and my father stayed at this hotel. We had previously booked and payed for the room so had no choice but to stay or else lose our money. We parked in the rear carpark and came in through the back door.....the whole place looked dirty and old, we actually thought about just walking back out and actually that's what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrPBSmith
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Many thanks for commenting on Trip Advisor though i find it strange that you have decided to do so 5 months after you claim to have stayed. As always, if our guests, (who have actually booked and stayed with us) have a concern we will always do our upmost to address the issues and where possable rectify them.

Buckie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

This hotel is meant to be bespoke ...rundown is a better description. The welcome we got was cheerful and polite . I think it was the manager . He never explained any thing to us or gave directions to any of the hotel facilities . Only your room is that way . We managed to navigate our way to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank buckiebhoy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014

A bit tired in terms of décor. My room in particular was very cold, with a very old heater on the wall. Managed to search out a very old and tired looking blanket to use to keep warm. The bar area is lovely, nice and warm and a great space so I spent the majority of my night sitting in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bigbeachy
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and had some good food so thought we would give it a go. Having been underwhelmed by our greeting we chose our meal and ordered from a very nice young waitress. The older bar staff were not quite as welcoming and my request for the same glass to be used for my second...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bathwick
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have an on-going refurbishment programme which i am sure will address any concerns

Lac Du Bonnet
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We had a two night stay here while on a bus tour. The room we had was old but clean and quite large. Bathroom was very large and, although outdated, fixtures worked. Window would not close but rad kept bathroom fairly warm. Our "laid on" supper was adequate and breakfast was good. The staff appeared attentive though there were not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gail C
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have an on-going refurbishment programm which i am sure will address your concerns

Reviewed 10 October 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently, and having travelled a long way we both were looking forward to a few bespoke luxuries as advertised on the website. We were greatly dissapointed by the hotel from our arrival until our departure!! After parking our car in the car park around the back, we made our way through the maze to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beavercarr86
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and wish you had told us at the time in order that we could have made an effort to rectify your disatsifaction. I would disagree that there is a mis-match of furniture and decor however would like to point out that we do in fact have...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
8.1 km away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
273 reviews
0.6 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
214 reviews
0.2 km away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
158 reviews
7.4 km away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
197 reviews
17.5 km away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Missoula, Montana
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel, Caithness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to have heating on prior to arrival or a heater added to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 123kaz321, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sleep in Your Car”
 of 5 bubbles 744angelah, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long walk so if you've got a heavy bag or don't like mazes then ask for a room near reception/car park.”
 of 5 bubbles ThatSharpy, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My room was second floor front and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MissouriBlondie_1, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles 467autumnh, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5