We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 Ardconnel Street, Inverness IV2 3EU Scotland
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Dining (17)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#182 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A beautiful guesthouse just 5 minutes walk from Inverness city centre. Set in a quiet neighbourhood. Ideal for guests who want a quiet night's sleep, but also want to be close to Inverness castle and bus and train station. The guesthouse has a gorgeous dining room, where a fully cooked breakfast is served along with a continental buffet. During winter, we will only be serving a continental breakfast. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and excellent customer service, so you know that you are in for a great experience. Our rooms are clean, and fresh towels and linen are provided to all new guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
104Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 30
  • 18
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
awayaday wrote a review Apr 2022
England1614 contributions274 helpful votes
Looks good on booking.com, nice photos of a hearty breakfast, on booking was told that no breakfast due to covid reasons. ( They have had 2 years to work out how to provide a packed breakfast) Also no wifi, no shampoo and no staff on premises. Although they responded to my texts. were unable to resolve Would not recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pony2323 wrote a review Aug 2021
Peel, United Kingdom229 contributions100 helpful votes
We had a single night here, and enjoyed it so much we came back for a repeat a week later. Particular advantages here are the car park and generous checkin/checkout time. There are almost no other hotels near the centre that have these. The manager is a nice guy, and he finds time to chat. The rooms are recently redecorated, spacious, quiet, clean. There is Netflix and large screen TVs. We were in a king one time and the bed was a little firm, but the other time we had a double and the bed was quite soft. Good to see them using common sense on the hygiene/health measures. I don't know how they manage such low prices.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christopher A wrote a review Jul 2020
Riobamba, Ecuador10 contributions13 helpful votes
Echoing an earlier review, I have not stayed at this property first and foremost. My review concerns their stance on behaving, in my opinion inappropriately, when it came to refunding money paid in good faith before the global pandemic. Most organisations have behaved honourably. This one hasn't. I will not be staying here ever or recommend to friends and family anyone else does. I would strongly advise against staying here unless you're happy to stay as guests at a house where the proprietors have shown very little ability to behave decently. Not left on Booking.Com as because I haven't stayed there I couldn't leave a review. Please be warned.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Munawar Ahmed, Owner at Crown Hotel Guesthouse
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear guest, We apologise for your negative experience. As per guidelines, all guests have been refunded 80% or all of their payment due to covid cancelations. The 20% goes to your booking provider, i.e. booking.com, airbnb. Which is out of our control. I am sure this review must be made in haste. This has been a difficult time for all of us. We have been in constant contact with agencies to ensure that guests are refunded where necessary and I apologise for any inconvinience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DI-SULLY wrote a review Jul 2020
Maud, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
BE VERY CAREFUL IF YOU BOOK THIS PLACE, especially during these unprecedented times. Was due to stay here a few weeks ago but due to current travel restrictions owing to the COVID pandemic was unable to stay in the accommodation. The hosts expected me to travel 100 miles which would have been in direct contravention of Scottish government policy. At no time did the hosts contact me prior to the booking to discuss an alternative date or offer a refund. I had a number of other accommodation bookings which have all been honourably refunded including bookings which were non - refundable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Munawar Ahmed, Owner at Crown Hotel Guesthouse
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, We apologise for your negative experience. Your refund was cancelled as you had used abusive language, when speaking to our staff. At the Crown Hotel Guesthouse we do not tolerate abuse towards our staff. We were perfectly in our right to deny you your refund.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ptothethird wrote a review Feb 2020
Oaxaca, Mexico7 contributions17 helpful votes
I have never had such a negative experience in any establishment I have ever stayed in. I can usually overlook minor pecadillos if the welcome is friendly and the hosts seem happy to see you, but this was over the top. We arrived to a brusque welcome, seeming to interrupt the construction tasks in progress. We were shown to our rooms, which DO NOT reflect the posted pictures one iota. The matresses were thin and soft, and the duvet covers a size smaller than the bed. But the most heinous part of the experience is during our visit, the worst cold snap of the Winter, there was no heat!!!!! It was freezing and they promised to have the heat back on within a half hour. We had a small electric heater, but it kept tripping the system and would not work, so we had neither light or heat. We decided that the place was uninhabitable and could not spend a night in the freezing cold and found another place to stay. We could not find the owner, so we called a taxi, left the keys and a note, forfeited our two night payment and left. It was a horrible interlude and I have never felt so disrespected by someone seemingly in the hospitality industry. Don't even think about it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gus11193 wrote a review Jan 2020
Cotswolds, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
Returned to here after 4 years as had a great experience last time and the location is a short walk from the train station.The new decor and dining room feels beautifully Scottish. The rooms were comfortable and very clean!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
