We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Winston Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Winston Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This small guest house is located in a perfect location. From your room (@the front of the house) you can see the Inverness castle and the river. Across the bridge, about a 5 min walk, you'll find very nice restaurants and pubs. A central location to roam the Highlands and distilleries.

Helpful?
Thank aicpr
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear aicpr, Thank you so much for your lovely review! You are absolutely right, we have the perfect location for exploring the City and the Highlands - we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit. I do hope we can look after you again very soon. Thanks again and kind regards, Della. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

How could anyone be disappointed!!!??? I booked this fantastic place six months in advance so I was able to request the room we really wanted after reading reviews. Oh my, it was amazing! Lovely view of the castle (requested), gorgeous room with a comfy bed, and the breakfast next door (included) was divine!

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Julie W, Thank you ever so much! What a super review, we are absolutely delighted that you had such a lovely time with us. It's great that you had such a lovely time and that you enjoyed the room overlooking the river - the view is stunning! Thank you for the super comments about the breakfast and about the... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Spent two nights here during a tour of the countryside. We travelled 6 pax together, we had booked 3 doubles, but shortly before commencing our trip, the management notified us, that they were no longer able to accommodate us, unless we got the family room and one double. They did refund a minor amount for the trouble. So four people... More 

Helpful?
Thank RDyhr
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear RDyhr, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that you were not happy with the room we allocated to you, they are all different shapes and sizes. Thank you for being so understanding about the change of accommodation type for your party. There are extensive plans to renovate the House this winter and... More 

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Had pleasant reasonably priced stay here two years ago but now find that it has been taken over by the adjacent Palace Hotel with a consequent hike in prices. Now the rate was £108.00 (!!!) for a cold and poky double room overlooking the car park. Very basic facilities with non functioning radiator, no remedial action following our complaint. A... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Artjo
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Artjo, Thank you for posting your review, we're very sorry that you didn't have quite as good an experience this time round. The Winston has been a recent acquisition by the Palace Hotel, at the beginning of this summer. We are very excited at the prospect of looking after this beautiful historic property in the heart of the city... More 

Shetland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

This Guesthouse is in a good location by the river. I stayed in the Cottage at the back of the Winston, no view. The room was ok in size and clean. The bed was not the most comfortable but ok. TV volume control not the best. Good WiFi. Breakfast was served next door in the hotel. That was fine and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank swc247
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear swc247, Thank you for writing your review and it's great that you enjoyed the location we have. I am sorry that the bed was not comfortable, we will look at this. I'm delighted you enjoyed using the free WiFi and that the breakfast had plenty of choice to set you up for the day. The prices vary a lot... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
694 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Well, this was just an OK visit. I needed a room for the night on short notice and there was not much choice that was affordable. It is basic and the bathroom in particular is in need of a refurbishment. I was fortunate that I got a room with a river view that was airy. The bed was comfortable but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Patrick H, Thank you for writing your review about your stay with us. Inverness becomes extremely busy during the summer months and it can be tricky to book accommodation. We're delighted you chose to stay with us, thank you. We have exciting plans to renovate the House this winter with some new lay-outs plus new decoration and soft furnishings.... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This building is a beautiful old one right over the River Ness from the castle. There is a beautiful walking trail right across the street through the islands on the river. You are within walking distance to the downtown area. It is quite picturesque. We had to go to the hotel next door check in. The first night our room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BLC52
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear BLC52, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am ever so sorry you have left disappointed following your stay with us, there are very exciting plans to renovate the bathrooms, bedrooms and soft furnishings this winter. We feel very respectful of the age and grandeur of the building and we hope to do... More 

דימונה
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We looked for a place in Inverness, and that was the only place we could find. Now I know why. It started by given the wrong address, Ardross street instead of Ardross terace. When we found the right place there was no one at the reception and a sign telling us to go to a hotel next door, the Palace... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tal Y
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Tal Y, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Winston Guest House. The Palace Hotel took over the Winston in May this year and there has been many things to learn over this summer period. I am sorry you have left so disappointed with your experience with us. There are extensive exciting... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Having looked at the website, I booked a double room in good faith. We were given a single room in the attic in which a double bed had been squashed. the springs were broken so sleep was impossible. There was no aspect of the room which even remotely resembled the website. I am incredulous that anyone could charge that amount... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

On arrival on a wet windy afternoon left outside awaiting for someone to pop across from the best western palace. Through the glass door could see staff sorting out the laundry who could have let me in to the dry and out of the wind!! The lady that eventually came from the palace let us inside and was very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank David A
Della E, Operations Support Manager at Winston Guest House, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you for posting your review about your stay at The Winston. I am so sorry to read that the service you received was so inhospitable. I can understand your disappointment and this is certainly not how we would expect our guests to be welcomed. I would like to assure you that this with will be addressed... More 

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.2 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.3 km away
Whin Park Guest House
Whin Park Guest House
#200 of 245 in Inverness
55 reviews
0.3 km away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winston Guest House and Cottage is attractive end terrace Inverness guest house situated in the heart of Inverness on the banks of the River Ness opposite Inverness Castle. You are minutes walk away from shops, restaurants and entertainment in Inverness. And just a five minute walk from Eden Court Theatre. With a lovely view over the river to the castle you are perfectly positioned to explore the city of Inverness or make it your base to see the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winston Guest House

Address: 10 Ardross Terrace, Inverness IV3 5NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: $84 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Winston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winston Guest House Hotel Inverness
Winston Guest House Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Winston Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible, get a room facing the river”
 of 5 bubbles RDyhr, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere !”
 of 5 bubbles Artjo, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“views of the river and castle”
 of 5 bubbles cubankid1, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“three floors but room 1a has river view don't know about the rest”
 of 5 bubbles B570FTfrankr, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“let them know if you have problems with stairs as they are steep up to the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles spencer1104, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay