We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 840: English reviews
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Very pleasant hotel close to the railway station and the shops.spacious rooms with lots of drawers and hanging space,tea making in the room.Good food at breakfast and dinner and very quick service. Wifi in public areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTFomes
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Stranraer, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We didn't stop at this hotel but we did book in for our Saturday evening meal, easily providing a table for ten all i can say is the service was very good and the meal ! Well this is probably one of the best three course meals that i have ever had, from the starter all the way to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee W
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and quality of the food, thank you

Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Had two nights here food adequate large portions no complaints here room comfy and very clean view of sea table service very good Comfy bed great bathroom good shower Limited parking at hotel front Bus tours favourite 3 tours there when we were there Would probably return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. With regard to the parking we do have a large parking lot at the back of the Hotel

Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The hotel looked pleasant, when we arrived at the dark of the evening. I have never been checked in as fast as we did on our arrival amongst many other holiday makers - and the staff was friendly ,too. The room stank! I thought I would not be able to sleep and I was coughing (I have not got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saijuska
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, and please let me apologise for the poor experience that you had with us I have, however, looked into the details of your complaint and have already taken corrective action, it is through feedback such as yours that enables us to stay on top of our high standards, so thank you.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights on a rail holiday. We were in a large party but were quickly and efficiently welcomed. Our room was fine, very clean and with all toiletries provided in the en-suite facilities. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with fruit, yogurt, porridge, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and a full range of cooked items, plus different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian V
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.

Doncaster
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Stayed for two nights, along with 100+ others , on board The Statesman charter train. Room a little worn, but very clean and comfortable and with excellent views over the harbour. Staff friendly and very efficient. Breakfast a delight, with a good choice of food. What impressed me the most, however was the meal for well over 100 guests on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horsfif
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, we are proud of our staff team in all areas of the hotel, who take pride in their work, so your recognition of them is greatly appreciated, Thank you.

Hamilton, Scotland
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Well located older style hotel just across road from railway and bus stations and very convenient for town centre. Car parking available at hotel. Efficient check-in, tiny lift to bedroom floors. Bedroom good size with flat screen tv, comfortable king size bed and tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom small with bath and power shower. Pleasant and lively bar on ground floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caley956
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We booked at the Alexandra hotel last minute the day we were staying as we were not able to find other accommodation in the area. We were glad to get a room at the last minute and the staff were all warm, friendly, and helpful. The hotel, however, I found was very overpriced for what it is. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee P
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to post a review, we appreciate your comments.

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Stayed here for three nights as part of a rail holiday. It is located near the station and the main shopping area. There is a very slow small lift capable of holding two people. Our room had been recently refurbished but it was quite small. Meals were fine with a reasonable choice for the evening and service was efficient. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithP1950
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback it is much appreciated. Although the Wi-Fi is working adequately we are looking to upgrading the Wi-Fi availability in the hotel.

Gloucester MA
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Excellent staff in an older hotel. Yes it is older abd not particularly cheap but that doesn't mean that it is bad. Really great variety in breakfast and superb location for the fort William train. We ate dinner here and it was reasonable and good. We're allowed to leave rental car all day and the staff secured our luggage. Again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBB7

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.4 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
498 reviews
4.3 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
657 reviews
3.1 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
628 reviews
1.4 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: $133 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Derbyshire
over a year ago
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room near the stairs on each floor.”
 of 5 bubbles susangP7847CI, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to eat in bistro instead of main restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles frasanne, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“superior rooms are offered for a small surcharge”
 of 5 bubbles michaelgZ6950IC, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upgraded room and if dining in reserve an early evening sitting in the dining room”
 of 5 bubbles 614JohnC614, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe that for a small premium you can book a sea-view -- worth it, I'd say”
 of 5 bubbles Rachel_Hornbeam, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5