angelwings_55_12 wrote a review Sep 2019
Singapore, Singapore30 contributions6 helpful votes
Three months ago, I booked one night's stay for one person in twin room at Crown Hotel Guesthouse through a major travel website for $X. Credit card was deducted for full amount of $X as I had selected advance payment option. My account on travel website showed that full payment had been made on a single confirmation number. Few days later, Crown Hotel sent a sneaky email that indicated that I had either booked 2 twin rooms or that the rate of the one twin room was $X x 2. The email reflected that I had paid only half of the payment with $X being already charged to my Visacard in early July, and another amount of $X to be charged in mid October (The hotel email indicated 2 booking reference numbers, and no confirmation number.) As I only require one room for one night at $X, I called the website hotline about it sometime in July when I spotted the discrepancy. Their customer service staff assured me that my booking was in order and fully paid for at $X, and advised me to only refer and quote the confirmation number and not bother about the booking reference numbers. As the valid transaction is reflected in my on-line account with them, I had not asked for a confirmation email about this assurance. 3 days ago, just two weeks before setting off on my trip, I was going through my travel emails, and realised I could get into a nasty situation at the hotel, and so I emailed both Crown Hotel Guesthouse and the travel website about it for clarification/confirmation. Todate, I have not received any explanation, apology, simple reply from the hotel. Travel website liaised with the hotel, and they gave me this reply: “Crown Hotel Guesthouse informed us that there was a system issue and the correct price of your reservation was not transferred accordingly. The Hotel informed us that the price for your reservation is 2XGBP and not 1XGBP, which is actually the prepayment amount.” "We would like to inform you that if the Crown Hotel Guesthouse is unable to honour the reservation, we will offer the you an alternative accommodation of a similar or higher standard and we cancel the this reservation free of charge ." At worst, this is fraud! At best, a genuine computer/human error which they refused to honour, and even refused to take ownership of and apologise for. The travel website staff asked me to get back to them whether I would take up the offer of paying twice the contracted amount. Really??? They also offered to cancel the booking only if I booked an alternative accommodation through them. They gave a single suggestion of a hotel, twice the distance from the train station at 130% of $X. Before I could reply, Crown Hotel simply cancelled my fully paid booking, leaving me stranded without any proper affordable accommodation. Btw, the booking is only for a twin room without any meals or frills. I think It is the smallest twin room on their site. Am I allowed to post the prices? When I was browsing the website a while ago, I saw that Crown was offering the same room on the day just before and after my booked stay at 130% of $X, not 200%!!! Does the problem lie with Crown Hotel or the travel website? Can anyone in Tripadvisor advise what I can or should do?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Room Tip: Beware!!! Lots of better and credible hotels around
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LISA wrote a review Aug 2019
Diamond Creek, Australia10 contributions
Room 6 advertised as having city views but all you see is the top of a spire, see pic. No hair conditioner or bathroom products except shampoo and soap. Very friendly and accommodating welcome. Needs a few more towel hooks to hang and allow towels to dry. Clean room and en-suite. You do have to rely on other guests to be the quiet type as you do hear talking, doors closing etc. excellent location if need to be close by and recommend for a short stay. No room for suitcase.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
cjn wrote a review Jul 2019
Adelaide, Australia21 contributions49 helpful votes
Great location just a few minutes walk from all that Inverness has to offer. At the end of the street there are stairs down to the main mall/restaurant area so very easy to get to everything. To those traveling alone, these steps can be quite deserted and it’s down a dark alley. I did feel slightly unsafe at night walking past big groups of drunk leering men who could see me then go up the dark alley way to the steps. Not a huge issue but something that is good to keep in mind if you’re staying alone. During the day I had no issues so it would not put me off from staying here again. The room was small but it had everything that I needed and the space was utilized well. Breakfast begins at 8am so if you have an early start on a tour etc then this is a potential downside of the guesthouse. I did not have the breakfast for this reason. All in all, I found it to be great value for money. It was far cheaper than most other B&Bs in Inverness and so close to everything. I’d stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Martina1888 wrote a review Oct 2018
Inverness, United Kingdom287 contributions73 helpful votes
The guesthouse is just a 5min walk from the city centre and located in a quiet neighbourhood. The room and bed were comfy, the bathroom was really small. The breakfast was great and ordered the night before.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsInverness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROWN HOTEL GUESTHOUSE: UPDATED 2022 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 71 Photos (Inverness, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crown Hotel Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Crown Hotel Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include The Malt Room (0.3 km), North Coast 500 (0.2 km), and River Ness (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crown Hotel Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Crown Hotel Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Crown Hotel Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milk Bar, Fig & Thistle, and Cheese & Tomatin.
Is Crown Hotel Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Inverness.
Are there any historical sites close to Crown Hotel Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inverness Castle Viewpoint (0.2 km), Inverness Town House (0.2 km), and Highland Railway Company 1914-1919 Memorial (0.4 km).