We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

King's Highway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King's Highway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The room is basic but has all amenities. Would recommend considering that the hotel's restaurant is good and seems to be a favorite amongst locals. Good veg options also available. The hotel is very close to the train station and city center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank priyankashukla7
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What would get us 5 stars.

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We booked late - and we arrived late too! Centre Inverness location is great for food and socialising. We were greeted well and our room was delightful. Well appointed - three beds and lots of room. bathroom matched the room for style and the hotel part of Wetherspoons impressed, The building has character and the room are modern - the...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benderloch
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

West Lothian
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We entered pub for a meal on a Tuesday approx 4pm. The first impression was that the tables that were empty were strewn with dirty dishes and we did find it difficult to find a clean table. However, we decided on the steaks and were not disappointed. The meals were nice. Nothing spectacular but nice. The place does need a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayfanatic103
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have taken your comments on board and will speak to my team about clearing the tables.

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Arrived on Friday afternoon about 5 p.m. the traffic was horrendous in the city center, It took us at least 30 minutes from the outskirts of the town to get to the hotel , but on arrival we were welcome by a very friendly receptionist who gave us good directions to a carpark which was nearby but due to the...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What would get us 5 stars? look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Good sized room with plenty of space. large bathroom with lots of hot water. Facilities in room were good. We were at front of hotel and got woken up early on both mornings with the recycling lorries collecting the empty boittles from the bar. Pigeons singing outside the windows. ;(

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Just back from a weekend away in Inverness and this Hotel.. We had room 105 which was a large room,situated at the back,not a good view but it had everything you need for a weekend away,Iron,Ironing board,hairdryer,kettle,bottles of water a huge bed and was clean.. The Hotel is very central and close to bus station,train station and town.. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RINGLET55
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. What would get us 5 stars.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Steer clear of room 207 and any nearby. The aircon/vent system outside makes a terrible noise. Sleep difficult. Great difficulty in getting any cold water from the handbasin tap. Hot from both taps most of the time! Room small but clean. Breakfast in adjoining Wetherspoon's very average. Our one night stay was more than enough.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam K
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We were welcomed by impolite and uninterested staff. Staying on their telephone rather then helping us. They couldnt care less about us, so it seemed. Room was a hygienic nightmare. Old stained carpet. Dirty bed with hairs from last visitors. Shower dirty and molded stained. Disgrace! Only positive point is the location in the heart of Inverness .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lavie280
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will look into this very seriously as our rooms are out every night and this is definitely not how we want to be remembered. Sorry your stay was not as expected.

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Conveniently located in the centre of inverness. Usual wetherspoons but nice that it included some scottish dishes and also some of the beers were nice and scottish. It started off a bit noisy with a few families with young children but then a mixed audience from americN tourists to ditch truck drivers and couple etc. Had a nice meal, service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank squizz20
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What would get us 5 stars

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Well - came on recommendation of friend who said Whitby hotel was " wonderful " This,(Inverness) however is very poor from reception welcome to smelly hallways poorly supplied rooms and a general low budget style.(not worth £99 per night) DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMENDED !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim1729
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you never got a welcome at reception. and sorry to hear you felt our rooms were poorly supplied we supply towels , hand wash shampoo/shower gel, tea tray with biscuits, bottled water, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. I have taken your comments on board and will speak to the reception team...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,655 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#20 of 34 in Inverness
528 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Highway

Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $70 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Highway staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from King's Highway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles arisaig514, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on 2nd floor at the back of hotel no noise heard at all.”
 of 5 bubbles cgw12, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back, away from the bar entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles K7118WTmarks, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bath if you want one”
 of 5 bubbles Royalscott, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“nice bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles AndiNorwich, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay