We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Columba Hotel, Inverness

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba Hotel, Inverness
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,032: English reviews
Start your review of Columba Hotel, Inverness
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

First of, start with the positives, stunning view of the castle !! room was clean and bright, very comfortable bed, meal standard, bar area very comfortable and welcoming, however on arrival we encountered the rudest receptionist/ hotel worker I have ever dealt with, Justina was her name and rudeness was her game 😆 we walked in reception and we weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dona B
Management response:

Dear Guest, Firstly, let us apologise profusely regarding the attitude of our Receptionist. The Front of House Manager will be investigating your comments and further action will be taken. We are very sorry for the unacceptable behaviour and manners of this Team Member. We are pleased that Bryan was able to offer an apology. He did speak to the Team...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had booked a 2 night stay on a B&B deal. Check in wasn't until 3pm which I thought was quite late but they did store our luggage for us until check in. Check in was ok although busy. Our room was clean, warm & we had plenty hot water. The TV was quite small. The bed was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Audrey M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Having read your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your break overall. Extremely disappointed to read that one of your breakfasts was not pleasant. We will investigate your comments made as under no circumstances should breakfast be defined as a 'riot'. The person you refer to receives very good comments from guests...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This has an impressive facade but I was put in a room right at the rear /side of hotel with a view of the bins/another premises' fire exit. People smoking, chatting outside that fire exit and a bit of a trek to get in/out of the hotel. The hotel wasn't anywhere near full so I would have hoped they'd have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kokubuspider
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not like your room or location of your room. I hope you were able to speak to our Reception Team as if they had another room available then they would have happily moved you to an alternative room. We do want all our Guests to enjoy...

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First time visiting Inverness and very happy with choosing the Columba Hotel. Great location 10mins walk from the train station located next to the beautiful river Ness overlooking the Castle. We booked into an Executive room overlooking the river and were very happy with the room. Well equipped and very clean ( i always do the finger dust check on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TiggerPucca
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your first time in Inverness and chose the Columba to stay. Your comments will be shared with our Team. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in the hotel and found the Hotel to provide a good Scottish...

Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night, it is walking distance to everything, very friendly staff and clean room, the room can be a bit cold during winter time we had an extra heater in the room. Breakfast was good, and not crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PerMouritzen
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay finding the room clean and the team very friendly. Our Head Chef will be pleased to hear you enjoyed breakfast. Glad you were supplied with an additional heater to increase the temperature in the room. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Stromness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ideally situated on banks of the River Ness. Our room was spotlessly clean, lovely comfortable twin beds, nice bedding. There was a tv, tea tray, hairdryer and large En suite bathroom. The staff were very polite and friendly. Breakfast was served in the large dining room with attentive staff. It was a great breakfast, choice of cereals,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen M
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short break. Your comments made will be shared with the team as they will be pleased to hear your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my fiance has been given a deal by my parents for a Christmas present and we booked a second night separately. When we arrived for our first night we were informed we had been upgraded to the Ness Suite for free! When we walked into the room I was stunned at how big and luxurious this room was....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colette D
Management response:

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to feedback your thoughts on your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and that the team looked after you both during your stay. Our Ness Suite is our newly refurbished Suite and certainly is a beautiful room to stay in and enjoy the views of the Castle...

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay with bed, breakfast and evening meal on one night. Room small but big enough, a bit dark though. Clean and comfy bed, bathroom and shower also nice and clean. Good fluffy towels. Breakfast best of meals. Dinner was nice but felt the supplement for cheese board was un called for, as portion was tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim_ShonaBeam
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Delighted that you found the bed comfy and bathroom facilities clean and sufficient. We will relay your comments onto our Housekeeping Department. We do apologise for the lack of cheese on your cheese slate. Certainly it should have been ample and it has been known...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a wee night in Inversnechie and wasn't disappointed as a first timer and would def come back. Staff nice and friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Instead of a meal in the hotel restaurant we opted for McNabs which was also in the deal for the stay and weren't disappointed. My wife had the Wagu burger...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John H
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were not disappointed. We will share your comments with the team who will be delighted to hear your great comments. Delighted to hear your comments about the Wagu Burger. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location ideal for City centre. Room bit dated but very clean and loved the roll top bath!!! We had a fantastic view of the river Ness. We used an Itison voucher and was definitely value for money. Dinner was lovely and breakfast had plenty choice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank June U
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a front facing bedroom overlooking the views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness with your special offer. Your comments will be shared with the team and we do hope to be able to welcome you in...

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#20 of 34 in Inverness
1,688 reviews
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,018 reviews
0.4 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
McNab's Bar & Bistro
McNab's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba Hotel, Inverness

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $90 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel, Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Columba Hotel, Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel, Inverness Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
north lanarkshire
4 months ago
10 months ago
Darlington, County Durham
Tangerang, Indonesia

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel, Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive rooms have view of the river ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles TiggerPucca, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we paid extra to upgrade the room and weren't disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles 570juneu, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Accessible to the town centre.”
 of 5 bubbles afcdons1903, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms to the front of the building are the best as you get a superb view of the castle and river especially at night.”
 of 5 bubbles annedeacon17, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms face the river so ask”
 of 5 bubbles fmoonie, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5