We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$84
Hotels.comUS$84
TravelocityUS$84
PricelineUS$81
Agoda.comUS$83
Lol.travelUS$100
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 37 hotels in Inverness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Escape to the heart of the Scottish Highlands. Enjoy free parking and breakfast included. Holiday Inn Express® Inverness hotel is a 12-minute drive from Inverness Airport (INV). Catch a train from Inverness Station - a short drive away to Edinburgh and Glasgow. We're a perfect base for exploring the beautiful Scottish Highlands and Cairngorms National Park. Discover the historic Culloden Battlefield and interactive visitor centre, just 14 minutes away or wander around Inverness Castle with backdrops of the River Ness. Explore the ruins of Urquhart Castle with its panoramic views of Loch Ness and watch out for the infamous Loch Ness monster, Nessie! If you fancy a 'wee dram', the Tomatin Distillery Co Ltd is a 20-minute drive away and shows at the Eden Court Theatre are within easy reach. If you fancy a highland fling, Belladrum Tartan Heart Festival takes place every August, 14 miles away from our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1066Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 472
  • 197
  • 52
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tom224 wrote a review 26 Sep
Aberdeen, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Asked to sit in the restaurant for 45 minutes before checking in at 3pm which is fair enough because we were early but at least make sure it’s clean, food on the floor and cups sitting about. Overhead from guests checking in that the kitchen was closed but when we checked in the new receptionist had no idea if it was open or not. Didn’t stay anyway, as I said before it was a mess so didn’t fancy it. Only two PowerPoints in the room really not good enough for the business traveler. Talk about lack of staff from reception but I don’t want to hear about that at 150 Pounds a night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Annik T wrote a review 12 Sep
Quebec, Canada2 contributions
We got twin bed, on top of that we could feel de spring of the bed, we ask to change room, she (Abi) look at me with probably her biggest smile and said no I could give you a extra blanket nothing else. So we had a very bad night, I think sleeping on the floor would of been better. But the place is clean
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Duty Manager, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
280annikt thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. You were assigned a twin bed as this is the option that was booked by your travel agent and as Abi has correctly explained we were unable to offer you a change of room due to the hotel being fully booked but has offered extra bedding for your comfort. We always do our very best to make our guests stays as pleasant and comfortable as possible so I am sorry you feel we have missed the mark on this occasion. Frances - Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scarlett R. wrote a review 11 Sep
3 contributions
It's a typical Holiday Inn express. The rooms are good, but not great. Staff was very nice. The breakfast buffet is not all that great, but if you need a quick bowl of cereal and some not so great tasting coffee, then it's fine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
George F wrote a review Aug 2022
12 contributions
This is the worst IHG property I have ever had the displeasure to stay in as a Diamond member When we arrived the front desk staff were far from courteous and not very accommodating when asked for advice on places to eat Our room was tiny with very few electrical outlets and as I use a CPAP machine this is extremely important to me. When I went to the desk I was offered an extension cord. ( Gee thanks pal) I ended up sleeping on the pull out couch to get access to an outlet The toilet did not flush properly There was a white stain on the couch I will never stay at this property again Stay away and book somewhere that appreciates you and your business
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kitten50 wrote a review Aug 2022
New Brunswick, Canada862 contributions326 helpful votes
We arrived in Inverness by train and took a taxi to the hotel which was about a 15 minutes trip cost was about £8. Check in was fast but the elevator was not working and the desk clerk carried out suitcase to the room for us..thanks so much! Room was very small. Bed was only a double so we also used the pull out sofa but then we couldn’t leave our suitcases open. Room was comfortable….shower wasn’t the nicest but it was adequate. Low water pressure and tepid water. They had the usual IHG breakfast that was very busy. They also have a restaurant and bar that’s open in the evening. The bus into the city is a 5 minute walk from the hotel by the mall. Mall has lots of shopping, cinema and places to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Kitten50, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We take pride in knowing guests are happy with their experience. It's great to see you enjoyed our Express check-in, our comfortable rooms and the great breakfast. If there is anything else we can do for you, please let us know! Best regards, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robjps23 wrote a review Jul 2022
Woodbridge, New Jersey27 contributions1 helpful vote
Karen at the front desk saved the day for us. We could have had a miserable few days but Karen went above and beyond for strangers from another country. Somehow our first 3 days in Inverness got canceled without our knowledge and we arrived after long delays in the United States and arrived 26 hours later. We were tired and hungry only to find out we had no hotel room available. All the local hotels and Bed n breakfast places were fully booked. Karen found us a room at another hotel, paid for our taxi and made another reservation for us for the next few days. Karen you are a rock star and Holiday Inn Express is lucky to have you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Buy the day passes for the bus
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Thanks for the perfect rating, robjps23! We're committed to delivering a great experience to our guests and happy to see you were impressed by the service you received. Safe travels and see you again soon! Take care, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bean957 wrote a review Jul 2022
Wrexham, United Kingdom3 contributions
We stayed here for a one night trip into Inverness and I was so impressed. Plenty of parking, room was clean and well kitted out. Pillows were super comfy, bed was a bit soft for my taste but that’s a very individual thing. It was the hottest day of the year for the uk when we stayed and I was worried as we had a ground floor room with minimal window opening but there was a brilliant fan in the room which kept us and the dog lovely and cool. The staff were all super welcoming and helpful, they booked us a taxi into Inverness and were all lovely to our dog. Breakfast was great and plentiful and I loved the little snacks and drinks area too. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Bean957, thanks for reviewing your recent stay! We take pride in knowing guests are happy with their experience. We're happy to see you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel. We're pleased you could bring your furry friend along with you, we loved having them here! We appreciate your kind words about our team. We'll let them know how satisfied you were with their service. We can't wait for you to visit us again! Best wishes, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J Minier wrote a review Jul 2022
Palm Harbor, Florida9 contributions5 helpful votes
IHG hotels are always our first choice. Our location here was very convenient to the buses and the town. The staff was so helpful and spent extra time helping us find an easy way to get to a nearby town of Nairns where we had a wonderful meal at Aurora Italian restaurant. We had a very comfortable bed and the room had everything we needed. Great breakfast buffet is offered. We also loved the Snow Goose restaurant and bar at the front of the property. A wonderful stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2022
jmH7551YH, we're over the moon to see your review! We're happy you enjoyed your experience with us! We're happy to know our hotel was a handy base for exploring. We always strive to give the best possible service so we're glad you felt this was the case. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glen&Isobel wrote a review Jul 2022
Scotland207 contributions133 helpful votes
The hotel was similar to other HIEs and suited our needs for a short stay and met our expectations. Staff were all great and friendly. The only criticisms we had were that the room was quite warm and there was no way to adjust the temp. The window did open but it wasn't enough to cause a draft. Beds were comfortable but the duvets are so heavy and a double on a single bed? The bottom sheets are too small. The breakfast has a reasonable choice of items and is worth having. Still happy to give it 5 stars. We did eat at the hotel and the food was as expected. It is convenient and there is a reasonable choice but could be better, particularly the vegetarian options. The burger was great but another chicken dish tasted fine but the amount of chicken was disappointing. Vegetarian dishes lacked any imagination and feel as though they were not created by a vegetarian.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Jul 2022
FarAway802680, thanks for the 5-star review! We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Our team is so friendly because we have the best guests. We're happy to see you enjoyed the inclusive breakfast. We're sorry to hear the vegetarian dishes fell below expectations. We'll pass on your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
twin123185 wrote a review Jun 2022
Atlantic City, New Jersey952 contributions217 helpful votes
I used points for two nights, my final two of my Scotland trip. I wanted to be closer to the airport than downtown. There is a mall within walking distance with some restaurants (chains) and a Tesco Extra - reminded me of a Super Walmart. Also a movie theater. The restaurant adjacent to the property closed at 8:00 due to lack of staff on a Saturday night so be aware. Same with the hotel unfortunately. I had to walk to the mall to get dinner close to 9:00 pm. We arrived too early to check in and the staff was more than happy to let us store our bags. We walked to the city center - about 30-35 minutes. An easy walk and there are sidewalks the entire way. The staff was friendly and helpful - especially with taxi bookings. The room was comfy and having a fan was a plus. Bathroom was a decent size. There was no housekeeping service the one full day I was there but they gave me the extra towels I asked for. Breakfast was great. Next to the Holiday Inn Express in Foligno, Italy this was the best I’ve ever had anywhere in a HIE. The hotel has a decent bar too and I was offered two free drinks due to my IHG status. If you don’t mind being out of town a bit I highly recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Jun 2022
We're blown away by your kind words,twin123185. Your satisfaction is our priority! We're glad our location suited your needs. We always strive to give the best possible service so we're happy you felt this was the case. It's fab to see you had a great start to your day at the inclusive buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again soon! Take care, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express inverness hotel inverness, holiday inn inverness
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsInverness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vue Cinema (0.3 km) and Target Technique (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frankie & Bennys, Brewers Fayre Inshes Gate, and Howdens Garden Centre Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Clava Cairns (6.6 km), Inverness Castle Viewpoint (2.6 km), and Inverness Town House (2.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Inverness, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.